We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Reuben”
Review of Scalles

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Scalles
Ranked #37 of 161 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Reuben”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

On Monday, May 6, 2013 at 8pm, four friends and I had a quick casual dinner at The Scalles Restaurant, after golf at Mayapple Golf Club. I had a good Reuben with a pickle and potato chips ($6.85) and a medium chocolate milk ($1.85). We shared good onion rings ($2.85). My friends enjoyed their salads. The waitress was friendly and remembered my friends' drink orders from last year's golf season. On other occasions, my young granddaughters liked the food at Scalles. I often take-out a sandwich and baked potato from Scalles (717 245-0099 phone).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not really worth it”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We really don't go to Scales anymore. I forgot to write about our last experience. We used to go about twice a month as the food was good. The service was always not so good, but the food made up for it. As time went on, the food quality fell off as the prices kept climbing. Food prices everywhere have gone up, but Scales started becoming a not good value for the dollar. As you will read in many of my reviews, there are many great places to eat in the Carlisle- Harrisburg, PA corridor. Scales has fallen behind in their quality/value. We now spend our restaurant dollars elsewhere

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pugpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy food”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

really enjoyed the grilled chicken parm! loved having the option to grill or deep-fry the chicken. the service was fast, and the waitress swayed my decision to try the peanut butter pie - it was worth every calorie i saved by haing the grilled chicken!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank elizabethEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“still great”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was the best food experience on my recent trip back "home" to Carlisle. The taco salad was better than I remembered and there were more choices on the menu. I was quite impressed. The other restaurants that I regard as Carlisle "landmarks" have not been as well kept up.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hgm909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Wonderful food. Great value. Nice hometown atmosphere. Turkey Reuben & Pattie Melt are great. Lots on the menu to choose from. Would highly recommend when visiting Carlisle Pa

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scalles also viewed

 

Been to Scalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing