We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had booked a room in this inn to be strategically located for a visit to Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. Those gardens are only at a 10 minutes drive, one on the north and one on the south.

On our late arrival (after 7 PM) we were graciously greeted by a young lady who showed us our room, located on the ground floor of the main historical building. We also had a living room, almost private, although it is shared in principle by other guests. In fact, it is probable that people having rooms in adjacent buildings seldom use the living room.
Our room was of a decent size, cozy with a lot of character. It was clean and had been renovated to modern standards. We had our private balcony (where we could lock our bicycles) with a shaded path leading to the parking lot.
Charming! At the back of the inn, there is a large lawn with flowers, and a bench where one can sit and have a drink (BYOB) while watching the stars or the fireflies.
Breakfast was great both mornings we were there.
The inn provided us with tickets for Longwood at a discount price. Tea and cheese/biscuits were served at 4 PM when we came back, which was much appreciated. The landlady was kind enough to print for us suggestions of back roads, with less traffic, that we could take to go to Kenneth Square by bike (Looking at the speedy traffic in the area, we actually changed our minds...)
There are many restaurants nearby, and there is a binder available with all the menus. The personnel made the reservation for us.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely consider returning to this inn, if we happen to travel to this area again.

Room Tip: Main house room 1 was great. Cannot say about the other ones.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fairandmoderate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in the carriage house, bottom floor. Lovely room, beautiful views from our private patio, overlooking the flowers in the garden. Loved the fluffy white guest robes and the property that allowed you to move about it to take in the views. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BucketList22039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great location, wonderful staff. The Fairville Inn is close to Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Mansion and Hagley Mansion. The room was very clean, housekeeping was prompt and the grounds were well manicured. The staff was welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The Inn-keepers, Rick and Laura were informative about the local cuisine as well as tourist must-see locations. Our favorite staff member was Ozzie. He is Rick's big black dog. He is very interactive with the guests loves garlic bread. We had a great stay at the Fairville Inn and look forward to returning in the future.....

Room Tip: The Carriage House rooms are more private and open to the garden
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biltmore2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and don't miss Ozzie the blue eyed dog. The owners are very accommodating and work hard to make sure you're happy. What a cutie! We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We loved the Spring House!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a very nice stay in the Fairville Inn. We stayed in the Carriage House room #2, upstairs. The room was comfortable and roomy. As in most old inns, the bathroom was dated, but extremely clean. Housekeeping was very prompt and the staff at the inn very helpful and friendly. The location of the inn made it quite easy to get to ant of the attractions, restaurants, and a nice morning walk.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in a downstairs room in the Carriage House.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here without much advance research and we were well-rewarded with a great stay! The setting is so well-cared for, so striking, compared to what I saw on line. It was therefore a surprise as we drove in!
The staff took good care of us, had no problem helping us find a good place to eat dinner, provided a quiet night's sleep, and gave us a good enough breakfast.
We were interested in visiting the Ashley Nature Center which is ~8 miles away. Now the staff was not that conversant with the directions to the Nature Center, but otherwise they were great and seemed to really enjoy their job of maintaining an Inn for us travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dclaireand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Let me start by saying that we are not really fans of most bed and breakfast places. The Fairville in was a nice surprise. The welcome we received was warm and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. We mostly had the upstairs to ourselves so it was quiet. The location was very close to all we wanted to see and the breakfast was delicious.

The only downside was a slight musty, mildew smell that is likely due to the age of the main building.

Overall a very nice visit and we are very likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctheworld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 506 Kennett Pike, Route 52, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-9384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range: £147 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairville Hotel Chadds Ford
Fairville Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing