We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Setting with Delectable Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gables At Chadds Ford

Gables At Chadds Ford
Reserve with OpenTable
Gables At Chadds Ford is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brintons Bridge Rd.
Transit: No public transportation available.
Description: The Gables at Chadds Ford is situated on land that was originally part of a 138 acre land grant from William Penn to Brinton King. Around 1745, a pre-Revolutionary style house was built on the property. This was one of the first homes to be built in Pennsbury Township. For the next 100 plus years, the property operated as a working farm and quietly became part of the Brandywine Valley’s history. The route along Route One is well known to have housed numerous stops for the Underground Railroad during the Civil War. It has been suspected that the King house may have been one of these stops.The house was renovated in the late 1800s by George C. King, son of Brinton King. He adopted the popular Victorian style by adding wrap around porches and twenty three gables. Two of the four original chimneys from the pre-Revolutionary style home are still visible. In March of 2002, the house was placed on the National Historic Register.The bank barn was built in 1897, and the farm became a traditional dairy farm until the late 1940s. The barn then reincarnated into Dario’s Dairy Bar and General Store. Dario’s featured Elsie the Borden Cow on the side of the building. By the 1960s, the site became the Country Kettle, a home-style diner many Chadds Ford residents may remember.The restaurant features the original frame, steel-framed doors and windows, and Benheim restoration glass. The banquet room is accented with a stunning wall of French windows and is crowned with an antique chandelier. The name for the restaurant was derived from the large number of gables, (gable n. the triangular upper part of an outside wall, between sloping roofs), that are featured on both the Victorian House and the restaurant.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting with Delectable Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I decided to visit the Gables based on a friend's recommendation, and for the most part, I wasn't disappointed. Lunch was not too crowded, but from the point we entered the door, the service was not up to my expectations. The hostess was uninviting and seemed to know almost nothing when we asked her questions. There was only one waitress to cover about four or five tables (almost nobody was there), so because of that, service was a little bit slow.

The seating outside is absolutely stunning. It is like you are in a magical fairy grotto complete with a beautiful rock garden/fountain and gorgeous flowers. The whole outside area is covered to protect against the elements, so that's wonderful. My only complaint about the outside setting is that there seem to be bees nesting in the small nooks of the stone wall, and they got somewhat annoying after a few minutes. So ask for a table close to the center of the seating if possible.

The food really celebrated the mushroom country we were in. Be sure to order the mushroom soup. It is quite unique and delivers some nice flavor. I also ordered the short ribs. The beer sauce was actually rather good, but I was slightly disappointed by the huge pile of fries underneath the four or five small chunks of meat. Just a bit more meat and less starch would have balanced the plate better.

Overall, this is a wonderful restaurant that has a stunning interior, but the service could be improved. I would recommend coming here. The prices are low for such quality food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scarlett3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your food. I am sorry that the service was not more timely. We try our best to staff our restaurant appropriately for the time of day, but sometimes, we miss the mark. We will certainly look into the pest problem outside. Thank you for bringing that to our attention! We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    72
    43
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
273 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently had a business group dinner at the Gables. The restaurant is in an interesting older stone building. They have an outdoor seating area which is out the back of the building under a membrane tent structure. It's a very nice space with stone walls and the tent ceiling.

The service was good, our waitress did a nice job, but was very forgetful and routinely had to be reminded of things that had been ordered. The person next to me missed their salad because it was forgotten until our entree's arrived. My beer order went to someone else, and then a bit later another beer order was forgotten. So....the server was nice and working....but forgetful.

The food was very good. I had their mushroom soup which was excellent. The salmon entree I had was also very good, although not memorable. The food is very good......

The setting is very nice for the group discussions over dinner.

Enjoy

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kh57ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your recent experience. We take customer feedback seriously, and we appreciate it very much. I am so sorry that the waitstaff was so forgetful during your meal. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal despite the lacking service. I hope that the next time you are in the area, you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

After a busy day of antiquing in the Brandywine Valley, the Gables at Chadds Ford – something of an antique itself – is a great place to stop for lunch, dinner, and/or a fortifying round of liquid libations.

The restaurant is situated on land that was originally part of a 138 acre grant from William Penn to Brinton King. Around 1745, a pre-Revolutionary style house was built on the property. The house was renovated in the late 1800s by George C. King, son of Brinton King. A bank barn was built in 1897, and the farm became a traditional dairy farm until the late 1940s. In 1997, Jack McFadden purchased and renovated the historic house and barn into what is now known as The Gables at Chadds Ford. The building features the original frame, steel-framed doors and windows, and Bendheim restoration glass. Placed on the National Historic Register in March 2002, the restaurant was purchased by Ann & Dan Kolenick, its current owners, in 2011.

The Gables’ interior is an attractive amalgam of old and new. The bar area, adjacent to the open kitchen, exudes a decidedly rustic charm. The dining room, on the other hand, feels more modern but still features a number of antique touches, including an original exposed brick wall. Banquet facilities are located on the second floor. Of particular note, especially now that the warm weather is upon us, is the romantically-imbued stone-enclosed bi-level patio, a lovely venue for al fresco dining.

The place has atmosphere aplenty… and the cuisine, from everything I’ve sampled, is every bit its equal. If you happen to be visiting the nearby Brandywine River Antiques Market, or some other emporium in the area, The Gables makes a most pleasant luncheon stopover.

Among the sandwiches, which are accompanied by either a freshly tossed salad with vinaigrette or hand-cut bistro fries, the wraps are excellent. The salmon wrap, for example, features pristinely fresh chunks of grilled filet companioned by chopped asparagus, mixed greens, and invigorating infusion of whole grain mustard. But even better, in my opinion, is the representative that headlines local mushrooms. A spinach wrap is stuffed with grilled & marinated meaty Portobello mushrooms aided and abetted by trimmed baby arugula and melted Swiss cheese.

Other appetizing possibilities include the pulled pork sandwich with tangy North Carolina barbeque sauce and Brussels sprout slaw, a first-class burger topped with melted aged white cheddar, and Waldorf chicken salad. This latter entry is particularly noteworthy, as it not only stuffs a freshly baked croissant with moist chunks of mayo-caressed free-range chicken, but also incorporates generous apportionments of chopped walnuts, dried cranberries, and diced red onion into the mix. A cut-above in every respect.

When it comes to awarding top honors in the sandwich department, however, my nod would undoubtedly go to the kitchen’s take on the traditional BLT, the “BLG.” The “G” in this case is the creative inclusion of luscious fried green tomatoes along with the usual bacon and spinach-subbing-for-lettuce on roasted garlic aioli-slathered grilled sourdough bread… Superlative.

Of the five luncheon entrées noted on the printed menu, we sampled both the “blackened” fish & chips and the steak frites. My wife, who is particularly persnickety when it comes to the former, declared Gables’ version simply “OK”; and I tend to agree. The tempura batter was certainly crispy enough and the fish appropriately flaky (rather than mushy), but the rendition isn’t likely to cause any significant tremors on the culinary Richter scale.

The steak frites, on the other hand, was first-rate. The 10-ounce New York strip was served up medium – precisely as ordered – and accompanied by hand-cut fries and marvelously complementary garlic aioli. The meat itself was bursting with flavor and perfectly textured (that is to say just a touch on the chewy side). You wouldn’t think that it was easy to screw up something as straightforward as a grilled steak – but a lot of restaurants manage to pull it off. Not here, however. Congrats to the kitchen; an excellent effort.

The Gables also sports an interesting selection of cocktails & martinis and a select wine list, including an impressive “reserve” list, if you happen to be feeling particularly flush.

If you’re antiquing in the area or just traveling through, The Gables at Chadds Ford is the perfect spot for lunch, dinner, or an afternoon snack & libation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtfulDiner43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for you review! I am so happy to know that you and your wife enjoyed your meal with us. I am wondering what we could have done to earn a five star review from you? It seemed that you were both happy with your experience, so I am curious where you think we need to improve. We take criticism seriously and are always looking to make the dining experience better. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at the Gables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

While visiting our Son and Daughter in Law in PA, they treated us to dinner at the Gables. This is a nice spot for fine dining. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. The menu had something for everyone. The atomsphere was casual but upscale. There was a piano player in the foyer.
The food was prepared and presented very well. It also was delicious. We would recommend the Gables to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alyce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Alyce,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We always appreciate hearing back from guests who have enjoyed their dining experience. I am curious what we could have done better to earn a five star review from you. We are always looking to improve and take feedback from our guests seriously. Thank you so much for dining with us, we look forward to hearing from you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not A Good Evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were an early reservation (5:15 pm) for six diners on Mother's Day, 2014. We would normally be willing to overlook minor things on such a heavy traffic day, but--unfortunately--almost nothing went well. While not crowded at 5:15, we waited for initial service, waited for our drinks, then waited for mushroom soup--which arrived barely warm, was returned for reheating, and was still not very warm! Some 50 or so minutes later (long after the soup bowls were cleared) our entrees finally arrived, though our aloof server (with a touch of annoyance) had promised them several times earlier as almost ready. When they arrived, again they were only lukewarm. Two of our party of six are children; the children's menu was chicken fingers or pasta--they asked for pasta. It arrived as a noodle pasta without cheese or butter. When asked for cheese and butter, the kids were told there was no cheese available and use the butter packets on the bread tray. The entrees with cold vegetables had reasonable taste after waiting so long, and we paid our bill and left after a frustrating 2 hours plus, opting out of another long wait for dessert and coffee. The hostess noted our status, was apologetic, and 'comped' our soup, but offered no reason for the prolonged waiting and the We were also not alone, as many other diners were overheard expressing frustration with their experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calusalaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amk61482, Public Relations Manager at Gables At Chadds Ford, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback about your dining experience. I am so sorry that you were not happy with your meal on Mother's Day. I understand how frustrating it can be to go out for a special occasion and have the evening not go well. We would love to have you come back to give us the chance to win you back. If you send us a message with your address, we will happily mail you a gift certificate. The next time you visit us, please let us know and our manager will be sure to visit your table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gables At Chadds Ford also viewed

 

Been to Gables At Chadds Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing