We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Marriott Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not Up to Marriott Standards”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Compared to other hotels that are part of the Marriott family, this one was sadly lacking. It was okay, but certainly not as good as other Fairfield Inns I’ve stayed in. We stayed Friday to Sunday and it sounded as if the placed was booked solid for the weekend.

My husband and I made reservations for a king suite, which is supposed to be equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. When we arrived and started unpacking, I realized that I couldn’t find the refrigerator…because it wasn’t in the room! I called the front desk and was told, based on my room number, I should have one. I told the clerk that I couldn’t find it, and she said that the microwave is sitting on top of it. However, there was no microwave either. She found this to be odd and immediately offered to move us to another room…right next to the elevator. Since I found that to be an unsatisfactory idea (our room was at the end of the hall as far from the elevator as you could get), I suggested that she get someone to move the refrigerator from that room to ours. After some negotiation -- we could store our stuff in the hotel kitchen (not too convenient) or we could make do without one and get refunded $10 for the 2 nights we'd be there -- we finally got the refrigerator moved to our room.

We’re Marriott reward members and our profile states that we like feather pillows. This has never been a problem before, and there are always feather pillows on the bed when we arrive. Like the refrigerator, there were no feather pillows in our room, so we had to call (again) and ask for them. When we got back from dinner, they were on the bed.

The complimentary breakfast was good. In addition to the typical muffins, rolls, and cereals, there were make-your-own waffles, French toast, yogurt, and breakfast sandwiches. The only negative was that there was not much room to move around to get the food without bumping into other hotel guests.

We checked out on Sunday, and we weren’t the only ones. There were so many people leaving at the same time (around 9 AM), that we had to wait for the elevator to take a group down before coming back up. As we were waiting, we could hear the elevator stop at the floor below us and someone from housekeeping was vacuuming it out. Now, I realize that the elevator needs to be cleaned as well as any other part of the hotel, but when there’s only one in the building and you know it’s going to be a busy check-out day, you should wait until after check-out time! By the time it arrived to our floor, there was a line of people waiting to use it.

Like I said, this hotel was sufficient for our needs, but not even close to the standards I expected. If I’m ever in Chambersburg again, it’s unlikely that I’ll stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blare246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    61
    39
    18
    16
See reviews for
49
49
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stopped after 7 hours on the road, we were tired.. Needed two rooms and the sweet desk attendant gave us the rooms for $65 each. There was decaf coffee and tea in the lobby which was great to end a long drive. Breakfast was normal.. Nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a typical Fairfield Inn. On the plus side they offered blueberry waffle batter as well as regular waffle batter. Mixed fruit was also quite good. Everything else was the usual for breakfast. Our check-in was a little slow but the fellow apologized a number of times as he was still in training and wanted to be sure he got everything right--totally understandable and we were not in any hurry--he was friendly, helpful and engaging. Our room was fine (a little maintenance needed on the bathroom door but nothing major and we reported this issue before we checked out). Beds as usual very comfortable. TV worked fine. The only bad thing was the heating system fan which was quite loud every time it turned on so it did disrupt sleep to some degree but not overly so--they would do well do quiet that down a bit. But I really cannot complain--overall we got a good night's rest which was the purpose of the hotel stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Traveled to Chambersburg, PA for the weekend with friends. Did not have reservations anywhere. Stopped at several other hotels around, but the Fairfield offered the best rate. Was clean & comfortable. Breakfast area is a little small, but other than that, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Basic, no frills hotel, right along the freeway so easy access, and decent price at $124 for a near capacity Saturday night. Staff was friendly. Main issue was that a large area of the carpet in the main room was very damp, almost like it had been recently cleaned or something "big" had spilled on it then only towel dried. Either way, it was really kind of gross to step on. Made the family keep their flip-flops on just in case, as we couldn't switch rooms. Breakfast was the usual fare for a Fairfield, but sadly quite a few items were out of stock on Sunday morning due to a large - and hungry - group of teens there for a sports tournament.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We travel a lot both for pleasure and work and each hotel chain has it's different levels of luxury and services that you can expect. Some people come here expecting a full service Marriott - or Sheraton. IT ISN'T and you aren't PAYING the price for one either. For what this hotel is designed for I have never had any issues in my three stays. Rooms are clean, everything works and the breakfast is simple with a decent selection and it's FREE as is the internet. 5/31/2012

Room Tip: Don't stay near the pool or breakfast area or elevator if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huye, Rwanda
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel was okay. The customer service was very good. Our room smelled like cigarette smoke, though it is a non-smoking hotel. I would have asked to switch rooms, but we booked the last room available. Beside the smell, the room was clean. The breakfast was alright, but very crowded on Saturday morning. It would be helpful to have more than one waffle iron. We regularly stay at Marriott's, but would probably look for another hotel if we come back through here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Address: 1122 Wayne Ave, I-81 at Exit 14, Chambersburg, PA 17202-2926
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chambersburg Hotel Chambersburg
Fairfield Chambersburg
Chambersburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing