We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip to the Chambersburg area to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Ragged Edge
Ranked #1 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this lovingly restored historic mansion. The innkeekers, Fran and Lew, were very friendly and helpful. The bed was oh so comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. I can't say enough good things about our experience there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCHNorthernVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Ragged Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 130 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

The current hosts of the Inn at Ragged Edge are new to the B&B trade but have clearly read up on best practices. From the warm welcome to the wonderful breakfast, Fran and Lew went out of their way to make the stay great. The Inn has been beautifully restored by the new owners, who have also spent the time to learn the history of the huge Furness designed house built for a railroad tycoon. My room, though small, was among the least expensive offered, yet still had a whirlpool bath, flat screen TV and a super comfy bed. I saw one of the larger rooms and it was outstanding. If I'm back in the area, this is where I would stay. Outstanding job and thank you for creating such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My wife and I joined Lew and Fran for one night, and every room was sold out that night, so we saw them at their busiest. They never broke a sweat!

We arrived after dark, so we did not get the full visual impact of the property and its setting. Lew welcomed us and got us settled promptly. Our room had a sitting room with a fireplace, and he offered to start a fire, so we accepted. Our room also had a private bathroom, and I believe that is true of every room on the property. There was also a common room upstairs with snacks and a stocked fridge for our use. This is an old railroad tycoon's property that has been extraordinarily renovated. It was both impressive and comfortable. We slept well.

In the morning, we were greeted downstairs with a fire in the fireplace and a plate of homemade sweet rolls and coffee. Fran admitted she sometimes fixes other morning treats, which is unfortunate, because these rolls were to die for! The breakfast that followed was the hearty kind that the good B&Bs specialize in--very tasty and no one went away hungry. With two full long tables, it took both Fran and Lew to keep things moving, and they were fantastic. Everyone was relaxed and enjoying each others' company as the food continued to flow.

In the light of day, the property and ground were even more impressive. You can walk by a stream down below the home, or you can relx on the edge of the bluff the home sits on and enjoy the view.

If this review doesn't get you excited, it's my fault--not theirs!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSSGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Lew & Fran are the best, they may be new to being Inn Keepers, but they are veterans when it comes to hospitality. They have done an excellent job in restoring the Mansion. Breakfast was delicious, they brought us coffee to our room and ensured any dietary restrictions were accommodated. Some may think its a bit out of the way to Tour Gettysburg, but if you also wanted to avoid the tourist traps and get away from it all then its the perfect location. We wish them all the best and nothing but success in their new endeavor. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband I stayed here for one night and loved it. When I called to inquire about the Inn before making a reservation, I was genuinely impressed by how helpful and accommodating Fran, the innkeeper was on the phone. I felt welcome before we even arrived!
The inn is gorgeous--the rooms are all beautifully decorated and complete with updated looks and amenities. My husband really wanted to catch a college football game the afternoon we arrived, and Fran and Lew made sure our room was perfect for the event! We even had some delicious breads, cheeses, fruit, and refreshments to enjoy during the game.
Breakfast was delicious--exactly what you hope for at a B&B.
All in all, the Inn was perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better night's stay and want to say that Fran and Lew have done an amazing job as hosts!
Stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephaniejpostma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a family reunion. The B&B was suggested to us by family friends in the area. It just reopened under new owners. With a few landscaping spots to be completed on some areas, the house in itself is something that needs to be seen! The NEW owners have done a remarkable job in returning the house to the original design and integrity. The Martins' are accomodating and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As this is the largest B&B we have stayed in, 17,000 sq.ft., it totally lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrowneyedGirlOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
310 reviews
8.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#1 of 6 in Shippensburg
179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17202-8173
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing