We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
State College
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

An exceptional place to stay. Attention to detail is above and beyond almost any B & B and certainly beyond any normal hotel lodging.

It is readily apparent that Ashley and Glenn have put their heart and soul into this wonderful property.

Their hospitality is really special - if you value top-of -the-line type of places to stay, you will not be disappointed at the Hamanassett.

Dennis & Karen Zwigart

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — A little hard to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss this place.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    27
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
297
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

Everything about our stay was perfect. Ashley, the inn keeper, upgraded us to the beautiful Windsor room. The setting and all the extra "touches" were wonderful - from fresh homemade cookies to the interior of the house. (And Brandy and Gumbo the resident dogs were a delight!!)

The breakfast was superb. My husband and I are both vegetarians, so sometimes our choices are limited when we travel. But not here!! (I still have fond memories of the dill sauce and the poached pear.. yum!!)

Thanks Ashley for making our stay so special!! I know we'll see you again.

Leah and Steve from Sonoma County, CA

  • Liked — The setting , the ambiance, the dogs, the breakfast, the room, our hostess - it was all great
  • Disliked — Wish I had more time
  • Tips/Secrets — Yes - there's lots to do in the area, but make sure to spend time just hanging out here.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lyoung42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

My husband and I met old friends at the Hamanasset B&B for a long weekend. We stayed in the carriage house - for 2 couples, it was perfect. A short walk from the main house for breakfasts (excellent - the poached pear was amazingly tasty) and for warm cookies in the evening, the carriage house still gave us tons of privacy to visit with each other.

The owers are very pleasant and helped us identify activities we'd enjoy (we went to Winterthur - my husband thought it would be boring, but we spent 5 hours there and could have stayed much longer). Plus - they sent us to Media for dinner -very close and many choices for dining (including some vegan for my husband).

We enjoyed petting the horses and dogs, but if you're not animal lovers you could never see the animals and it'd be fine.

Only downside - it might be hard to find in the dark on your first trip, but that is part of what makes it so pleasant once you're there.
We'd definitely go again.

  • Liked — Relaxing scenery
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — carriage house is great for 2 couples
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EngineerBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

We stayed here the last weekend in July and absolutely loved it. It was our first stay in a B&B and definitely won't be our last. The room was gorgeous; the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in; and the breakfast was just incredible. Ashley made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kathr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

Well, unfortunately it has been more than a year since we stayed at The Hamanassett but I was not going to forget to give this review. I have kept this address in my email to ensure I did it the review at some point. My boyfriend and I decided to bring my mother away for a weekend since she is battling a lung disease and has had a very difficult year with an uphill battle ahead of her. By just driving up the driveway and seeing the house I think we all took a deep breath and relaxed instantly. The Innkeeper, Ashley welcomed us so cheerfully and the home inside was so warm and inviting. We immediately felt at home when we met her two dogs and got to know them better while sitting and enjoying fresh lemonade. Our rooms were beautiful and well appointed with all the right touches. Ashley had recommended one for my Mother that would be easier with her limitations and it was just perfect. Our room was very large and we were so comfortable watching football lounging on the loveseat and king bed. The next morning, after feeding the horses some peaches, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the dining room fit for royalty. The Hamanassett is a perfect balance of elegance and comfort. Most importantly, my Mother enjoyed it and we are looking forward to bringing her back when she is on the road to recovery!!

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

My seven-months pregnant wife needed a getaway from the city scene and wanted visit Longwood Garden that she heard so much about. After doing my due diligence on the Internet, I decided to stay at Hamanassett Bed and Breakfast for a couple of days because of the reviews that I read from this site.

From the moment of our arrival, Ashley exuded great warmth and showed genuine hospitality. She kindly answered all our questions about the towns nearby and the activities that we could do. We stayed on the third floor Room #5 . The room was absolutely beautiful and we felt a sense of serenity.

Next morning, the breakfast that she prepared was really delicious but my wife could not eat much because she was having hard time digesting butter and cheese. Ashley was really concerned and asked me what she can cook for my wife the next day and I simply told her that anyting without cheese and butter will do. Much to our surprise, she had cooked up something really special and we were truly touched.

We could not say goodbye to her because she had an early doctor's appointment. Ashley, I am hopeful that all is well with your health. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johny714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2006

My Husband and I stayed at the Hamanassett B&B for a weekend while attending a wedding at another B&B. The Hamanassett is beautiful and cozy. We always felt at home and comfortable to enjoy all areas of the house. Every amenity is provided in the guest rooms and more. Every morning we recieved a gourmet breakfast with outstanding treatment. Nothing was forgotten!!! We highly recommend staying at the Hamanassett and can not wait until we can stay there again.

  • Liked — The roomy bathroom.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay longer than a weekend!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajerp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester Heights
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
6.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
11.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Address: 115 Indian Springs Dr, Chester Heights, PA 19063-5622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing