We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June visit 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“June visit 2014”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visit Chambersburg a few times annually for family visits and softball tournaments. Country Inn and Suites is typically our #1 hotel in the Chambersburg area, and we've stayed here at least once every year since this property opened. This hotel is conveniently located off of I-81 on the southbound side between 2 separate interstate exits, one of which is Rt. 30. It is surrounded by a retail developments containing different stores, restaurants, and convenience stores. However, the hotel itself is far enough away from the interstate and the retail developments to maintain an isolated buffer zone from traffic and noise. It is also adjacent to an entertainment complex featuring batting cages, video games, mini-golf, and go-karts. It's an above average hotel, and pretty well maintained. It does get high usage during the summer months due to softball tournaments and the nearby Gettysburg Civil War battlefield. Typical rooms for the most part, with your typical continental breakfast and indoor pool, but for us the number one factor is that it is quiet and clean. Honestly, the only negative aspect of Chambersburg Country Inn and Suites is that as the years have gone by the quality of their free cookies has diminished greatly - especially the chocolate chips - and that is very disappointing. But I can live with it.

Room Tip: We prefer the upper rooms facing away from the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 150thBucktailPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the review! We are glad you choose us when you visit Chambersburg, and we enjoy having all teams stay with us. Cluggy's next door is a great place to unwind after the games are complete, and of course or indoor pool is a big hit. We apologize about the cookies during your stay with us. We go though so many of them, we occasionally have to order a different brand due to the Otis Spunkmeyer being out of stock. We look forward to seeing you again, and I will certainly share your comments with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    115
    42
    19
    19
See reviews for
216
90
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have the opportunity to use the Country Inns and Suites (Chambersburg) every year while taking a Track Team to the State Meet at Shippensburg University and the visit is always friendly & comfortable for us. The front desk staff is very cooperative and is always trying to meet any and all of our demands. The rooms are quite large and comfortable. The rooms have a coffee maker, microwave and a refrigerator which is very handy during this stay. The free breakfast is very nice and the staff that works this room are always very helpful. Check out is very easy. My only negative is that there is no wide open outdoor porch or patio to go to which would be great after a day of coaching track. There is easy access to the highway and a very large parking lot. Finally, there is a convenient shopping center nearby which adds options to the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our property. We are glad you had a great visit and I will certainly share your feedback with the team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites during a weekend outing at Caledonia State Park. The only negative thing I could say about the place is that the 3rd floor hallway smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. Luckily, the smell did not enter our room. The room was clean and spacious with a mini-fridge and microwave. The hot breakfast in the mornings was delicious, and the people who worked there were all very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nymph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us, and we hope to convert our hotel to 100% nonsmoking in the near future. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast, and hopefully you had some of our waffles! Please be sure to contact the hotel directly to make your reservation in the future and we can ensure you are on a nonsmoking floor.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chambersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this hotel en route through the area because I had Carlson points. Despite the great rate, the inn was wonderful. I had a personalized letter in my room; how welcoming was that? The room was so spacious, great amenities and breakfast with real plates, silverware and coffee cups. Super night sleep. Thought I was in my own bed.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NannyMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our breakfast buffet on fine dining wear are one of our best amenities and we are glad you enjoyed them. I will certainly share your feedback with our team and we are glad you had a great stay! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chambersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When you enter the hotel, the first thing that catches your eye is the fireplace surrounded by comfy chairs and sofa. There's fresh cookies at the counter and coffee is always available (the staff is willing to make a fresh pot if necessary). The staff has friendly smiles and seem genuinely glad to see you.
The rooms are clean and quiet, the beds are comfortable - isn't that the most important thing? In the morning you may be wakened by the smell of bacon....much better than an alarm clock!
Not a large hotel, not an ultra fancy hotel but a very nice place to stay that I heartily recommend that is certainly well worth the modest price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broccoli7643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! Our cookies are a big hit with everyone (myself included!). We are glad we gave you a great home away from home and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel great that pets can stay, room right by doggie relief area, good breakfast..pleased overall room bed excellent nice brand soaps. Again always nice to find dog friendly clean place, I would recommend and stay again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margienina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are glad you had a great experience here and that everything was excellent. Although we only have a few pet friendly rooms, we love to meet all the wonderful pet companions that come and stay with us. We try to make sure they have a great stay too! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chambersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

You would think that if you had a block of rooms for a children's event, you would mention that your pool has been closed for over a month!! Very upset! As you can guess, no refunds, no comps! It is nicely situated by stores, restruants and the highway but so are several other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandHlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseRockwell, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our pool and spa are currently undergoing repairs and we apologize for the inconvenience. We have notified numerous websites as well as our own countryinns.com website so that guests are aware. In addition, our Guest Services team is working diligently to ensure that all callers to the hotel are made aware when booking when phoning the hotel directly.

I am very sorry that you were not advised of the situation prior to booking and we will certainly investigate as to why you were not made aware. If you would like to discuss this matter personally it would be my pleasure to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chambersburg hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chambersburg
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Chambersburg
Best Western Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg
#8 of 16 in Chambersburg
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Address: 399 Beddington Blvd, Chambersburg, PA 17201-8124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chambersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Chambersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Chambersburg
Country Inn & Suites Chambersburg Hotel Chambersburg
Country Inn Chambersburg
Chambersburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing