We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Has potential”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

New/opening pains/issues. Has potential. but the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing yet. Towels were scratchy. Night desk people did not know there is a charge for park and fly, and that I needed a paper for in the car. Morning checkout people did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rev_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    120
    79
    38
    41
See reviews for
131
83
38
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel could be so much better with some minor changes. The hotel appears to be almost brand new. The room itself was very large with high ceilings and was reasonably clean. The HVAC unit seemed to cycle the heat on and off whenever it wanted, and I wondered if the thermostat on the wall was even connected to the unit. The bed was too hard and the pillows were too soft. I found myself waking up during the night either freezing or sweating. Room had a minifridge but no microwave, unusual for Best Westerns. The walk-in shower was large, but water pressure was horrible. Towels were skimpy, the room was only provided with two bath towels, one hand towel, and no washcloths. Wifi signal was decent and relatively fast. TV was a flat screen but looked way older than the hotel, but the remote didn't work so I didn't bother turning it on. Breakfast was disappointing, the only hot options were waffles and microwave sausage sandwiches. Almost all Best Western Pluses offer hot eggs and meat. Parking is scarce, since they share their lot with an apartment building, a bank, and a convenience store. As for the other commenters complaining about the neighborhood, it is definitely run down, but I didn't feel unsafe. The hotel has lots of potential, if management would pay much better attention to the details.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBart3975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa Park, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Hotel was pretty good as far as check-in/out process and cleanliness. It was excellent in terms of hotel staff attitude. I felt that the breakfast could have had more options that are considered "hot." Also, the internet should have been much faster.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Excellent All Round Experience!! Hotel was a VERY pleasant switch from another chain in the area. Staff was delightful, especially Jerry. Thank you again for making a great experience even better. 'We'll be back' :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfloldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel gets a lot of mixed reviews, so I wanted to chime in. What it is not: a luxury hotel. What I found it to be: clean, safe, convenient and inexpensive. It is literally across the street from Widener University (which is why I used it for three nights) but apparently also used when one has an intended or unintended lay-over at the nearby Philadelphia Int. Airport. There were a few minor glitches (no shampoo, no ice bucket and a coffee maker and coffee but not pot) that were cheerfully fixed. Free adequate breakfast. Small exercise area; no pool. I was there for the recent "artic vortex" and with outside temperatures around 4 degrees most of the room was plenty warm. I saw "most" because the heater is in the outside wall and with the sleeping area comfortable the bathroom, which is at the opposite end of the room, it a bit cooler. Nowhere to walk for dinner, except an adjacent 7-11, but there are plenty of restaurants on McDade Blvd with a 3-mile drive. I didn't smell smoke or experience anything other than friendly staff. Bottom line: economical, clean, safe hotel for Widener or PHL that is not and does not pretend to be a luxury stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australopithecus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

When I was stranded overnight last weekend at the Philadelphia Airport due to cancelled flights and weather conditions, the Chester Best Western PLUS was an unexpected excellent solution. I stayed there overnight and was very pleased with the shuttle service, friendly and helpful staff and very good accommodations. Breakfast was convenient and delicious the next morning. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure visits to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Avoid avoid avoid.

The cleaning staff skipped my room. The front desk clerk refuses to change sheets and clean the room. The head of maintenance refuses to come in and take care of it. And the front desk clerk refuses to disturb her manager at home to figure out how to solve this. I've been told I can clean my own room ~ really?

Rude uncaring staff. Hotel is located in questionable area with a lot of smokers hanging around outside and next door at the Seven 11. VERY bad neighborhood only a block away and the parking lot is surrounded by abandoned? boarded up buildings.

Sixpack of beer bottles in the stairway. No hairdryer, then given broken hairdryer, then trailed the housekeeper from room to room until she finally found a working one.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantatraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
3.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Airport/Ridley Park
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Swarthmore
The Inn at Swarthmore
#1 of 1 in Swarthmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University

Property: Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Address: 1450 Providence Avenue, Chester, PA 19013-5715 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University is the perfect hotel for your visit to Philadelphia and its suburbs. The hotel is located just minutes from Philadelphia International Airport, providing 24-hour Airport shuttle service. We are also located across from the campus of Widener University, and just minutes from Swarthmore College. Only 1 mile from Harrah's Casino and the closest hotel to PPL Park (Home of Major League Soccer's Philadelphia Union). The hotel provides complimentary 24-hour shuttle service, continental breakfast, free parking, free high speed wireless and wired internet access, daily newspapers and much more. Also featuring fitness and business centers. Stay at the newest, greenest, and most friendly Best Western hotel in the Philadelphia area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia Airport South At Widener University Hotel Chester
Best Western Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing