We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend. If you like golf, then you probably would have a more positive review than mine. I focused on the hotel facility itself. It is NOT a resort. It was pretty much like a Comfort Inn with a pretty nice pool and golf course. Rooms had televisions from 10 years ago. No mini fridge. Poor internet service. On the positive side, very quiet rooms (when we stayed), and pleasant staff , especially in the restaurant area.
But overall, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chia6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed in 3 adjacent rooms for a family getaway to Gettysburg. The hotel is about 15minutes from downtown Gettysburg, which was fine for us. We made use of the lovely pool. We also enjoyed eating in their restaurant which is in the lower level (sandwiches and salads) and stayed late one night for the karaoke. There is a gameroom with pool tables and a game machine or 2. Our stay included a buffet breakfast. We found everything to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shermie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a larger group for a family reunion. The facilities for handling large parties is very good. The outdoor patio, pool, and overall grounds are very accomodating and comfortable. Also, the catered food was very good and the staff was attentive and pleasant. My only small complaint is that the Starbucks in the hotel is not open in the summer.
The rooms are average. When making the reservation, I requested a king room but got a room with double beds and was told there were no more rooms left. The bathroom is a good size and was clean. The shower head was pretty bad but not a huge deal. The carpet and bed spreads in the room needed to be replaced. They seemed old, stained, and/or worn. Also, the pillows are in desperate need of replacement. They are lumpy and uncomfortable. The bed itself was comfortable. Also, each room has a small balcony which is nice. The hotel has wi-fi as well.
The free continental breakfast was good. It included bagels, english muffins, muffins, cereal, fruit, pastries, oatmeal, donuts, coffee, and juice. All was perfect except for the juice - it was watered down each morning and tasted bad. There is also coffee every morning in the hotel lobby.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The location is great (15 minutes outside of Gettysburg) and the facilities/grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blr0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I took my son to Gettysburg last weekend. After looking at many hotels in the area, Liberty Mountain was offering an off-season special, so I booked it. After a 10 hour drive, I was very pleasantly pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was fine - very clean. The breakfast was fine and the mountains and hills are beautiful. The trip into Gettysburg was about 7 - 10 minutes and an easy drive. The contrast of visiting Gettysburg but staying outside of it was very nice. I would recommend this hotel, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londongirl46628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We went for a wedding and while the reception area was nice, it was obvious that the resort has not updated the hotel for a long time. This wouldnt have been so bad however the price was ridiculious for what you are getting. The rooms were so small and smelled bad. There was no mini fridge or microwave which seems to be the standard for most places. The views were great. The staff was tuff on rules tho. It is a cool place for retired people BUT MY COUSINS AND I ARE 15-20 AND IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE RESORT IS NOT CATERING TO THE YOUNGER GENERATION FOr these reasons, I would not go back

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ocmdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Our third visit to Carroll Valley for Valentines and will be our last one. We paid 320 a night which included Asti sparkling wine, 5 chocolate strawberries, dinner for 2 and a room located next to screaming children all night. I understand this resort caters to families since its next door to Ski Liberty, but when a Romantic Valentines Package is advertised you would think they would have the Parlor Rooms next door to couples only. There should be someone at the entrance to stop people from parking in the lot who are going to Ski Liberty and not staying at the resort, really don't like driving and driving for 1/2 hour trying to get a parking spot. The dinner overall was good but the past 2 years it was far better, including the service. It was a good time with my spouse but next year I think we will pass on this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaribbeanJacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This hotel had local charm and polite personnel working. It didn't have that Scottsdale, Florida or Myrtle beach extra polish... but it was a clean and fun place to huddle with the guys for a golf trip!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichobemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
3.9 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
466 reviews
11.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,612 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,131 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
321 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trl, Carroll Valley, PA 17320-8550
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range: £106 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing