We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Very Place for Lunch”

Molly's Restaurant and Carry Out
Ranked #32 of 172 Restaurants in Chambersburg
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Very Place for Lunch”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is the modernized replacement for a classic "greasy spoon" diner of similar name in downtown Chambersburg. When we sat down, the Food Channel was playing on the TV on the wall. That might have struck some as a bit of hubris, but the quality of cooking was outstanding. I had a delicious gyro (which tasted very much like what I used to get at the small Turkish snack food shops around Heidelberg, Germany); even the French fries were excellent. My wife had a wonderful baked omelette filled with a great deal of crab. Our companions had luncheon salads which they very much enjoyed. The service was very pleasant and the prices very reasonable for the quantity and quality of the food. Definitely a great place for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snidudad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My wife and I took our family guests here for breakfast. I had the baked omelette which was fantastic (I have never had my omelette baked before). I also had red potatoes. My wife had the Belgium waffle with whipped butter and warm syrup, which quickly disappeared. The server was friendly and attentive, refilling coffee quickly. The ambiance evoked an authentic diner complete with counter. The Molly Pitcher is in downtown historic Chambersburg, and we wandered around after breakfast. My three female companions looked at shoes and Vera Bradley purses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
167 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Little Diner”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stopped for lunch here today and what a treat. The place is very pleasent and the food is yummy! The service was great too. I'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEOCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Amish style Waffles and Chicken”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This little downtown gem is worth the effort to get to. The owner actually stayed open late for us when we arrived only 15 minutes prior to closing on a Friday afternoon. The food was good, old fashion Amish style chicken and waffles. This varies from the southern type with is fired chicken and is more like a shredded chicken in gravy over waffles.

Unfortunately, the restaurant seems to be looked past by some locals as the owners are not originally from the area. Most people who frequent the location are tourists who read about it hear or on yelp. I hope this changes as it is truly a local gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wallabyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chicken and Waffles? Heck yeah!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My family isn't originally from this area so we didn't "get" the Chicken and Waffles idea. Tried it and my goodness, why isn't this everywhere?! The portions were generous and the food was tasty. Nice change from the ordinary :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PixieSaurus-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molly's Restaurant and Carry Out also viewed

 

Been to Molly's Restaurant and Carry Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing