We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Chalk Hill
lexington, KY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Had a wonderful stay on here on October 19 and 20. All the units have new siding and roofs and it looks like they are beginning interior renovations in the higher number buildings. I am a frequent flyer at Chalk Hill and have always found it a great value. If you’re looking for a modern hotel…look elsewhere. But if you’re looking for a comfortable, clean nostalgic motel setup this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonylexky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    47
    33
    19
    13
See reviews for
32
61
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

There are some ups and downs here. The rooms are clean as a whistle and the beds were comfortable. The rooms are spacious with a microwave and refrigerator but no coffee maker. The channel selection is basic. Every room had a patio with a nice view of woods or a lake. It was very quiet. The continental breakfast is basic bagels and cerial with plenty of room in the banquet hall to sit and eat. You can also eat on the patio.

The downside is that everything so old. The decor is very dated and the rooms have actual keys that you have to jiggle in the knob just right to get it to open. The room numbers are written on the doors with chalk and the little roads and parking areas could use some patching. The banquet hall is particularly late 70s but still clean and comfortable.

There is not a lot in the area in terms of shopping or dinning but there are loads of trails, rafting and caving near by. Frank Loyd Wright's Falling Water and Kentucky Knob are also very close. It looked like equal parts outdoorsy people and older couples staying there. I don't know if it would be great for a family with small children. It's pet friendly.

I didn't mind the dated decor and run down grounds that much because I slept well, felt safe and got a good value.

Room Tip: Section 600 is where people traveling with pets stay so avoid it if you have alergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bg68ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The pictures of this 'Lodge' are great online, but there is not a lodge to be found on the property. The rooms look like storage sheds and the room numbers written on the doors with chalk. The decks on the rooms are nice that overlook the pond, which overlooks the main road beyond. The one perk was that when we decided to not waste our money and stay the night, they voided our reservation and gave us a refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 157JMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chalk Hill hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My family returnion is in Connellsville, and we have stayed at the Lodge at Chalk Hill in August for the past five years. We find the staff, especially, Gita, very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very adequate for our purposes.

This year we brought our dog, Morris with, and I did not find out until I arrived that only the "600" section is used for guests with pets. It is definitely understandable, but my husband, daughter and I were looking forward to staying in our favorite room: 201. We were, however, delighted that we got to see that section of the property; for the number of times we've stayed, we had no idea there was a really huge "fire pit" availble, with two picnic tables, and a pretty dilapidated swing set--which my daughter still enjoyed! My husband made a lovely fire, and also made dinner--cheeseburgers, that were absolutely scrumptious.

The lake on the property provides great fishing for locals and guests, alike. I caught a beautiful 12 inch large mouth bass; which was the envy of my fishing buds. However, if you just want to sit on the deck and watch the lake; with Rt. 40 in view as well, it is still quite relaxing. We are planning another trip in October and we'll definitely stay at the Lodge.

For a great deal, comfortable beds, with no hustle and bustle for miles around, you can't beat the Lodge at Chalk Hill!! Thanks, Gita!

Room Tip: We enjoy the corner units best (101, 201, etc.)--they're a bit more private; just having other g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beethoven3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My father and I stopped here to visit Fallingwater on our way to moving me from MA to New Orleans (we were in the room basically just to sleep). The room we stayed in was clean, but certainly nothing fancy. The real difference between this being an average and a good stay was attention to detail; i.e. no channel guide, wi-fi only in the main building, loose wallpaper corners, weatherstripping. To us it just showed a lack of effort to fix the small stuff. The continental breakfast had a decent spread (though no decaf coffee). The price was pretty good (got AAA discount) and it was 15min-ish from Fallingwater. For a longer stay it seemed to have a little deck and decent view from each room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was a last minute trip for some much needed quiet time in Ohiopyle and a visit to Kentuck Knob. I found the room to be adequate, even surprised to find a full kitchen of supplies (much needed silverware when I brought back take-out dinner). My room was very quiet, I enjoyed the deck overlooking the pond. There's a lot of traffic on 40 just beyond the pond, but it was not a big deal. The price was right, the owner was very friendly. I would stay again, but will likely try some of the other accomodations when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swandive208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Lodge is located on a semi-wooded property containing a large pond suitable for fishing (and birding during migratory seasons). The rooms are cabin-like, not luxurious but clean and comfortable, each with a small patio. This was our first visit, and we chose to stay here because of its nearness to our primary destinations, Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. But we liked the place and would come back just to enjoy the bucolic, laid-back atmosphere and to enjoy the view from the deck behind the main building.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalk Hill
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#2 of 9 in Uniontown
543 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
131 reviews
13.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
22.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chalk Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chalk Hill

Property: The Lodge at Chalk Hill
Address: 2920 National Pike, Box 240, Route 40 East, Chalk Hill, PA 15421
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chalk Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chalk Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Chalk Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Chalk Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chalk Hill Hotel Chalk Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing