We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, reasonably priced, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Excellent location, reasonably priced, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here during a 5-day trip to visit the many sites in and around Chadds Ford (Winterthur, Longwood Gardens, Brandywine River Museum, etc.). The hotel's location is perfectly situated for this and the cost was very affordable given other hotels I considered. The room was spacious and I was very happy that recent renovations had included wireless access throughout the entire building. The staff members that I encountered were always very pleasant and extremely helpful with any requests I had. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Chadds Ford!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    136
    57
    21
    24
See reviews for
76
189
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the king jacuzzi sweet, and we found the room very clean and homely. We only encountered two staff members during our stay, but they were very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay here again! The price was reasonable, and the stay was so warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: I recommend the king jacuzzi suite if you are not "flying solo." The price is manageable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for one night when we were in town to go to Longwood Gardens. The hotel was small and set back from the road. It was very clean and quiet. The staff were very helpful and we had dinner at the next door steak house, which was also very good. The breakfast buffet was ok but the cookies in the afternoon were delicious and much appreciated. We would definitely consider staying here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlover298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Comfy in all aspects. Personal quality as opposed to chains. Breakfast selection could be better, though. Bed was very comfy and room so quiet. Great access to nearby Brandywine Museum and Winterthur.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel staff was kind, room was clean and had all amenities. Breakfast was good, The only problem was the waffle maker not working properly. It wasn't just mine, I watched other patrons not satisfied w/the waffle maker. ( batter always stuck & waitress had to come and peel waffle off!) Good variety of fruits, cereals, toasts etc. We enjoyed our stay in Chadds Ford.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppawlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I always stay at the Brandywine River Hotel when visiting family in the area. The hotel feels more like a B&B but with a few more rooms. I have never had an problems or issues during a stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The have a nice continental breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: The hotel has only two floor and an elevator. So any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Brandywine River Hotel for several nights. We have stayed there several times in the past but it had been about 4 or 5 years since our last stay. We had fond memories of our past experiences and so we were looking forward to it. We were somewhat disappointed. We stayed in a king jacuzzi but not one of the ones we stayed in before. The layout of the room made for oddly placed furniture. For instance, the placement of the armoir which contained the flat screened TV was situated for viewing from the loveseat but not the bed. The doors on the armoir partially blocked the view of the fireplace on one side and ran into the top of the mini-refrigerator on the other side not allowing the door to stay open. The refrigerator was so close to the corner on the way to the bathroom that it could not be moved over to accomodate the armoir door. The closet area had no doors (one of my pet peaves) and there was not a full-sized ironing board and only onw vacant plugs for cell phone (2 needed) and Ipad (2 needed) recharging. The room seemed a bit dated overall. I guess for the price point that we paid, I expected a little bit more attention to detail and possibly a few updates. Location is great so it makes up a bit for the other things that I mentioned. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay, just not what we had fondly remembered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
594 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Property: Brandywine River Hotel
Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing