We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We spent only one evening at Hamanssett & regret not staying longer. Glen is an excellent host & his breakfast spread is outstanding. We stayed in the Tudor Room & it was not only comfortable with so many "little touches"' but one of the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in. The room was very well appointed. From the port wine in front of the fireplace with the background music to the pantry with snacks & homemade cookies, this is definitely a "repeater". Very highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    27
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
305
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deptford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I wanted to do something special for our first Anniversary. We stayed at the Inn over the weekend and it exceeded our expectations. Our honeymoon was in Scotland and the Inn made us feel like we were back in a manor house in the UK. We loved the antiques and decor. We included the Enchanted Evening package and arrived to find chocolates, a dozen red roses, and rose petals on the bed. The next night we returned to find chilled champagne. The Downton Abbey exhibit was in town so we ordered the Edwardian picnic basket on Saturday to take to Winterthur. That was a real treat with an antique thermos and plates. This was a very enjoyable stay with personalized service that makes you feel welcome. If you are looking for a place that is extra special - this Inn is for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tudor Room. Had a lovely 4 poster carved bed. Bed was very comfy! Next time we want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etapreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I gave this weekend to my Mom as a birthday gift. We stayed at the B and B for the weekend and attended the Cooking School which is hosted there. The B and B and grounds are meticulously kept. Our room was beautiful, walking around the grounds was stunning. We enjoyed our stay and the cooking school was fabulous. Definitely recommend the "Titanic cooking weekend". Breakfasts were a feast each morning and there was no problem if you didn't like something as there was so much offered. Glen, Ashley and the staff are friendly and accommodating to all your needs. Attention to detail is a priority here and it shows! Thanks for a fabulous weekend and for all the cooking tips and delicious meals. Fresh homemade cookies daily were also a treat. They didn't miss a beat!

Room Tip: I saw 2 of the rooms and both were beautiful. I also toured one of the cottages which was also well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyZm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and your enjoyment of our cooking school. We loved helping you celebrate your Mother's birthday. So glad you both enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here after 4 nights in downtown Philly...what a lovely, relaxing change! Pretty grounds and house and friendly hosts. Close to Longwood Gardens and only about 20 min to the airport. Would happily return for a longer stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynnTX2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

One fall day 10 years ago I searched out the perfect, most romantic B&B in Pennsylvania knowing that I would propose to my girlfriend there. Even back then Hamanassett was renowned for its amorous magic and the only best choice.

In an industry known for inconsistency, Hamanassatt has been much like the fruit of PA wine country; it has only gotten better. The old world charm of England remains but alongside modern technology and 5 star hotel comfort. Like fine wine with a meal, the classic beauty of the home pairs with the fine attention of Ashley and Glen Mon and the staff, to provide a delightful and restorative experience.

A decade ago my wife and I sought only romance at Hamanassett, but every year since we return not only for romance but rejuvenation. We have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: I didn't rate the pool because there isn't one, but that's no downside to us! Any room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madamqueen, Owner at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We've loved having you visit us every year. We've enjoyed your annual Christmas card allowing us to watch your beautiful little girl grow up. We almost feel like we have a grand daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay last weekend at Hamanassett B&B. What a totally enchanting and relaxing experience. Glen and Ashley are gracious and thoughtful innkeepers and their place is obviously run with attention to all the details that make a visit memorable. This is the second time we have stayed at Hamanassett B&B and I am already planning our next return visit to enjoy some more of what this beautiful area has to offer. I recommend this B&B to anyone that could use a little pit stop from the rat race and would like to stay in a place with real charm and gentility! There are some really great restaurants nearby, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

For my 29th Birthday my boyfriend booked us a room at Hamanassett. I was excited but had no idea how great of a getaway this would be.

After speaking to Glen on the phone he seemed equally as excited about meeting our dog was he was about meeting us. His hospitality shined from the moment he answered the phone and grew by the minute!

The spectacularly decorated home is set on a gorgeous property complete with friendly horses who we very much enjoyed. Our room was dog friendly, spotless and spacious, yet cozy.

After a five star dinner at Dillworthtown Inn we returned to Hamanassett and found ourselves in the library sipping complimentary port wine and playing one of the many antique games which are displayed throughout the room. The following morning we were greated with Ashley and Glens smiling faces and an incredible breakfast prepared by Ashley, complete with enjoyable conversation. The dining room is my favorite room in the house, simply stunning!

Overall, I would recommend Hamanassett to anyone and everyone. Whether you're a couple looking for a romantic getaway or a group of girlfriends, you cannot go wrong with Hamanassett! It is truly an experience and one we will cherish forever. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amreily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester Heights
6.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
370 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Address: 115 Indian Springs Dr, Chester Heights, PA 19063-5622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing