We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallish place, but a good find”
Review of Whistle Stop Restaurant - CLOSED

Whistle Stop Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cumberland, MD
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smallish place, but a good find”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Six of us stopped in while in the area to visit some other places, and it suited us just fine. The premise of being in a converted train station isn't lost...there are three rooms for seating, none particularly large, and each with a theme related to former uses of the building parts. The menu borders on diner fare, but has nice additions that also relate to the history (Sloppy Hobo, Nickel Plate that wasn't a nickel, but I can get over that). All of the food felt nice and homemade, made-from-scratch. Servings were a good size, and while we planned on getting an appetizer, we ended up being glad we forgot to order it because we had more food than we could eat. The service was quick and friendly - always a plus!

Also worth noting that there are daily specials for lunch and dinner. Dinner appears to be on a schedule (Chicken and Waffles every Wednesday, for example...that was a delish plate of comfort food there), and there's a homemade soup every day, too. It's the kind of place I'd go to once a month or so if I didn't live so far away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank splendidcheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centre Hall, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whistle Stop Great Food Interesting Atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food at the Whistle Stop is always good and like being at home. The staff is friendly and efficient in their service. This is our favorite restaurant in Penns Valley. Its a great place to stop when visiting Penn State or traveling through the area. The specials are always good and the desserts are excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centre Hall, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to eat. The food is excellent, the pricing is reasonable, and the service is excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the Centre Hall, Pennsylvania area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“"Historic with Well Prepared Food"”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are spending the hoildays at our vacation home along Penns Creek. Our friends who joined us are train buffs so we decided to have dinner at the Whistle Stop. The building is historic and rustic. There are photos and prints of trains and memorabilia from the early days at the station.

We were greeted at the door. The service was friendly and our server was very familiar with the menu. Our party of four all ordered different entrees. We can recommend the broiled haddock, the char-broiled chicken and the pasta with shrimp. It was BBQ night and one of our friends had boneless ribs. The entree were well prepared and served hot from the kitchen. The Tuscan vegetables were done perfectly. The French onion soup was tasty and rich with onions. Side salads were ordinary with iceberg lettace, "winter" tomatoes and cucumbers but the house oil and garlic dressing was wonderful. All portions were generous. The house dressing is for sale at a most reasonable price. Wine and beer are not sold but you are welcome to bring your own bottle. There is no corkage fee. There are daily dinner specials including prime rib on Saturday. No reservations are necessary. it is a nice stop serving good food in rural central PA.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looking for Good Food”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had to get certified for my Cdl and ended up staying and extra day in central Pa with my wife. We were staying in a hotel in rural central Pa. with no big chain restaurants near us.We search the area around our hotel and found this place. Had the steak and crab cake and omg it was cooked perfect and was poprobably the best steak ive eaten this year.My wife had and open face roastbeef on texas toast plater with 2 sides . The place was unique and very homely. The portions were a nice size. Our bill was under $37 and was a bargain for the service and quantity.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beentheredoneit2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistle Stop Restaurant also viewed

 
Centre Hall, PA
 
Centre Hall, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing