We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cozy getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I hesitated to book at the Brandywine River Hotel because of some negative reviews. However, I liked the way the manager responded to the complaints, and I took his comment about new ownership to heart. Plus, the price was right and they had a vacancy. I am certainly glad I decided to give them a chance. We found the room clean and comfortable. I jury-rigged a cooler into a temporary refrigerator, but learned after I arrived that one could be rented for $10 a night. Perhaps in the future they can be included in the room costs. We used the business center computer to check some addresses. Front desk personnel were always helpful and courteous.

The breakfast must have been improved as we were delighted with the options: hot and cold cereal, juice, various muffins and breads (including a wonderful apple bread), hard-boiled eggs and a do-it yourself waffle-iron. The cookies at teatime were fresh-baked and delicious.

All in all, I would definitely return, and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: It's quiet on the back, with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucesterGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time out of your day to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Your kind words reminds our staff and myself, the best part of working in hotels. It is nice to be a part of someones vacation, and to hopefully, leave them with a good memory and a desire to visit us again.

Sincerest Regards and Thanks,

Raj Patel
General Manager Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    132
    54
    18
    24
See reviews for
70
180
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monclair
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you are headed to Longwood Gardens, this hotel is conveniently located. Staff were friendly and helped us move to a different room because the A/C wasn't working in our original room. They offered an AARP discount that I didn't see when I booked the room. One thing, if you are a coffee drinker, you'll need to request a coffee maker for the room -- it isn't standard. The location is tucked away so it is nice and quiet -- but that means limited dining near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff was able to move your room, though I do apologize for that inconvenience. I am glad to hear that staff was helpful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for giving us your suggestions and your feedback on our hotel, it helps us continue to have the most accurate and comprehensive idea of what our guests like and what they think we can do to improve. Please come back and see us in the future!

Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I arrived in time to enjoy tea and cookies in the lovely dining room. This Hotel is located across the street from the Brandywine River Museum that is home to beautiful art works by NC Weyth, Andrew Weyth and other American artists. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m27mascola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you time and reviewing our hotel. I am glad you made it in time for tea and cookies! It is one of the things we do to try to ensure that our guests know we care and want them to feel cozy and at home with us. I agree with you that there is a fantastic range of art available to see in the area, and in particular Andrew Wyeth and his work remains a treasure to Chadds Ford.

We hope we get the chance to serve you again in the future, and we thank you again for your time and feedback!


Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Staff was friendly, food was great, and room was exceptionally nice. They are keeping this hotel in good condition, and are serving a nice, tasty, and included breakfast. The had an excellent ice tea and cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Leon I,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our hotel. We are working very hard to ensure that all of our guests have an experience that is enjoyable and most importantly that they feel welcome and taken care of by our staff and services. Thank you again and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerest Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Brandywine River Hotel and was pleasantly surprised of this tucked away treasure. Behind the art gallery, there is a brick building on the outside with old world charm on the inside. Staff were very friendly and courteous. It is a very well kept property, with the comforts of your own home. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a relaxing environment with a european flair.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Mailee,

Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in future.

Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We used to stay here all the time but about 18 months ago a rude clerk at checkin discouraged us for future visits . Last week we decided to try again. We thought we were calling the Hotel directly but it turns out we were talking to Hotels.com. We signed up for 2 nights.
the morning of our scheduled first night, we were offered a room with a friend. We called the hotel directly and cancelled our visit, understanding that because we had not cancelled by 4:00pm the previous day, we would have to pay for that night. When we got the credit card bill, we had been charged for 2 nights! I called the Hotel to rectify the mistake and they said Hotels.com had to correct the error. Hotels.com said the BRHotel had to correct it. Another phone call to BRH left me frustrated and angry. We'll avoid Hotels.com and Brandywine River Hotel in the future!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruththeroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Ruth,

I am sorry to read about the issues you had with the cancellation of your reservation. I know it is frustrating but when a guest books with a third party site such as Hotels.com etc, the guest is paying that website not the hotel, and they alone hold the ability to refund your payment.

It is always difficult to hear when someone is being pushed back and forth between companies but Hotels.com are the ones who are providing misinformation, but I do apologize either way. Also, a lot of times when people locate a phone number off of a search engine generally the first few links are not the hotel itself. Usually the safest bet is to locate a phone number that includes the local area code.

I hope this information is helpful to you in getting the situation you experienced fixed. Again, I am sorry for the issues you had with Hotels.com and I am sorry we weren't able to do more for you.

Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two days while on business. Room was very quiet, although I could hear the periodic use of the ice machine as it disgorged a supply of ice in someone's ice bucket. Since there is no room service, I would expect some amenities in the room to aid the traveler: microwave, coffee maker, frig, room safe. All or some would make the room more useful. I was also annoyed by the lack of receptacles for using a laptop or charging up batteries at the end of the day. Want to use the receptacle near the bed? Unplug the lamp or the Ethernet port. Want to use a laptop on the table? Unplug another lamp or the clock radio. Come on BRH, get into the technology age.

I had called their front desk before my trip to find out about their Internet capabilities. The individual explained some of their shortcomings with WiFi. I stated that maybe I should bring an Ethernet cable just in case. The clerk agreed by saying " yeah, you bring that bad boy!". Interesting way to speak to customers, heh?

My stay included both Friday and Saturday morning. I arrived Friday a.m. at 630am for their continental breakfast. Choices were limited, but I was satisfied with oatmeal, juice, and English muffin. I arrived again Sat. morning at the same time, and learned that breakfast is not served until 8am on weekends. Really? This is a poor accomodation for both business people and travelers ready to hit the road early. BRH, this should be changed!

I expect to be back in the area again in 6 months, but I will seek an alternative hotel. Too bad, because I like the Chadds Ford area. Very pretty.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vince1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Vince,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review your stay. During your stay we were in the process of fixing the wireless system and it is now up and running as it should be. It was not working up to the standards our guests nor we expect, but we do want to let you know it has been upgraded and it is running smoothly.

In regards to the agent you spoke with on the phone about the Ethernet cable, needless to say it is unacceptable. The hotel is under new ownership and there has been some necessary staffing changes. Please know we are committed to excellent customer service and I am sorry you didn't receive it on that call.

I want you to know we have heard your suggestions and do apologize for any of your dissatisfaction. We are working to ensure that our property is not only comfortable and inviting, but also amenities for the growing needs of our business travelers. Again, I thank you for your feedback. We hope you give us a second chance to serve you.

Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Property: Brandywine River Hotel
Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing