We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hank's Place

Hank's Place
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stopped here after going through the Brandywine River Museum. Food was great and our waitress was personable and friendly. The asparagus quiche was the best quiche that I have ever had, creamy and cheesy and spiced just right. Try it, you'll love it! Nothing fancy, kind of a diner-type atmosphere, lots of locals having lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    162
    49
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hard to recommend”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Convivial and popular with the locals. Service was fine. But the cooking was terrible, even for simp!e breakfast dishes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chienandalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“First time at Hanks”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

First time at hanks was disappointed in the service, was slow and not very friendly. Was also a little pricey for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great breakfast; fun to sit at the counter; cash only”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great time sitting at the counter watching how organized, clean and friendly (to each other as well as customers) the staff is....not to mention the fabulous French toast, omelettes, home fries, eggs and scrapple that 3 of us shared. The eggs Benedict are made with creamed beef. I happen to love both scrapple and chipped beef. The scrapple was perfect: crispy outside and creamy inside. Anyone who lives in Chadds Ford already knows Hank's Place, but it's worth a drive if you don't live there. We went on a Sunday and there is a covered outdoor wait line, but it moves fast, especially if you're willing to sit at the counter. Don't forget to bring cash.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejwo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fast seating & service. Food good.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The place was packed on the Sat afternoon about 2 pm when we arrived but we were seated within 10 mins & waited on immediately. Spouse had grilled cheese ($4) and fries ($2.75) & I had one of their specials of the day - Beef tenderloin tips over noodles ($15). Both were very good but nothing to rave about. No clue why it gets yearly Zagat's awards, but we didn't eat anything out of the ordinary. I think it's noted for it's breakfasts, so that might be the reason! I would recommend eating here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scoutieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Place also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing