We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, expensive, apathetic staff, weird layout”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Champion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall, I wasn't impressed with our stay at Seven Springs Mountain Resort. The room was nice enough, but the staff was not overly accommodating, the food didn't wow us, and the layout of the resort is very odd. It's convenient to activities, but I'm not sure that's worth the high prices (on both rooms and food).

Issues started immediately upon check-in. The computers were down, so they had to do it by hand & only gave us one room key. Instead of having someone bring it up to us, they asked us to stop back. Also, we were given a piece of paper to allow charges to the room (rather than doing it with the key; I'm still not sure if this is because the computers were down or not). The woman that checked us in seemed very apathetic and was not overly friendly. We asked about trails, & she said there was a map available but didn't offer it. When we asked for it later, she gave it & noted there are nice trails, but gave no info as to which & offered to give recommendations if we stop back later. Why would she not tell us then (there was no one else waiting for help; they did not appear busy). This lack-of-helpfulness was a theme throughout our three days at the resort.

The resort is laid out very strangely; you have to walk through room corridors to get from one area to another (do NOT accept a room on the 4th floor; this is a HIGH traffic area). Also, the signage (to show you where to go) is very poor, and finding your way around is not easy if you've never been here before. It seems that parts of the resort was built at different times (hence, the strange layout where nothing is connected in a normal manner). You have to go up and down stairs in different areas as there is no hallway on the lower level that connects areas. Also, both the spa and the fine dining restaurant are not connected to the main lodge. It seems quite odd that you have to go outside to get to these, which is not very nice if the weather isn't perfect (who wants to walk through the rain or snow to get to these?).

There were other things that bothered us and seemed odd. During a storm, they closed the INDOOR pool because of lightning. I'm not sure why the indoor pool had to close, but it did. Also, there is a souvenir shop that sells beer, however, they closed around dinner on each day we were there. I'm not sure what the point is as I think they would sell more at night (not just beer, but souvenirs) when the activities are not operating. Finally, the fitness room SUCKS! They have four crappy treadmills (land ice brand, which I've never even heard of before), with one out of order. There are also two elliptical machines, and again, one was out of order. There is one bike, and... (you guessed it) it was out of order.

One of the biggest annoyances was that there are fees for everything. They have hot tubs, but there is a $10 per person fee for a half hour. Seriously? Why would they charge for hot tubs? They also charge for every little thing; riding the lift to the top of the mountain is $8 per person. Almost $20 for a couple to get to the top of the mountain seems outrageous. There are fees for the alpine slide, boat rental, etc. You can buy an activity bracelet, but it's not cheap and hardly seems worth it if you're doing other activities, especially when you've paid so much for the room already.

We had numerous meals while staying there, and nothing was overly impressive First of all, the mid-level restaurant (Timbers) was never open in the entire time we were there. We saw staff in there, but they were just standing around or watching TV. The restaurant wasn't open.

Our first meal was at the Bavarian Lounge. The prices were reasonable, & the service was quick. The fries were good, but the alpine chicken sandwich had an odd marinade (I couldn't finish it). Most importantly, the decor is VERY dated; it seems like it would fit in the 70s with chairs on rollers. The AC unit on roof dripped into the seating area. Strangely, the same beer appeared on our bill with two different prices (for the first vs the second) with no explanation.

The next day, we had lunch at Slopeside, The view is great, but again, we weren't wowed. The Po Boy was good, but the buffalo chicken wrap was just okay. A bottle of Sam Adams was $6.25, which seems pricey for a bottle. The service was just okay, despite them being not busy at all. Also, they have a different beer selection than the Bavarian Lounge (right across the hall), but they got our drinks from the bar there. That just seems odd (like many other things at this resort).

We spent an entire afternoon walking the trails at Seven Springs. These are nice, but none of the trails are well-marked. The signs, instead of being at the junction point, are somewhat down the path & sometimes obscured (some are laying on the ground and you don't see them until you're walking down that trail). This makes it rather difficult to discern the proper path, even if you are good with maps. The hike up the mountain is a decent climb (not unexpectedly). Lake Chestnut is a small, scenic lake back in the woods. This trail was much better marked than some of the others. Fernmoss ‎Trail was better marked as well. The Mountaintop 5K is not well marked at all! Also, do not plan on running this unless you are an experienced trail runner. By the name, we thought it would be much better marked & level. That is not the case at all. So while some of the trails are very nice, the trouble trying to navigate them and find your way is frustrating.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. However, for the price, I'm not sure that we'd go back. Comparing this resort to others such as Snowshoe (in WV), Seven Springs comes up woefully short. At Snowshoe, there is an entire Village with a great layout atop the mountain there. Their rooms/condos are far nicer with comparable prices. The food is so much better there, and the staff is friendly. We loved the Laurel Ridgeline Canopy Tour at Seven Springs (which is far better than the one small zipline they have at Snowshoe), but other than that, Snowshoe blows Seven Springs out of the water in every category.

Room Tip: The fourth floor corridors connect different areas of the hotel, so these are very high traffic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,

I'm very sorry for the inconvenience for the computers being down upon your arrival. The "piece of paper" does act as a secure ID card for all guests to utilize throughout our Resort. Due to the demand of the Resort over the years, another building was added, while still connecting to the other building that already existed. This offered convenience so that no guests needed to go outside to be at the Main areas of the Hotel and Lodge. Complimentary shuttle service is available at our Resort 24 hours a day, every day, which can take you to our Spa, Helen's fine dining restaurant, Golf and Sporting Clays. These activiities have been built in such a way to capture the true beauty of our 5,000 acre property, while still offering the convenience of being on the Resort. To touch on our safety procedures, it is unsafe to have guests swimming in a pool during a bad storm. We always make sure the safety of our guests come first. Our Hot Tubs are completely private, so there is a small fee. This also goes back to monitoring the safety of our guests, so that children are not in and out of the Hot Tubs and guests are not in them for an extensive period of time.

Should you have any additional comments, or questions, please feel free to contact me directly to discuss in further detail.

Very sincerely,
Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext. 7575
kgray@7springs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would actually give this place a 3.5 because they're a little better than average, but not enough to justify the price. We stayed here for a wedding during the summer, and since we were mostly just looking for a place to lay our heads after the reception, I reserved the least expensive room, which with taxes and fees was $200 for the night. This was with a wedding discount, so I can't imagine what the regular price must be. I will say that the hotel has been freshened up since the last time I stayed there at a conference about 10 years ago, at which time it was downright dingy. The rooms are definitely improved and many nice additions and changes have been made to the resort activities that are available. They certainly do not lack for things to do around there, but the rooms are just nice. While the decor has been updated, the plumbing has not. It's loud, but shockingly little water comes from the shower heads for all that noise. And if someone in a room anywhere around yours is taking a shower, you will know it. Additionally, the rooms still have older thermostats so it's hard to tell what temperature it is set at. We dealt with AC a bit on the cold side because we didn't want to fuss with it for just one night. The restaurants on-site serve decent food, but, again, it's rather pricey for what you get, and there are precious few options in the area. You can get rooms with a small refrigerator (for an extra fee), but that's about it in terms of being able to make a few meals for yourself. Your better option for staying here for an extended time might be to rent one of the resort condos or cabins, so you can create your own dining options. The staff there is very friendly and helpful, for the most part. Most rooms do have a balcony with a nice view, and the composite furniture is a good choice for weathering the weather, but not much charm beyond the view.

Room Tip: Possibly if you can get a room on one of then ends and on the top floor, you'll have less plumbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank CatyD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our niece reserved a block of rooms @ Seven Springs; that's the only reason we stayed there.
Being childless, by choice, we prefer couples, only resorts.

We had never been to this resort & would have appreciated some sort of orientation, when we checked in. The front desk did not familiarize us with the lay-out of the property & all the things to do.

When we arrived, on Friday, we had a late lunch/early dinner on the outdoor deck of the Bavarian Lodge. I had a burger & my hubby had a wrap. The food was good & the service was okay. Our server (Megan) seemed apathetic; much like the person who checked us in.

There are LOTS of activities on the premises, but, they ALL cost money. Bowling (2 games & shoes) cost us $33. The chair lift up the mountain to the lake cost us $16. etc., etc., etc.

Saturday morning, we had the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet, for $16.95 per person, in the Slopeside restaurant. There were VERY basic & limited choices; only one person making omelets with a l-o-n-g waiting line. The food was NOT good & It was definitely NOT worth the money.

The room seemed clean enuf except for the spider in the tub! The bed was comfy & there were plenty of (scratchy) towels. Our one MAJOR complaint was noises in the night. If someone flushed the toilet - we heard it. If someone ran the water in the sink - we heard it. If someone took a shower - we heard it. Consequently, we didn't sleep well, at all. And, for that reason alone, we would NOT return.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mtaylorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We actually stayed in a condo unit on top of the mountain, but booked through the resort with check in and out at the hotel. We checked in on Christmas day 2013 for 3 days; the reservation came with 8, 3 day ski passes also which more than covered the cost of the condo.
Check in went smoothly and were in our condo within minutes. The condo was more than nice - plenty of room for our 2 families staying there. Clean and no issues at all. It was not a ski in/out but just a short drive up to the next condo area that had it. Next time we will book a ski in/out. I don't ski, but my 3 kids and husband do. So I was base inside the foggy goggle for them to come in and have a seat to get a drink or something to eat.
There is always something to do here. Our second night we spent with the girls at the indoor pool. We have booked the hot tubs on previous trips and that is always fun. Indoor bowling, mini golf, arcade, roller skating and of couse the snow tubing!!! That is my kind of fun!!
We will be booking a trip again this Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siwula5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

We look forward to seeing you again, this holiday season. Please feel free to contact me directly to make your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext. 7575
kgray@7springs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Average rooms that have recently been updated. No refrigerators or microwaves or safes. Food choices are limited and pretty much no late night service in any of the restaurants. Very frustrating if you arrive late in the evening and are looking for something to eat. The vending machines are about all you can find. Everything is quite expensive. Supposed to be a 5 star resort but lacks in some of the basics that make it a 5 star. (customer service, restaurant time openings, amenities in the room are just a few examples)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AngeBisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Director of Restaurants at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,

The Pizza shop and the Bavarian are open until 11pm Sunday-Thursday. The pizza shop is open Friday/Saturday until 2am. Being a manager who works late nights through the week, the request for food beyond 11pm is very rare. However, we did extend our hours of operation for food based on customer feeback. Approximately 18 months ago, the Bavarian closed at 10pm for food.

Regards,

Traci

Traci Mannino
Director of Restaurants
Seven Springs & Hidden Valley Resorts
814-352-7777 ext. 7402
tmannino@7springs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was at the Seven springs resort 20 years ago and was not impressed. Cold and damp with very uncomfortable beds and few choices for meals. We went to a convention there last week and all we can say is "wow, what a change!" Very comfortable, updated everything in rooms plus loads of things to do for the entire family. The grounds looks beautiful, the employees could not have been more professional, and just the smell of the gingerbread baking in the bakery won us over. A variety of restaurants to choose from with reasonable prices and delicious food. Understand that new owners have taken over and "poured" money into the resort. It shows and we would not hesitate to go back. Spa was somewhat pricy but run very efficiently and services were well done by a professional staff. You name it, they have it.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pudge2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Seven Springs Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,

After 20 years, we are so happy to have you back! There have been many updates to the Resort and we will certainly continue improving and growing. Next time, don't wait so long for a visit :-) Feel free to contact me directly to set up any future reservations.

Warmest regards,
Karen

Karen Gray-Knieriem
Hotel Front Office Manager
Seven Springs Mountain Resort
814-352-7777 ext. 7575
kgray@7springs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First of all, the staff were the most accommodating we have had in a long time. We were given a "family Room", 2 beds in 2 small rooms, 1 chair. I had requested a king. Made do with the strange arrangements. Since we are not of an age to zip line or alpine shoot did not make use of all the activities, The banquet meals ranged from very good to not very good. Did expect more from a facility of this size used to handling 400-800 people. Service was very good at the final banquet, but the food was not. Finally realized this is primarily a ski resort for families.

Room Tip: If you are given a "slope side" room, request the other side (mountain). There is a HUGE p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champion
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
10.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
48 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Pleasant-E Huntingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#6 of 13 in Somerset
163 reviews
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 13 in Somerset
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Springs Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Springs Mountain Resort

Address: 777 Water Wheel Dr, Champion, PA 15622-4007
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Champion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Champion
Price Range: £104 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Springs Mountain Resort is the perfect place for family vacations that create lifelong memories. Each year the family-friendly resort hosts more than one million overnight and day guests who enjoy a vacation that includes the finest skiing, snowboarding and golf that Pennsylvania has to offer, the exhilaration of the new Laurel Ridgeline Canopy Tours, sporting clays and the ultimate in relaxation at the luxurious Trillium Spa.Seven Springs is conveniently located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, located within 200 miles of Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Cleveland and Columbus.With more than 60,000 square feet of meeting space available, Seven Springs hosts more than 1,000 meetings, conferences and banquet groups each year. Seven Springs Mountain Resort can accommodate more than 5,000 overnight guests in its perfectly appointed 414-room, 10-story high-rise hotel, nearly 1,200 condominiums and town homes, 11 cottages and 15 chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
7 Springs Mountain Resort
Seven Springs Pa
Seven Springs Resort Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Champion
Seven Springs Mountain Hotel Champion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing