We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was visiting friends in the West Chester area for a few days & stayed at this lovely B&B. The house & grounds are beautiful. I particularly loved sitting on the front porch, across from the fountain & koi fish pond - the running water is so soothing & the neon-colored fish amazing to watch. The house also overlooks a wide open rolling field so very peaceful. I delighted in the unexpected touches of whimsy at the house (spoiler alert - you are greeted by 2 handsome fox!).
You feel very pampered at this place. I'm glad I passed on dessert after my dinner in town because you can help yourself to a jar of THEE best chocolate chip cookies EVER! And the breakfast was absolutely off the charts fabulous - Belgian waffles AND eggs AND sausage AND fruit/yogurt/granola parfait. That meal will be the one I compare all others to in the future!
These hosts really know how to make people feel welcomed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hennessytennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you like and appreciate antiques, this is the place to go. Ashley has furnished the inn mainly with exquisite family heirlooms from her family home in Georgia. A faint southern drawl is still evident in her speech.
We stayed in the Tudor room, because I had never slept in a four-poster canopy bed. The room was a bit tight, but the really unusual aspect of this B&B is the amount of available public space to hang out in. The bathroom in our room was great, featuring a huge, modern shower stall (suitable for two).
Coming to the inn, you are greeted by koi who always seem to want food! You then enter a huge enclosed porch, a wonderful place to hang at the end of the day. The living room is where we hung while waiting for breakfast. The large breakfast dining table accommodates 10, and another smaller table is also available. Breakfast was a grand affair, offering multiple courses, all unusual, with very fresh ingredients.
Ashley and Glenn were always ready to help us in planning our day, and giving advise and directions. We hope to return soon.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank architect_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed staying at a number of different B&Bs in the northeastern US. We had high expectations when we booked our reservation for 4 nights at Hamanassett based on the website's description. Our expectations were met! The innkeepers have all the details covered. We stayed in the Tudor room. Extremely comfortable bed. Plenty of storage for our belongings. Sizeable bathroom with walk-in shower. AND lots of charm. The entire B&B is gorgeous... Breakfast is exceptional as many other reviewers have commented. The innkeepers were great: friendly, professional, and very helpful. Hamanassett is also conveniently located near the Brandywine attractions and, as a bonus, there are rustic walking trails less than a mile away. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Str0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights last weekend at Hamanassett B&B and were were delighted by the charm and beauty of this property and the incredible hospitality and service of our hosts Glenn and Ashley who have owned and run this home built in 1856 for 13 years ,Their attention to detail anticipating guest's needs is world class . Breakfast out on the back deck was remarkable - you will not be disappointed and may find yourself skipping lunch as the variety of breakfast kepy us satisfied until dinner . We arrived at 3 pm on Friday and enjoyed a bottle of champagne and choclate covered strawberries that we awaiting in the room - easily arranged when you make reservations . Our room ( Iverness ) had a large privare balcony overlooking the fountain and the horse pasture - there are trats to feed the horses at front door . This is only the 2nd Trip Advisor review I have ever written ( other was for Brown Palace in Denver ) and I stay in nice hotels 50 - 100 nights per year for business , This place is special - treat yourself - you will not be disappointed .

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with private balconies , The beds are incredible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_BR2562FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We just returned from a three night stay with Glenn and Ashley in their wonderfully restored 1850s home. Our hosts were gracious and accommodating and the staff provided excellent service. The breakfasts each day were delicious and distinctive, and an array of snacks and beverages were always available. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. Equally enjoyable were the outdoor spaces which were beautiful and well maintained. We could not have had a more enjoyable visit in a location so close to Longwood Gardens and the Brandywine Museums. Our heartiest thanks to our hosts!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoodlebug47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed every moment of our stay at Hamanassett. We have stayed at this lovely, elegant and romantic bed and breakfast three times now and our visits are amazing each and every time. Glenn and Ashley are always so gracious and accommodating. They are the perfect innkeepers, always available if needed (like appearing at the door with safety pins and sewing kits for some last minute alterations to my gown and playing photographer for my husband and I), but never intrusive. Each time we visit it's as if this incredibly lovely home is all ours, if only for a short time.

The owners incredible attention to detail, the lovely grounds and all the thoughtful little touches throughout the house -- from the homemade cookies each afternoon, to the well stocked guest pantry available all day, to the port and sherry in the evening, to the romantic music CDs in the rooms, not to mention the delicious candlelight breakfast, all contribute to the perfect stay.

The rooms themselves are wonderful, tastefully decorated with antiques yet extremely comfortable and welcoming. The beds are extremely comfy and the sheets are delightful! The rooms are equipped with anything you could need during your stay including a closet with guest robes and an iron and ironing board. The bathrooms are also pretty and have all the comforts of home including hair dryer, makeup mirror, makeup removing towels, and even a rubber ducky for the tub!

Ashley's multi-course breakfasts are always something special, served by candlelight in the formal dining room or outside on the patio. The fruit was incredibly fresh, and the homemade bourbon walnut syrup was excellent!

Hamanassett is perfectly situated within easy driving distance to many local attractions including Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Bandywine River Museum, wineries and antique shops. It is easy to fill the day with many different activities or opt for none of them at all and just relax in the gorgeous home, playing billiards indoors or lawn chess outside. On more than one occasion, my husband and I have enjoyed wine and cheese outside in the peaceful garden.

Thank you Glenn and Ashley for another wonderful stay in you charming home. We can't wait until our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdtaranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and i visited relatives in Pennsylvania and as a surprise he booked a beautiful room in this stately Bed and Breakfast.
We were warmly greeted by the owners. We toured the house before going to our room. How lovely everything was. We had a bountiful breakfast each morning.
If you need to get away this is truly a place to go. Romantic countryside, spotless and beautiful accommodations and delightful hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theglasslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester Heights
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Glen Mills/Concordville
4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
9.1 mi away
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Address: 115 Indian Springs Dr, Chester Heights, PA 19063-5622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price Range: £154 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing