We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, very professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chester
1 review
“Excellent room, very professional staff”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

All of staff (front desk, shuttle van operators, breakfast room attendant) were very professional, attentive, knowledgeable, cheerful and helpful. Had to go to Philly for business during Memorial Day weekend. First time at this hotel. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Free 24-hr shuttle van service to casino was an excellent pleasant surprise. Wife and kids accompanied me overnight and they enjoyed staying in the suite room with whirlpool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank I3979TZjoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review. It was so nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying at our hotel during your business trip. It was so great to know that all our staffs continue to bring good and professional service to our valued guest like you. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for your business, your comments will be shared to our staff. You have a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    129
    85
    41
    41
See reviews for
140
91
39
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is poorly located with very bad signage (had to search for the lobby entrance!) It has limited parking that is shared with a 7-11, with the 7-11 having the most convenient spaces. We experienced a lot of late night/early morning noise due to our room facing this 7-11. Although the hotel has no control over this problem, it just underscored how inappropriate the location is for a hotel. The upside of our stay at this Best Western was its staff who were all wonderful people. The courtesy van could use some updating as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our property. We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. Thank you for giving us the insight into how we can better serve our guests in the future. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was concerned when I read some of the other reviews, but things worked out OK. Notes:
Only certain rooms have tubs (and they are whirlpool tubs), the rest only have showers.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Really appreciated the shuttle driver (we were there for a graduation at Widener).
Elevator was VERY slow.
Carpets needed cleaning.
Convenience store is in the same plaza and is very handy.
Staff recommended a diner that was about eight blocks away - great meal with huge portions at reasonable price.
Casino is a short drive away (too short, if you know what I mean), but through an unpleasant area.
Price was slightly better than most others in the Philadelphia area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a whirlpool if someone in your party needs a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. The room tip you gave was excellent, the next time you visit us, you can ask for a room with whirlpool. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed two nights with this hotel and had two major problems. One, someone broke into out car and two, the guest I came with decided to be very rude and I needed to level suddenly. The staff took such good care of me. They helped me find a place to fix the car window that same day and gave us suggestions for good places to eat around the auto shop. The next day, the guest I came with became very upset with me and the staff stepped in to make sure I was ok. They helped me contact the police to fix the situation and comforted me while I tired frantically to book a flight home to Chicago. It was a bumpy two days but the staff did an amazing job helping me with both situations. Thank you very much, its not common to find such good service.

Room Tip: Make sure you call to ask if there are rooms available. There were guests who had booked online even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trillion33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. I am very sorry for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our Hotel. But it is so nice to hear that our staffs took very good care of you. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests.
We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

GREAT TRIP and accomodations. Many local sights to see. Convenient to airport, interstate and most attractions. We will definitely use this hotel again and will always look for a Best Western for our travel needs

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank williamg716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. And appreciate it even more that you will be looking for Best Western for all your travel needs in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The neighborhood looked a little iffy, the building wasn't the best looking façade. Once you got past the lobby things were good. Pleasant and helpful staff. Reasonable room and furnishings a better than average complimentary breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. Thank you for your comment about our pleasant and helpful staff. It's nice that you found our room price reasonable as well as the better than average complimentary breakfast that we offer. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is in a awful area, surrounded by boarded up buildings . We had to step over a man sleeping when going to check in The dirty carpet/ horrible towels, hotel located in an awful area are not typical of BW . ..First bad experience we have ever had with a BW

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jamesmK2188XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our Hotel. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Airport/Ridley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
2.6 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University

Property: Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Address: 1450 Providence Avenue, Chester, PA 19013-5715 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University is the perfect hotel for your visit to Philadelphia and its suburbs. The hotel is located just minutes from Philadelphia International Airport, providing 24-hour Airport shuttle service. We are also located across from the campus of Widener University, and just minutes from Swarthmore College. Only 1 mile from Harrah's Casino and the closest hotel to PPL Park (Home of Major League Soccer's Philadelphia Union). The hotel provides complimentary 24-hour shuttle service, continental breakfast, free parking, free high speed wireless and wired internet access, daily newspapers and much more. Also featuring fitness and business centers. Stay at the newest, greenest, and most friendly Best Western hotel in the Philadelphia area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia Airport South At Widener University Hotel Chester
Best Western Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing