We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby is deceiving, room was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Chambersburg
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I booked this room through travelocity, and it was a great deal. However, when I walked into the lobby, it was shabby and smelled of cigarette smoke so I was prepared to change hotels if the room was the same. However, the room was a standard hotel room, very nice and very clean. The staff was friendly. If you are looking for a good value, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabester77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

I have nothing good to say about this hotel other than the staff was pleasant...at least, the day shift. Unfortunately, the gentleman running the place at night was a real crook!

Here is what happened. My elderly father had gone to PA with me from VA to drop my son off at a Civil Air Patrol survival training camp. While he was there, my dad and I wanted to visit Gettysburg and the battlefield. I didn't make any reservations because I wasn't sure if he would go and I would have just driven back to his house without staying over in a hotel. So, we stopped at several hotels in the area only to find those near Harrisburg full for a Chrysler Convention (good to see that stimulus money put to good use) and those around Gettysburg full due to a Bike Week promotion! By the time we found this hotel, we were ready to give up! It had already been about three hours of driving around and stopping at various hotels.

The good news was they had vacancy. The bad...we could only get a smoking room if we wanted to pay with a credit card...they supposedly had a non-smoking room available only if we would pay CASH! That's right, his quote was, "the room is not in the system, so I would not be able to take credit card"...(read that with an Indian accent). Despite our brief aurgument, we took the smoking room despite my allergies to such.

The beds were so-so in comfort, so didn't get that great of a nights sleep. The shower was OK and, I guess the bathroom was clean enough. After we ate a crappy breakfast consisting of juice, coffee, and muffins and "fresh" fruit, the power cut off and stayed off. With electric razors, we were unable to shave. Do you think these jokers would give us any discount? NOPE.

For slightly over $100 per night, this was nowhere near worth it. Later on my trip back to FL, I stayed in a competitor hotel that was 10x as nice and cost half as much!

Days Inn should immediately pull this operator's license to use the Days Inn brandname!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BravePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Our bed had a yellow pee stain...Needless to say, we will not be staying there again. Maid had put two sheets over top the stain...YUCK! :(

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimlewis2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at Days Inn, Chambersburg. Check-in was quick and courteous. We were pleased with our room, king bed, comfortable lazyboy chair, all very clean.
Continental breakfast was sufficient for us- cereals, bagels, fruits, juices, coffee. Location was close to restaurants and freeway. We DO recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Don't make reservations on the Days Inn website! Call the hotel directly. Website snookered me into a hard contract for a 2nite stay, when all I wanted was a reservation. But the Chambersburg desk clerk fought the central office for me, and fixed the problem. Now, whenever I'm in Franklin or Adams Co. PA, I'll sure stay at Cays Inn Chambersburg. But I'll call them to reserve. I'll never again trust the Days Inn website.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWBuff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Days Inn was not your ideal luxury experience, but it wasn't miserable. Our two double bed room got very hot at night, but the beds were comfortable. The continetal breakfast was a joke, with stale donuts and bagels and in a very minimal seating area, and the 'out side pool' was tiny, but in a comfortable, private area in the back. Our room was cleaned when we returned home in the evening and the staff were friendly. The entire place lacked brightness and cheer, and the decorations were shabby and dull. But the rooms and bath rooms were clean and moldless. Preferable for someone on business, not a family on vacation.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank macsclans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We booked at the Days Inn based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. Admittedly, it received overrated reviews.

Pros: Location--20 to 30 minutes from Gettysburg, IMMEDIATELY off the highway; Service staff was very courteous and made significant efforts to meet our needs (we arrived extremely late and needed a crib).

Cons: Decor. hotel looked old, carpet worn, our room had some (more than to be expected) paint chips and a poorly patched hole in the bathroom door. Breakfast--stale cereal and english muffins; no high chair.

I think the property was under new management, and perhaps they are addressing these problems. If they made some significant efforts to clean up the decor, we might stay there again if just passing through (or if they lowered their rates).

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brofinany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Chambersburg I-81
Super 8 Chambersburg I-81
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
213 reviews
4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#9 of 16 in Chambersburg
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chambersburg

Address: 30 Falling Spring Rd, I-81 & Route 30 Exit 16, Chambersburg, PA 17202-8481
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chambersburg
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chambersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambersburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing