We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
Ranked #28 of 158 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

A nice spot for lunch with some gluten free options and many healthy choices. I especially like their nutty tuna salad wrap, but there are many nice menu selections.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VCUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Excellent food, individually made. A great friendly place that has been locally owned and operated since the 80s. One of the best places to eat the area! This is real food , not greasy or sloppily made. Refreshing menu selections.

Helpful?
Thank TerBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

It was actually one of my children who asked to go here after a visit with another family which she really enjoyed, so off we went !!! It was a lovely evening so we sat outside in the small courtyard with a view of the kitchen. My girls thought it was great watching their dinner made. Lots of fresh food on the menu, some wonderful flavors, massive desserts and prompt service. Plenty of vegetarian options too. Will be back with a bottle of wine next time !!! PS-none of us tried the soups.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Holly Springs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great prices, delicious fresh food for the whole family or for a date. Love it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
177 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Third time here this year....as my sons say "its a keeper" mom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great food, great prices. My family first went here last September. My 9 year old, who can pick ANY place he wants to eat at for his birthday dinner picked Back Door Cafe in December. The kids drinks are specialy named pink panther and darth vader. The food is great, My family, friends, and I haven't had a bad choice yet! Located near the public library parking is never a problem. Dickinson College is nearby and the students also seem to like the food there as some are always there when I go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing