We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely luncheon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talking Teacup

The Talking Teacup
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Chalfont
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
pa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely luncheon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just got home from a lovely luncheon tea with friends and everything was wonderful. The solo waitress did an excellent job navigating the different tables and checked in often to see how we were doing. The meal was good, especially the scones. The chocolate chip scones are the BEST! The extensive tea selction made a decision difficult but the waitress made some nice suggestions. The pace was leisurely which gave us lots of conversation time to catch up. The sandwich selection was nice but not exceptional. The cookie & small tart on the dessert plate were very good. The small brownie was merely ordinary, I would have gladly traded it for another chocolate chip scone! All in all it was a lovely experience. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are looking to do just a little something different with your daughter, mother, grandmother, aunt or special woman friend in your life, this converted farm house - turned tea parlor is just the place. Upon entering, there is a little shop that sells teas, giftware, etc., and then you are led thru to the quaint living room/dining room area for your sit down experience. The service was OK, but in our opinion could have been a bit friendlier. There is not a matching piece of silverware, cup or dish which kind of adds to the old time charm. You are given a choice of a huge assortment of teas (and you can switch at any time), along with home made scones which are just delicious and very filling in and of themselves! We choose the lunch package that also included a home made chicken noodle soup (above average), along with an assortment of mini tea sandwiches, most of which were very good. All in all, I would go again, but only if bringing an older generation tea-liking partner who would really appreciate the old time ambiance. Be sure to make reservations or at least call ahead, as this place is small and can get busy at certain times.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsB213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
201 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Nice selection of teas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have been here many times with friends and am surprised by some of the negative reviews I've seen on Trip Advisor about this restaurant. I wouldn't advise going there with a party of 9 like those who gave it a poor review did. It is a small intimate tea room not suited well for such large groups. The food is very good as are the teas, but you need not to be in a rush. If you want to blow in and out of a restaurant, try McDonald's and not a tea house. We have always found the service attentive, but not overbearing. Very charming décor in a nice old building. The gift shop is lovely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Bad Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This place has so much potential, it is a lovely environment, wonderful tea selection, and good food. But the service leaves so much to be desired. We had a reservation and there were 9 of us, 3 of which were children. We literally sat for at least 15 or 20 minutes without anyone greeting us- we were pointed to our table and told that there were menus on the table and that was it. Finally the waitress came and we were able to ask our questions and place our order, we ordered everything at once, our tea and our meal selections. And we sat for an hour before our tea finally came. I understand that it must take some time to brew 9 pots of tea but there was NO- "thanks for your patience" or "sorry it took so long". We then had to wait more time for the scones to come out, I did inquire as to how long until the food arrives (we were all starving and like I said we had 3 kids with us who were being VERY good and patient even though they were hungry). The waitress told me that they were still in the oven. While I appreciate freshly made, warm scones, it would seem that the planning could have been better (they obviously ran out and had to make more but there was no explanation to us about this or apology). Finally the scones came and we scarfed them down and waited and waited and waited for the main course to arrive. Once it finally did, we asked them to box up our desserts because we had been there so long at this point and we needed to leave. I understand that they were busy, but they should have planned for more kitchen staff or waitresses that day. No one was friendly, accomodating, or even seemed to care to make us feel welcome, comfortable, or that we had to wait so long for everything. The second time that I asked if the wait was going to be much longer for the food, the waitress just said "No" in a very snippy tone. Like we were getting on her nerves or inconveniencing her. Give me a break. We were not rude, we had 3 kids with us, we tried to be patient and we left with a horrible impression of the Talking Teacup. Also, the gluten free options were not tasty at all. There are so many options out there for gluten free flour and baked goods but clearly they are not aware of them. I am glad there were alternatives offered when we asked but they don't seem to care to make them taste really good. Even Whole Foods offers a gluten free scone mix that is much better than the "bars" they offered in place of the scones. The gluten free bread they used on the sandwiches was stale.
There were other things but I think you get the idea, even with a reservation it seems that the service is very poor. I guess if there are only 2 or 4 of you, they can handle it but with a large group, they can't handle it. No one even jumped in to help our waitress, the owner didn't seem to be a very good hostess or help to the waitresses. Maybe she was in the kitchen working, I don't know. When my sister paid the bill, the owner checked her out and she didn't ask- "how was everything" or anything like that so she obviously doesn't seem to care. Like I said in the beginning, this place has so much potential....we will not be returning again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, horrendous service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Our party of 9 made reservations for 1.30 in advance of our Friday afternoon tea. We arrived early and the staff said they had to reset our table. We shopped at the antique store until our reservation and went back. We told the cashier we were there, she said our table was ready, menus were on the table. We asked if we should seat ourselves, she said yes. We sat, looked at the menu, decided, and sat some more. With an 85 year old woman, a pregnant woman, and two 5 year olds, our waitress did not greet our table for a thirty minutes. Once we ordered, it took 45 minutes for our tea to make it to the table. Our teapots were emptied and we were still waiting for any food. We spent our time waiting, not eating and drinking. Our waitress never acknowledged the fact that there was anything wrong or that things were taking longer than it should. Or offer more drinks or food while we waited. We barely saw our waitress the length of our visit. The food was good, service was horrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank faith429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talking Teacup also viewed

Warminster, Bucks County
Chalfont, Bucks County
 

Been to The Talking Teacup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing