We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chester
Sweet Valley, United States
1 review
“clean and professional”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. Check-in went quickly and efficiently. The hotel room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The shuttle was quick in picking us up from our dinner, and the driver was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel.
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    123
    81
    38
    41
See reviews for
132
87
39
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel staff was ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL!!! I hope I don't leave anyone out -- Cheryl, Bo, Gerry, Laura, Rodney, Tina and another very nice gentleman who picked us up from the airport (I forgot his name -- he was from African American descent). Words can't describe! The place was SO CLEAN! Everyone was so thoughtful and interested in making sure we were taken good care of during our stay! The beds were seriously so comfortable! I wish I could have taken the bed and 4 pillows back with me! There is no doubt in my mind that I will be going to the top of Best Western to make sure they know what a wonderful place this is! If I come back to Philadelphia, I will be back to this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. Your comments will be shared with our staff, for sure they will be very happy to hear it. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Shore, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our party of nine (all family of various ages traveling together) was searching for a reasonably priced hotel that had an airport shuttle, a park & fly rate, and was clean and safe. We found all of these things in this hotel, which was no small feat.
I had looked at many different hotel chains and hotels, and either they got bad reviews (unclean, shuttle didn't run when needed, etc.) or they were over our price range. (We were trying to stay in the low 100's or less.)
In this hotel, we found VERY friendly service, a wonderful breakfast (and they actually opened breakfast a few minutes early for us because we were leaving very early) and large, spacious rooms with nice bathrooms and mini fridges. My parents were actually upgraded to a large and beautiful corner suite with a small kitchen and two TV's (one in each room of the suite). My dad commented that he might like to stay there for the week! Oh, and I will add that the shuttle service was prompt and friendly as well.
We hope to never have to fly out of Philly airport again (that's another story!) but if we do, or are in the area for any reason, we will definitely be using this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are so happy to hear such a very good review about our Hotel. It felt really great that we have met your expectations. Thank you so much for the wonderful comment you gave regarding your rooms, the breakfast, the staffs, and the shuttle. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visited Philly for a graduation from Swarthmore College. The staff at this hotel is the best we have ever encountered! Especially Sherryl at the desk and the van drivers (esp. the two Ronalds) were kind, considerate, and made us feel like our business was valuable! We stayed three nights in three rooms and were sad to leave. Yes, the neighborhood is not the best but we felt safe in the hotel. The rooms were clean and well-appointed and the price was fair. The shuttle service was very handy and professional. Breakfast was better than average with a good variety. Trust me on this one.... we would stay here again!! A fantastic experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience.
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

the closest hotel to Swarthmore, and very comfortable beds. But nothing around it, no coffeeshop, etc, Not a neighborhood to walk around, both interest and safety. paper thin walls. Free parking, free wi fi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. It sounds perfect that the location worked best for you. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Please know at any time you may dial "0" during your stay if issues do arise and we will do everything we can to quickly solve any issue to your satisfaction. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. We hope you will choose our Hotel again. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel offers a great value for an overnight near the airport. The complimentary 24 hour shuttle makes it convenient for those without a car traveling to the airport or casino. The hotel is not in a stand alone complex, which is slightly awkward, but the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. At about 10 minutes to PHL Airport, it is far enough away to leave the noise and commotion of the airport behind, but close enough to make it a quick overnight hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing campus have good views, but suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. It is so nice to hear that our staffs were incredibly friendly and helpful. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is ideal for a quick business trip. The location I was told after my check-in from a friend is not a good one. High crime rate. But hotel itself is clean, reasonablbe in price. The front desk attendant was helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rowinea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwidener, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you for saying that this Hotel is ideal for a quick business trip, and that it was clean and the price is reasonable. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. It was also nice to hear that the front desk attendant was helpful and very nice. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you.
It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
3.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Airport/Ridley Park
2.6 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University

Property: Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Address: 1450 Providence Avenue, Chester, PA 19013-5715 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University is the perfect hotel for your visit to Philadelphia and its suburbs. The hotel is located just minutes from Philadelphia International Airport, providing 24-hour Airport shuttle service. We are also located across from the campus of Widener University, and just minutes from Swarthmore College. Only 1 mile from Harrah's Casino and the closest hotel to PPL Park (Home of Major League Soccer's Philadelphia Union). The hotel provides complimentary 24-hour shuttle service, continental breakfast, free parking, free high speed wireless and wired internet access, daily newspapers and much more. Also featuring fitness and business centers. Stay at the newest, greenest, and most friendly Best Western hotel in the Philadelphia area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia Airport South At Widener University Hotel Chester
Best Western Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing