We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Ragged Edge
Ranked #1 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A very good B & B in a delightful location. Spotlessly clean and well run. Plenty of good local eating places makes this an ideal stop. Although not in town is still very close to shops and local amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I were rather quite pleasantly surprised by this B&B. Located a short drive from Gettysburg, it is ideally located when visiting this area of Pennsylvania. This is a rather large secluded nicely landscaped property that boasts huge, and tastefully decorated rooms that make your stay all that much more pleasant. The quiet and serene location ensures a restful and comfortable. Lew and Fran are very good hosts making you feel welcomed. Their relaxed and cheerful attitude makes it easy to enjoy their B&B. Highly recommended. You won't be disappointed and more than likely you will want to return.

Rock & Guylaine, ON, Canada

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haurock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a lovely find. Beautiful historic home with 9 rooms, bathrooms are a tad small in some rooms. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The creek/river behind the Inn is soothing and peaceful. Lots of comfortable nooks to grab a book and read or just sit and enjoy the day. This is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in this 3-story turn-of-the-last-century house for 4 days/3 nights and was extremely pleased with my choice. My 3rd-floor room was large and sunny with a huge, comfortable bed. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and I appreciated all of the little extras (bottled water, coffee, snacks). The breakfast was served family-style and it was very nice chatting with the other guests and the hosts while eating the delicious breakfast - - a hot main dish with a side, some sort of sweet bread, and fresh fruit with coffee and juice.
My only complaint, and it isn't a very great one, is that the place is quite noisy, most likely a function of all of the wood floors, stairs, and doors acting as a sort of passive amplifier up the central core of the house. I can sleep thru most things, so wasn't bothered much, but you might want to ask for a quiet room (away from the stairway) if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: My room at the top of the 3rd floor stairway across from the laundry was pretty noisy. You might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The building is absolutely gorgeous and the innkeepers are super nice people. Our room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was surprising large. Breakfast both days was delicious and plentiful. Fran and Lew were very helpful in giving directions and pointing out places of interest. We rode out motorcycle to the inn and there are many great back roads in the area with nice twisties and hill. We enjoyed out stay and would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here when visiting Gettysburg. Our sightseeing in Gettysburg was wonderful but we would go back to the area just to stay at this beautiful inn. The building was stunning, inside and out. The grounds were lovely with a nature trail and a stream. The owner was also very hospitable and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katelin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were in Chambersburg brcause our granddaughter was running in a track meet at Shippensburg colledge. We were very impressed with the Inn at Ragged Edge. The host and hostess Fran And Lou were so warm and welcoming . They were so knowledge about the history of the Inn, also in each room there was a history of the home and it's original owners. We stayed in the Kennedy room, It was cozy and warm. The view from our window was of the side yard and garden. It was early spring so the garden was just starting to bloom..
We were served a four course breakfast in the morning. So much better than the powdered eggs and frozen cinnamon rolls you got at some of the hotels. I would definitely recommend the Inn to anyone who is looking to stay in or near Chambersburg.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gram11fer210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Chambersburg, PA
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
Hampton Inn Chambersburg
#1 of 16 in Chambersburg
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#9 of 16 in Chambersburg
317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17202-8173
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing