We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good place to experience local color in a college town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gingerbread Man

Gingerbread Man
Ranked #34 of 155 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good place to experience local color in a college town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good local beers
Friendly bartenders
Good slice of local patrons
And the slightly crispy french fries were the perfect surprise out of the kitchen for a late night snack

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    33
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We enjoyed our time at the Gingerbread Man. It was next door to our hotel. Service was friendly, and we liked all the moldings and decor. Food was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank havesuitcase153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Irish Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Went here on two separate occasions while visiting Carlisle PA. The first was just for a few drinks after work (they could use a little more draft options, if I remember correctly they had eight beers on draft) and then once for dinner. We went as a group which I ordered the Fish and Chips, another person ordered the sampler and another the shrimp quesadilas (SP?). My friend said the quesadials weren't too good but the sampler and my fish and chips were great. Typical bar food, it's kinda hard to screw up. Staff was great and the one negative aspect of this place is that they have a separate area where people can smoke in, if you're sitting near this area you can smell it which is really annoying. Overall, it's a decent place with average food and a great staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank recon626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love the G-Man!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We are sure to stop in at least once each time we're in town for a car show! Always good food & it doesn't hurt that the drinks rock too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Multiple visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great beer, especially local PA brews, and at a good price. Great sandwich selection. Fish and chips is hit or miss though: had it three times 2 great, one terrible.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Uh60av8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gingerbread Man also viewed

 

Been to Gingerbread Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing