We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Serendipitous Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Ragged Edge
Ranked #1 of 4 Chambersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Serendipitous Find”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Inn at Ragged Edge on a winding road outside of Chambersburg, PA, was a serendipitous find. An estate built for a railroad magnate in 1900, the stuccoed house of many rooms sits on beautiful acreage featuring perennial gardens, a stream, a nature trail, and comfy outdoor seating areas. Owners Lew and Fran Martin have rehabbed the once-deteriorating home into a beautiful inn, creating nine unique rooms for guests.

In addition to the hearty breakfast served by Lew (we did not see Fran on our visit), a common room on the second floor provides a fridge, microwave, Keurig, cold drinks, and snacks for guests, plus comfy furniture and a TV for those who need a little extra space. The front porch is also an excellent place to relax and enjoy the breezes.

Our room, the Garden View, was spacious and featured a couch, table (with a fresh bouquet!) and two chairs, kitchenette, king bed, and sizable bathroom with steam shower. Each room has its own special touches; read the descriptions to figure what works best for you.

The wifi connection at the house was very, very slow, which might be considered a negative -- but it just reminded us (once again) how overly dependent we are on our devices. Better to enjoy the exquisite surroundings while we could!

We have been at many, many B&B’s over the years, and this is definitely in the “special” category. Chambersburg itself doesn’t cry out as a destination to me, but I’m glad we didn’t let that deter us from checking out the Inn at Ragged Edge. Such a marvelous surprise! For us, it was a stopping point along our ride home via I-81, but the inn is quite convenient to Gettysburg and provides a lovely retreat from the sightseeing crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
87
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A very good B & B in a delightful location. Spotlessly clean and well run. Plenty of good local eating places makes this an ideal stop. Although not in town is still very close to shops and local amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I were rather quite pleasantly surprised by this B&B. Located a short drive from Gettysburg, it is ideally located when visiting this area of Pennsylvania. This is a rather large secluded nicely landscaped property that boasts huge, and tastefully decorated rooms that make your stay all that much more pleasant. The quiet and serene location ensures a restful and comfortable. Lew and Fran are very good hosts making you feel welcomed. Their relaxed and cheerful attitude makes it easy to enjoy their B&B. Highly recommended. You won't be disappointed and more than likely you will want to return.

Rock & Guylaine, ON, Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haurock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a lovely find. Beautiful historic home with 9 rooms, bathrooms are a tad small in some rooms. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The creek/river behind the Inn is soothing and peaceful. Lots of comfortable nooks to grab a book and read or just sit and enjoy the day. This is a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in this 3-story turn-of-the-last-century house for 4 days/3 nights and was extremely pleased with my choice. My 3rd-floor room was large and sunny with a huge, comfortable bed. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and I appreciated all of the little extras (bottled water, coffee, snacks). The breakfast was served family-style and it was very nice chatting with the other guests and the hosts while eating the delicious breakfast - - a hot main dish with a side, some sort of sweet bread, and fresh fruit with coffee and juice.
My only complaint, and it isn't a very great one, is that the place is quite noisy, most likely a function of all of the wood floors, stairs, and doors acting as a sort of passive amplifier up the central core of the house. I can sleep thru most things, so wasn't bothered much, but you might want to ask for a quiet room (away from the stairway) if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: My room at the top of the 3rd floor stairway across from the laundry was pretty noisy. You might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The building is absolutely gorgeous and the innkeepers are super nice people. Our room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was surprising large. Breakfast both days was delicious and plentiful. Fran and Lew were very helpful in giving directions and pointing out places of interest. We rode out motorcycle to the inn and there are many great back roads in the area with nice twisties and hill. We enjoyed out stay and would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here when visiting Gettysburg. Our sightseeing in Gettysburg was wonderful but we would go back to the area just to stay at this beautiful inn. The building was stunning, inside and out. The grounds were lovely with a nature trail and a stream. The owner was also very hospitable and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambersburg
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
139 reviews
8.7 mi away
Shippen Place Hotel
Shippen Place Hotel
#1 of 6 in Shippensburg
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ragged Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ragged Edge

Property: The Inn at Ragged Edge
Address: 1090 Ragged Edge Rd, Chambersburg, PA 17202-8173
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ragged Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin to feel relaxed and welcomed as you step into this magnificent historic mansion near the town of Chambersburg, located in South Central Pennsylvania. The Inn at Ragged Edge is only 20 miles from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. This house is truly amazing with its beautiful chestnut wood stairway adorned with hand carved designs. The dining room is stunning with its beautiful mahogany walls where a full course breakfast is served each morning. The Inn offers 9 spacious guest rooms all with private baths, king & queen size beds, flat panel TVs w/ DVD, air conditioning, and soft terry robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ragged Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ragged Edge Hotel Chambersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing