We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Brick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Nice little gem”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April of 2013. Despite it being off a main road, you feel like you're out in an English village once inside. The place is quaint and cute with a European feel to it.

The lobby was well cared for, the service was very good, and the room we were in was more than ample. A small breakfast was had in in the morning in a very pretty dining area just off the lobby. It's your standard complimentary items such as; toast, bagels, cereals and coffee or tea.

There is no food service in this hotel other than the morning offerings and an afternoon tea, but there's a very good steak house virtually 40 - 50 feet away. There are numerous other dining options in the immediate area as well.

It appears this hotel gets a mixed review from what I am seeing, but I think it's a case of if you're looking for a Sheraton or some majorly big hotel, this isn't for you. However, if you just want something nice, perhaps more like a bed and breakfast, then this nice little gem will do just fine.

One final note, there are a number of attractions not far away - especially recommended is Longwood Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    137
    58
    21
    24
See reviews for
77
190
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked a premium suite about 6 weeks in advance. Due to overbooking I was downgraded from a premium suite room to a standard room for a Saturday night stay. Unfortunately, I was not made aware about this change in advance of my stay. In fact I did not know about this change until I opened the door to the room around 7:30pm that night after checking in. I was further disappointed that the young lady who checked me in, did not take the time to tell me about the change and ran my credit card through for the premium suite price letting me believe that there was no issue. It was a huge let down to have to find out I was downgraded by opening a door to the room. If I was notified before that moment or more appropriately, before I traveled to the hotel, I could have rescheduled for another weekend. There was not a manager on duty on a Saturday evening, so I could not bring this issue up to management. I ended up staying at the Embassy Suites in Newark, Delaware. This hotel was cheaper, nicer, and did not smell like a retirement home like the Brandywine River Hotel. It had a mildew musky scent from the moment I walked in. I could tell by the décor that The Brandywine River Hotel was extremely in need of renovations. Example, it is one of the few hotels I know of that still has 4:3 Tube TVs and not flat screens.

I followed up on Monday, with a phone call and no manager was on duty. Apparently, the owner of the hotel, comes in for a few hours each day to check on things, but he was not available at the time I called. I sent an email because I was told he checks it often about the situation and I received no response. I called back again Monday and he had just left. The woman on the phone I spoke to said she told him I called and explained the situation to him, yet he still choose to ignore me. Clearly, the owner does not value the customers. I would not recommend this place to anyone. From other people I’ve spoken to about the place is it has gotten worse and worse over the last couple years. Save yourself a few bucks and have a much better stay elsewhere. And for those of you going forward to stay here, GOOD LUCK!

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Steve R.,

I am truly sorry to hear about the issue you had with the reservation. I am aware of the confusion and was waiting to hear back from our reservation support team before calling so I could give you a comprehensive answer to your concerns.

When we spoke the other day I did explain that there was zero charges for your room and the issue was that the reservation was not in our system. This made it impossible for us to know ahead of time that there was an issue. The front desk agent explained that we didn't have the reservation and checked you into the room we had available at the lower cost. I understand that you were unhappy and left, which we understand.

The hotel and our systems are being upgraded. It appears that during the change over with the reservation software, your reservation did not make it into our new system. I apologize for this but we did our best in the situation to try to provide you with the closest possible comparable accommodations. The hotel is being renovated and improved both technology wise and, as well as our aesthetic. We have already upgraded some of the rooms to include flat screens. We will continue to update and improve our hotel.

In this industry sometimes things go wrong, but I am a firm believer it is how you handle it that makes the difference. I apologize if my staff and I didn't do more to explain the issue or its resolution. Your feedback will allow us to make the improvements for the future. Thank you again.

Sincerest Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've stayed here often while visiting family over the years, but on this last visit we noticed lots of things have gone downhill. The breakfast, while never abundant, had even fewer choices. The carpeting in the elevator was really dirty. While we enjoyed the fireplace in our room, the room was showing signs of age. Peeling wallpaper, very lumpy pillows, cracks in the floor of the tub. The ice maker on our floor (second) wasn't working. Also, the 'business center' no longer has a printer. On the upside, the free wifi worked really well. It's a shame that the hotel isn't being kept up, because we'd rather stay in a charming independent place than an anonymous chain.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Flatennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautiful & quiet setting in an historic district but has lost it's welcoming charm and raised rates. Front desk staff, around the clock, would benefit from hospitality training. Continental breakfast is adequate, but recommend walking to Hank's Place for a great locals breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mec534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Ask for a fan early in your stay as the AC is challenged, and hallway noise evident. Pillows and bedding are so very average at best. Well located but very tired. Strangely, we were told that the credit card machine was down for a half day, but if we paid by cash, we could get a 15% discount "for the inconvenience." ???

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The room was clean and quiet. Our room was a king suite and the fireplace was welcome on a cool night. Since we had stayed in the area a number of times in the past we knew where we were going but we observed the front desk staff helping several couples with dinner choices. The afternoon tea and cookies were enjoyable but the breakfast choices were sparser than they had been when we stayed here in the past.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamReun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've stayed here a few times but it's never my first choice. The entry is dark and the front desk seems just a bit put out that you are interrupting them. Not rude but less than effusive in their welcoming. Then came a warning about being on the upper floors because of the heat outside was a bit of a red flag. So after deciding to stay on the first floor I discovered the AC in the first floor room struggled a bit anyway. The rooms are clean but are really starting to show their age. With wallpaper peeling a bit from the wall in the bathroom, one of the tub faucets leaking, and the mini fridge desperately needing a defrosting in its freezer, this hotel seems to be in need of some reinvestment in the property. I don't generally prefer the chains, but with brighter, more welcoming properties and definitely better mattresses, they are more appealing than this hotel. I think it probably was nice at some point in the past, but it definitely has not kept up with the times.

Room Tip: Make sure all the equipment is working properly. when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
595 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Property: Brandywine River Hotel
Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing