We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
bloominams
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a Stay!”
Reviewed 8 January 2007

If you are looking for a perfect Bed & Breakfast experience, make an immediate reservation at the Hamanassett! We stayed only one night, to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, but yearned to stay longer and will certainly return! Ashley and Glenn Mon were warm and eager to welcome us to their beautifully restored and gorgeously decorated home and made us feel immediately relaxed. Our room was fresh, clean and luxuriously appointed with high end bedding and bath linens. Our stay included many complimentary extras...freshly baked cookies put out each afternoon, port in the library in the evenings, and a "help yourself snack pantry", filled to the brim with assorted packaged snacks, drinks, bottled water, Senseo coffee, etc.

We opted for the additional Enchanted Evening package which included a dozen gorgeous, fresh red roses in our room upon arrival, and when we returned to our room after dinner there were silk rose petals on our turned down bed, romantic CDs to pop into the bedside CD player, champagne, truffles, and a delicious homemade chocolate cake. Wonderful!!!!

Our breakfast was a gourmet delight. We started with fresh, perfectly ripe bananas drizzled with a warm, homemade caramel sauce, followed by a delicious artichoke fritatta, bacon and croissants.This was served with an assortment of juices, fresh coffee or tea. Breakfast was at a comfortable pace with Glenn and Ashley serving us and chatting happily while they worked.

The goal for this brief visit was to remove my husband from his non-stop work demands in NYC and relax and savor our life together in a pleasurable environment. This visit did the trick and we plan to return again and again to celebrate other happy occasions, as well as, take advantage of all the amusements that the Brandywine Valley has to offer.

  • Liked — Luxurious comfort
  • Disliked — Having to go home!
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay close attention to the driving directions at the Hamanessett website. Not difficult but can be tricky.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloominams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    27
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
298
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston area, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

We had one night away. We picked this B&B because it looked nice from the photos, had a fireplace, seemed like it would be quiet, and is located near many attractions in the Brandywine Valley area, such as Longwood Gardens.

This is a grand B&B. Bigger common areas than usually found in B&Bs. Had comfortable size living room, sun room, and billards room (which we played). Outdoor spaces appear inviting to explore and use during warmer weather. Our individual room had thoughtful touches to it, including CD player and chocolates (plus chocolate chip cookie jar in the hallway). Bathroom in the room was not fancy and had step down to get to it (I cannot recall name of our room).

We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast with special foods I never try to cook myself or get at a diner. Inn keepers were helpful, letting us lounge in the common areas after check out time. I would rate this as one of the better B&Bs my wife and I have stayed at in our travels.

Bruce Brumberg, co-author
Watch It Made In the U.S.A: Visitor's Guide to the Best Factory Tours and Company Museums (---).

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank Factory_tour_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2006

We fell in love with the pictures we saw on their website, and fortunately, the reality was even better than the advertisement. Ashley and Glenn were the perfect hosts--we felt pampered, welcomed and special. The home is beautiful, the breakfasts were to-die-for and there were too-many-to-count little touches of hospitality and comfort here and there. You can tell innkeeping isn't a job for this couple--it's a calling. We would definitely like to come back sometime. There are tons of things to do in the area and the Hamanassett is a great base to explore the Brandywine Valley, Philadelphia and Delaware.

  • Liked — All the little hospitable touches that made it special
  • Disliked — Kind of hard to find, but once you do, SO worth it
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LLWStateCollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

Our visit to Chad's Ford was enhanced by staying at this beautifuly decorated property where our little dog was welcomed as readily as a family member. Our second floor bedroom was decorated in the style of the era , and we had a spacious step-down bathroom with excellent shower facilities. We enjoyed some complimentary port in the living room after dining at Simon Pierce, a local restaurant and glass-blowing mill which was recommended by the hotel proprietors, who graciously made our reservation. The Sunday morning breakfast was a touch of Pennsylvania Amish country blended with New Orleans served by our hosts, Ashley & Glenn, whose pride in their establishment is matched by their culinary expertise.
The Wyetth art exhibits and DuPont Museum are a short drive from this B & B.
If you enjoy wine tasting sign up for the $ 20 tour , it is a better value, and don't miss Va La Vineyards, a wee bit further out but the best of the lot. We intend to be back again to Hamanesset.

Bob & Lauren

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank gadgetbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

We stayed at H. recently for only two nights and look forward to going back. We were in the Windsor Room, and the picture on the B&B's website doesn't show you how large the room is, though the photo does give you an idea of the luxurious furnishings. The property is beautiful, breakfast was fabulous, and there were numerous niceties throughout the B&B (such as freshly baked cookies, sherry and port available in the common rooms on the main level, a stocked guest pantry, plenty of brochures and maps to nearby attractions.)

  • Liked — the rooms/furnishings were so gorgeous!
  • Disliked — the bathroom could use remodelling
  • Tips/Secrets — not many wineries/tasting rooms in the area are open during the week
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_Chowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2006

We - me, my boyfriend, and our miniature pincser, Samantha, just got back from a wonderful weekend that we spent at the Carriage House at the Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast. Ashley and Glen, the owners of this magnificant inn, are the sweetest, most accomodating people we've ever met. We are from New York City and wanted a little privacy - and we have a dog - so we went for the Carriage House, a house separate from the main inn. The main house is really more like a mansion, including a billiards room and a living room where the generous owners offer sherry and port in pretty crystal. The Bed & Breakfast sits on grounds including a pond with a waterfall and a stable with two cute horses. They offer a gourmet breakfast as well. The Carriage House itself is a beautiful country house with a large kitchen and beautiful upstairs bedroom and large bathroom with an old-fashioned stand-alone bath tub and separate shower. The house also has a front porch complete with a grill and rocking chairs, and on a huge expanse of property including a hammock, which we took advantage of in unusually warm weather this past Saturday. There are also many cute restaurants, wineries, gardens and shopping centers nearby if you want to go out. You should go to this wonderful little getaway - you will enjoy your surroundings and will feel pampered by the friendly hosts.

  • Liked — The grounds, the accomodations, the house and the hospitality
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2006

An exceptional place to stay. Attention to detail is above and beyond almost any B & B and certainly beyond any normal hotel lodging.

It is readily apparent that Ashley and Glenn have put their heart and soul into this wonderful property.

Their hospitality is really special - if you value top-of -the-line type of places to stay, you will not be disappointed at the Hamanassett.

Dennis & Karen Zwigart

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — A little hard to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss this place.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester Heights
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
6.4 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
11.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast
Address: 115 Indian Springs Dr, Chester Heights, PA 19063-5622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chester Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Brandywine Valley romantic escape near major attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Brandywine River Museum, Barnes Museum, and Hagley. 30 minutes from Philadelphia. Enjoy our Southern Hospitality where customer service is a priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing