We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds and welcomes dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandywine River Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is perfect for traveling with a dog. We had room 100 right next to the back door for easy access to lots of beautiful grassy land.
The first night there were people in the adjoining room (not our group) and I could hear their TV through the wall or adjoining door. Luckily they turned it off at 10 pm. The next night the room was either empty or had very quiet people, so we were lucky again.
The restaurants next door and down the road were great - Brandywine Prime and the Gables.
Prime refused the dog even on the outdoor terrace, but delivered room service to us. Gables let us have the dog on the outdoor terrace which was very lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sanpanchocasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the Brandywine River Hotel. It's in a great location and has two restaurants (one with a bar) within walking distance. The room had a quiet A/C and the windows actually open to allow fresh air--and the bed was comfortable, bathroom clean. I travel frequently and this hotel is as good as the national chains. The lady who worked at the front desk was helpful and cared about our comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Need to get away from all the noise and havoc of everyday life? This is the place to be. This place is close to Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Battlefied Museums and Antique Shops. Look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: if you are looking to get away and need relaxation, then this is the place to be at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEACHES703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is located within walking distance of the Brandywine River Museum and several restaurants and shops. the hotel is a modest size but has the feel of a bed and breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1920Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear 1920Jimmy,

Thank you so much for your review! We are grateful that you found our property comfortable. I am thrilled to hear you felt it was like a bed and breakfast. We really are meant to be a quaint, comfortable, and warm property and we take that as the highest compliment.

Please do come see us again!! Thank you again!

Sincere Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My friends and I were traveling to Winterthur to see the Downton Abbey clothing and tour the museum. We thought we would stay close to the museum to eliminate the thirty Mike drive from King of Prussia mall where we planned to shop the next day. That was a mistake. This hotel is old, smells musty, and is not comfortable at all. We took a King Fireside Jacuzzi Suite since there were three of us, so I used the pull out bed and my friends took the king bed. The King bed had a lumpy comforter and a sagging middle. The pull out had a dirty mattress pad cover, and wasn't much better than sleeping on the floor. The air conditioner unit ran all night, rumbling and coughing. Terrible. Stay in King of Prussia where the hotels are clean and new. It's only a short drive in the morning to Winterthur anyway.

Room Tip: There isn't one that we could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SueLovesTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our second stay at this pleasant small motel. We have found it clean, quiet and comfortable each time. It is a nice change from the big chains, if, for nothing else, the real china at the breakfast area.
If we again visit the area to go to Longwood Gardens, etc., we will again stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Grofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Grofe,

Thank you for your nice review! We are pleased to hear you came back to see and we certainly hope you do again. We know how precious our guests time is, so we thank you sincerely for taking time out of your day to leave your feedback. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Regards,

Raj Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As noted elsewhere, the room as clean, quiet, a little short on outlets, and the opposite of trendy. The staff was AMAZING, especially Corrine (sp?) at the front desk. The nearby restaurants were good. The only real negative I have is outside the hotel's control - there were no sidewalks, so taking an after-dinner stroll or pre-breakfast run was challenging.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank shaw216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.8 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
646 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing