We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Springs Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Champion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Good: Excellent breakfast buffet and waitress service. Outdoor/indoor pool. The alpine slide, the zip line, (the people who worked at the activities were super nice), and the scenery.

The Bad: the rib fest (boring), the room (old /mold smell & feel), the shops (what shops? maybe 3 which had limited, and overpriced mediocre merchandise

The Ugly: the prices! (this isn't Vegas), the cost for the room, drinks, activities was price gouging, the staff at the reservation & concierge desks were at times very rude, the hotel and many surrounding buildings seemed old and without maintenance. Needs to be clean and attractive. (think brooms and flowers), the tubing (extremely slow - not worth $10. ea)

This was a reunion so the kids had a good time. The resort was centrally located for our family, but most of the adults were not impressed. I'm thinking new management and customer service skills are needed.

Room Tip: Do not get a 4th floor room. Heavily traveled hallways - this is the link to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mamarob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    206
    119
    61
    46
See reviews for
244
122
5
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

OK so we did not do the resort bu the resorts is where the Laurel Ridge Canopy Tours are located. We did 10 zip lines, two of which were 1400 & 1500 feet long, crossed two bridges and did one repel. Led by Conner & Coralie it was an awesome 4 hours & an unforgettable adventure. I do not know much about the resort but if you want to do zip line then Seven Springs is your location

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveller540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7SpringsMtnResort, Public Relations Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so much! I will be sure to tell Connor and Coralie how much you enjoyed your tour and their guide services. Please come back soon to experience some of our other activities. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just came back from a weekend getaway to 7 springs and was disappointed in many aspects. Part of the resort is updated while other parts are not. The mismatching carpet everywhere was a bit strange although a minute detail. The first day it was very cool and rained. It was very frustrating as there is not much to do in the rain as everything indoors was so congested with people. The second day the weather did clear up and we invested in the all day wrist band which was a horrible idea. First off, the band is $33 which is outrageous and we didn't get our bands until 2 in the afternoon because it was raining the majority of the morning. We were told when we bought our bands that the activities lasted until 6pm ... not so much half of the stuff closed at 5! The best activity was the Alpine slide however, if you get stuck behind a small child who is too scared it is a terrible experience. If we had bought tickets for $8.50 per ride and not had the wristbands I would have been asking for my money back. It clearly says on the board at the top of the mountain that guests who stop will be asked to leave the slide yeah that didn't happen we had a huge back log of angry people who just wasted a half an hour wanting to ride. They should definitely consider keeping one lane for small children/scared people as it is not fair to the patrons who want to go fast and actually get use out of their money and time /have fun. We did eat at the restaurants and they were just ok, and way over priced (everything there is). ON the good side however the rooms were clean, they use bath and body works soaps, have keurig's in the rooms with k cups and the beds were very comfortable. We were on the 5th floor in the newer area and did not have any problems. I would not recommend a room in the older building on the 4th floor however as this is where a lot of foot traffic goes to get to the food and entertainment and the floors are creaky there. It was a mixed review I believe in the winter time it would be much more accommodating and enjoyable, just not enough activities and open areas in the summer. Also we could not understand why everything closed at "6pm" when the sun doesn't go down until after 8, especially when you spend that much money! One last note the elevators were chaos, we opted to take the stairs with an elderly lady, a young child, and a pregnant woman on multiple occasions because the elevators were slow, full, and scary. My husband was locked in one of them for 10 minutes before the door opened, and when we arrived we selected floor 5 but the elevator went to floor 6 then back down to 4 before it went to our floor ?!? and then when we got out it almost closed on our luggage cart and a 3 year old!

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Becky626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I recently attended a wedding reception at Seven Springs and the entire experience was quite disappointing. The room that we occupied for the 3-day, 2-night stay was located on the 10th floor and we were without appropriate air conditioning. The service personnel were unable to repair the unit and we had to rely on a fan that was offered as the solution. Many people on the 10th floor were faced with a similar experience. In addition we encountered rude employees associated with the restuarant and lower bar. I attempted to report the rude employees to the manager but he/she was not available for a face to face meeting. There was no attempt by any staff member to address, answer or record my concerns. As father of the groom, I realized that even with our $25000 expenditure, I had no recourse or means to express my dismay. The wedding reception was fine and everyone enjoyed that component of the weekend but the overall experience was less than expected. As the saying goes--- buyer beware.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Champion hotels

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Overall bad experience. Check in was bad!!!! No one to help with the luggage. Check in took about an hour.

First 2 rooms they tried to put us into smelled like dog, had no air conditioning, and very little lighting. After the second bad room, I got a better one, but they made me pay a higher rate. My advice is to stay in the tower, not in any of the lower rooms. These floors are "pet friendly" rooms. Front desk knows how to make money, show unlivable quarters and up charge for a room with air conditioning, and clean bathroom.

This resort is dated. All of the charm at this resort is fading fast. 20 years ago this was a great resort, now its overpriced and in need of a serious overhaul. You may want to skip this excursion if your on the fence.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank troyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I attended a conference at Seven Springs, and my family was able to join me for the 4-day, 3-night stay. We were all very pleased with the room, dining options, free activities, and service. Our two young children had a great time and were never bored. There is a nice variety of activities for all ages. The Slopeside breakfast buffet was absolutely wonderful! I am a very critical person when it comes to the cleanliness of a hotel, but Seven Springs met my high expectations. The conference facilities were very nice, and our meeting rooms were comfortable (with a great selection of snacks and a wonderful lunch).

Room Tip: As a family of 4, we enjoyed the privacy of two bedrooms with a bathroom in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vespersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The main lodge room was ok as it had some kind of a smell. We did not had wifi access in the room. Inspite of repeated requests it was never fixed. Front desk staff was rude.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hbgpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champion
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
18.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Latrobe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Springs Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Springs Mountain Resort

Property: Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Address: 777 Waterwheel Drive, Champion, PA 15622
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Champion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Springs Mountain Resort is the perfect place for family vacations that create lifelong memories. Each year the family-friendly resort hosts more than one million overnight and day guests who enjoy a vacation that includes the finest skiing, snowboarding and golf that Pennsylvania has to offer, the exhilaration of the new Laurel Ridgeline Canopy Tours, sporting clays and the ultimate in relaxation at the luxurious Trillium Spa.Seven Springs is conveniently located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, located within 200 miles of Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Cleveland and Columbus.With more than 60,000 square feet of meeting space available, Seven Springs hosts more than 1,000 meetings, conferences and banquet groups each year. Seven Springs Mountain Resort can accommodate more than 5,000 overnight guests in its perfectly appointed 414-room, 10-story high-rise hotel, nearly 1,200 condominiums and town homes, 11 cottages and 15 chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
7 Springs Mountain Resort
Seven Springs Pa
Seven Springs Resort Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Hotel Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Champion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing