We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Brandywine River Hotel(Chadds Ford)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennsbury Inn(Chadds Ford)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brinton Hotel(West Chester)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel Motel(West Chester)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel(Glen Mills)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
216
67
29
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
67
29
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housethe main housebrandywine valleylongwood gardensgas fireplacebreakfast and afternoon teafrittataeach morningprivate deck overlookingwing chairscanopy bedyogurtbreakfast was deliciousnearby attractionsspring housetwo nightssmall tv
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our family stayed at the Fairville Inn and had a wonderful two-day visit.
We stayed in the main house in two rooms, both of which were quite comfortable.
We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and friendly conversations
with Laura and Rick, the owners. They were very willing to spend time advising us
on directions to various restaurants and cultural attractions in the area.
The breakfast, which is offered in the cozy dining room in the main house, was delicious.
The cereal, pastries, eggs, juice, fruit and coffee were all very fresh.
This B & B is one of the nicest that we have stayed in and we hope to return to visit more
of the attractions in the Chadds Ford area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was part of a business group that stayed here for an off-site meeting. Staying at a B&B is different from my usual travel experience, but you cannot beat the personalized attention by the small staff. The room was clean and I enjoyed having a fireplace on a timer. While I cannot say that I am a huge fan of B&Bs, the staff here made it a good visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed here for two nights and found the Fairville Inn to be pleasant! We love going to all different B&Bs. We stayed in Carriage House #2. It had a nice fireplace, large suite, large bathroom with his and her sinks, and a comfy king sized canopy bed. There are many things to do that are in close proximity. Longwood Gardens, a nice shopping area that's about 6 miles away, plenty of restaurants, and Delaware Park is only about 25 mins away! It is an older place, but it didn't bother us at all. The staff was also very pleasant and welcoming.

If you are a big TV person, the TV is pretty small and is not able to be seen from lying in bed (you can sit on the couch next to the fireplace to watch TV). We brought our laptop and were able to watch DVDs on there.

My only suggestion for the owners would be to setup some type of system for the housekeeper to come clean the room (like a "do not disturb" sign or just ask when a good time to clean the room is). The housekeeper, who was a nice young woman, just came when we were napping and it was a little bit awkward for all of us.

We would definitely come visit again. :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper506, Owner at Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you! We very much appreciate your comments about the Fairville Inn. We and our staff work hard every day to make your stay memorable.

We do apologize for the intrusion of our housekeeping staff. We have a rather short “window” of time to get our rooms ready for new guests and to re-make rooms for guests staying over. A mention at breakfast or quick call to the front desk requesting late housekeeping service (or to decline housekeeping) would have avoided the intrusion.

Several years ago we did have “Do Not Disturb” signs that could be put on our door knobs. Guests often forgot to remove them when they left for the day – and then complained that their rooms were not serviced.

We agree that our TVs are on the small side, especially considering the larger screens we have all become accustomed to. With two exceptions, they nestle comfortably hidden in armoires. This does indeed limit their size, but also (in our view) enhances the ambiance of our rooms.

Again, thank you for your gracious comments and we look forward to hosting you again.
Best,
Rick
Innkeeper/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you are planning to tour any of the Brandywine River area attractions, this inn definitely is the right place to stay! Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, and Longwood Gardens are all within minutes of the Fairville Inn.

Our room was in the Spring House. We especially enjoyed the gas fireplace in it...........we turned it on the second we returned to our room throughout our 3-day stay. We also had a deck overlooking the garden area, but since it was so frigid, we didn't get to sit out on it.......but it certainly came in handy as a place for chilling our wines! One downside to our room was the source of heat. We had an individual heating/AC unit and a remote to control it, but even though we had the temperature set at 62 degrees (the lowest that we could go), it was definitely MUCH warmer than that in the room. We actually had to turn the unit completely off for all three nights.........and then turn it back on in the morning when the room got a bit chilly. I don't know if there is any solution to this issue.

Breakfasts were very good. There were always three choices for the main entree, plus continental breakfast items as well. It was very helpful to be able to select the time we wanted to eat breakfast so we could accommodate our day's schedule. I'm sure that it was beneficial for the innkeepers too, as they could control the number of tables that they were serving throughout their breakfast hours.

There was a daily tea offered in the afternoon........cookies, pastries, cheese & crackers, and coffee & tea.........quite nice for those who needed a little treat in the afternoon.

We were quite surprised with the number of guests that were staying at the inn (considering it was close to New Year's Eve)..........so they are obviously doing something right!

Room Tip: The out-buildings are located away from Kennett Pike............could be more quiet. Opt for a room with a gas fireplace (in season).........you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our extended family rented out 6 rooms at the Fairville Inn for a 3-day mini-reunion. We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, enabling us to group our rooms together and being flexible with check-in and breakfast hours (which they extended for our group). The rooms were nice and sizable, with nice decorating touches - our room had a canopy bed. The common area was small, but comfortable, with a fireplace and plenty of books to read. There was also Wi-Fi throughout the building.

Breakfast was filling, and featured a choice between a daily special, eggs and pancakes. For lunch and dinner they will direct you to local restaurants, which we enjoyed.

The best thing about the Fairville Inn is its location along the Delaware/Pennsylvania border, which puts it within minutes of a lot of great sightseeing. During our stay, we visited Nemours and Winterthur (DuPont family mansions), Longwood Gardens, and the Brandywine Museum (which features the art of the Wyeth family). All were within 15 minutes of the inn.

The Inn consists of multiple buildings. We stayed in the man house, which is next to the road. We had no problems with the road noise. However, if you want more quiet, stay in one of the rooms in the buildings away from the road.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank MikeLisaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews