We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is now the White Elephant, and the food is still great”
Review of Amy's Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amy's Thai Cuisine
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is now the White Elephant, and the food is still great”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the lunch buffet at Amy's Thai for years so I was a little concerned when the restaurant was sold in December and reopened under new management in January. Several weeks ago, we celebrated our anniversary at the White Elephant, and I was very happy to learn that the buffet is still excellent. The modest changes to the decor that the new owners have made are pleasant, too. This will continue to be our go-to restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travels4Fun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Worst Thai”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This place had the worst Thai I've ever had! Having moved from the West Coast to the Carlisle area, I was looking for a new Thai restaurant to satisfy my Thai cravings. I, like alot of people, looked on the internet for a decent place. Amy's came up time and time again with good reviews so we figured we'd give it a shot. I ate from the buffet, while my girlfriend ordered from the menu. Like alot of buffet places, they tone down the spices so as not to upset those that have a milder pallet. I can undestand that, but this food had no flavor at all. The items at the buffet, what little they had, seemed as though they had been sitting there for hours. My girlfriend, like I previously mentioned, ordered from the menu. Another large disappointment! Her food faired no better than mine. I later talked to a co-worker that stated "Amy's use to have really good food a few years ago, but I don't know what happened. Now they suck!" I just wish I had gone to him first before wasting my time and money at Amy's!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the food! Wife enjoys the choices.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Not a fan of chinese food - too greasy. Thai food is much better! Buffet is good, but fresh made menu items better! All of the curry dishes VERY GOOD! ...give it a try - something different than standard diner, or chain food!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific Authentic Thai”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Have been there many times for the Lunch Buffet... excellent food, but they don't change
the choices that often. This time, the wife and I went for evening, and ordered off the Menu.
She ordered a Stir-Fry, I ordered the Red Curry. Both were WONDERFUL!
Excellent variety... food has very fresh ingredients,and the aroma and seasonings are great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The food was good, not great and reasonably priced. I liked the meal I ordered the first time better. The Thai tea is good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbabe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amy's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing