We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at the Brandywine river Hotel for 2 nights. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room, while a bit outdated for decor, was very very comfortable (great sheets), and the location was central (next to a couple great local restaurants). I would recommend this hotel to people visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossMolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    135
    57
    20
    25
See reviews for
75
186
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights during snow storm, I was grateful to find a room anywhere. The Hotel is okay, it is not a Luxury hotel by any means. The room was okay I have no complaints. The breakfast is practically non-existent, they don't refill anything so there is not much to eat. The afternoon tea is some tea bags and chocolate chip cookies. If you are visiting Chadds Ford it is a good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The mixed reviews were challenging, but we thought we would try the hotel ourselves. We know two couples who had stayed here.

We were greeted with a warm welcome. However, when both arriving and leaving our moments were interrupted by other guests. This was not the hotel's fault.

Our room was average and located on the backside of the building. Had it been the "right" day we might have seen deer in the field outside our window.

Having a fireplace always adds to the ambience. However, the jacuzzi was nothing to write home about.

Our negotiated price was appropriate for the experience. There was a restaurant within easy walking distance. Would we visit again? Possibly if we wanted to eat at the restaurant and not drive home.

Our experience made for a good "get away" evening.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Gary R.,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and would consider returning, and we hope you will!

Again, we thank you for your time in and for providing your feedback. We appreciate it!

Warmest Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here because of a snow storm. They were the only hotel in the area and the closest to where our car was stuck in a 4 hour traffic jam. We were grateful to get a room and I planned to give them a great review. Then, we didn't have any water because a pipe froze. Then I learned there is only 1 vending machine with sodas, it was out of water. No way to purchase snacks. Supposedly there is tea and cookies from 4 - 6, not when I was there. The room service is done by a restaurant in front of the hotel that has great food but the prices are really high. The rooms are old and outdated. Bathroom was dirty, piles of hair in the tub. To top it off, I was supposedly given a 30% discount because of the lack of water. When I checked my Amex card, they charged me full price! I hope I NEVER have to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is that they do accept pets 20 lbs. or under so if you have a pet this is the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry about the issues you had while you were with us. We were all subject to very difficult weather and we did our best to accommodate all of our guests. The pipe did freeze and we lament that fact but it was due to elements out of our control. This is also the reason we were not able to make the tea and cookies.

If you didn't receive the 30% discount please call the hotel so that we can double check the paperwork and amend any error if you haven't gotten it. Also, if there was housekeeping issues I would like to discuss them with you. We want to provide a good stay for all of our guests, and if the room wasn't cleaned properly that is something we want to be aware of so we can fix it.

Again I am very sorry for the issues you experienced. We are in the process of renovations and we are doing our best to complete them as soon as possible.

Thank you,


Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It has been about 10 years since I've been to the Brandywine River Hotel. Back then, it was really a wonderful hotel, but it has not kept up with the times. Except for the addition of a flat screen TV, nothing else has changed.

First, the room was dirty. The carpet looked grimy, and there were stains on the walls. The furniture was uncomfortable, and there was a lot of dust (they must think that guests overlook the heavy dust on the light bulbs, but we notice!). The old wallpaper in the bathroom is just awful. The bathrooms need a complete remodel.

I found the hotel to be quite noisy at night and I did not sleep well. You can hear every door slamming shut and people in the hallway on their cell phones. Even the refrigerator in the room was loud, and I had to unplug it just to sleep.

The worst part was the plumbing. On the day we visited, there was a problem with the plumbing throughout the hotel, and the toilet wouldn't flush. I had to manually fill the tank with water from the tub just to flush it!

On the positive side, the bed was comfortable and there was no problem with my reservation, which I made a few weeks in advance. The gas fireplace was very nice, as was the Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was just okay with an assortment of muffins, pastries, cereal, juices, and a pancake maker. Yes, they still offer tea and cookies, but it does nothing to compensate for all the other issues this hotel has.

I was really hoping to give my old favorite a great rating, but unfortunately it's outdated and tired. It needs a lot of TLC to get it back to the way it was years ago. If and until that day comes, I won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finewineNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear FinewineNJ,

I am sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay. The hotel is currently renovating so that we can update our property whilst maintaining the charm and elegance that our guest have come to expect, and deserve from us.

We know how important comfort and value is for all of our guests and we are working hard on the renovations, while trying to have as little impact on our guests whom are with us during this time. The issue with the plumbing was from necessary work by the Chester County Water Authority who was doing work in the area. We had no control but we do apologize.

We assure you we that we are quickly working to complete renovations and we hope that once complete, you will come visit us and give us another chance.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerest Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I visit the Brandywine Valley a few times a year and, in the past few seasons, have always stayed here: It is pleasant, convenient, comfortable -- and reasonably priced. It is a small, unobtrusive hostelry, more inn than hotel or motel, more English than American in personality, with a cozy, well-appointed lobby, attentive staff, clean, comfortable rooms, and a thoroughly satisfactory free breakfast in the small dining room. Although it is located directly on busy Route 1 (Baltimore Pike), it is set back some distance from the road in a quiet, bucolic setting. Perhaps my requirements are modest by comparison with some travelers, but I cannot think of a more pleasant and comfortable place to stay, and heartily recommend the Brandywine River Hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilipTerzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel since it was across the street from the Brandywine Museum and we were attending a party there that night. We had an awesome time at our party but the hotel was a pretty great attraction as well, we had tea and cookies (very good and filling), then ordered Room Service from Brandywine Prime (again tons of food, it was a good price and HUGE servings, so be hungry if you come here, they feed you well), and we enjoyed the fireplaces and movies on the free HBO channels. The bathroom was nice and fairly large, and everything was very clean. The front desk staff was nice and asked to make sure we were happy with our room and went out of their way when we needed anything. We had lots of fun at our party and enjoyed more movies on the TV when we got back. The breakfast was nice, it's breads, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juices, make your own waffles, tea, and coffee. If you want bacon, eggs, potatoes, and all the really filling foods, then I think there are a few local places close by. We decided we'll stay again, we're Longwood Garden members, and want to check out Winterthur, the DE Art Museum, Sickman's Mill...all the cool stuff close by. Just to give you a better idea of why I give it such a good review - I'm a romantic inn type of person...so if you want a very modern type of Hilton hotel, it's not like that, it's much more a charming and a classical feeling kind of place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
585 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Property: Brandywine River Hotel
Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing