We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Clairton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clairton
colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel was clean. Beds were very comfortable. People helpful and friendly. There is noise from highway. Parts of exterior in need of paint. Location was great for us--on off highway 51 to get around south Pittsburgh area ideal. Price was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
15
10
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Meow Z stayed here on 04/13/2012
Meow Z stayed in room 103 (jacuzzi suite)

The room itself was average.

The crowning glory of the room was the two person jacuzzi. You could tell that it was a realtively recent additon or upgrade to the room. The jacuzzi area as well as the jacuzzi was very clean! The jacuzzi itself needed serviced. (when in operation the water barely moved in the jacuzzi) Sad, because this would be an easy fix by simply having the jacuzzi serviced by a professional.

Meow Z had only one complaint about this room. Meow Z was thrown back when he opened up a dresser drawer and found a previous guests bikini top (meow z's favorite part was how the inserts for the top were removed and also left in the drawer!) Meow Z deliberately left the drawer open so the cleaning staff would have no good reason not to remove it!! Meow Z declined to lay hands upon it. Meow Z must state that in all fairness the rest of the room----especially the jacuzzi and the bathroom were VERY clean!

All in all you get what you pay for. Jacuzzi suites at other local motels were at least $40.00 more a night.

Bonus Tip: There area many...many...many...places to eat and shop within minutes of the motel! There is a pizza shop adjacent to the hotel. They seem to close early, but never the less it great to have there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEOWZEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I was a little hesitant about staying in this hotel because I made my reservation directly with the hotel and communication was a problem. It took me all day to get an email confirmation and when I finally did our name was spelled totally wrong and the reservation was for one night instead of two as I had requested. I should have just made the reservation online. When we got to the hotel, I decided I would check out the room before I requested an additional night. As it turned out, I did go ahead and book a second night with no problem. The man at the desk was very nice and helpful and communication was not a problem. The room was clean and the bathroom was modern and up to date. The floor was tiled and the tub was one piece with no seams or grout which made it cleaner. The vanity countertop was granite. The TV was a flat screen. In the pictures online it showed an old TV so I was pleasantly surprised. There were a lot of channels to choose from which was convenient. Breakfast was continental, but that was no big deal since there are plenty of restaurants in the area. For our purpose this hotel was a good value and well maintained.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelle1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our family stayed here when we went to Kennywood and Sandcastle and thought it was very nice for the price. Everything was very clean in the room and very updated, flat screen TV, updated bathroom counters, sinks, faucets, shower. We had 2 Queen beds which were very nice and comfortable. I highly recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMIRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayette, ms
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I have been staying at this motel for 16 years and the recent remodel is great. The same family has owned the place since it was the historic old Starlite Motel, built in the 50's for stars who performed at the old Twin Coaches nightclub. Patti Page, Frank Sinatra, you name it, stayed here. Starlite actually stood for "where the stars alight" and I'm pleased the family has done a beautiful remodel resulting in huge comfortable rooms. My stay was excellent and I will be back later in the summer for perhaps two weeks. I highly recommend the Econolodge Clairton. I won't stay anywhere else when I'm in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantComment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralpa.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Motel was partially remodeled. Hair on towels wasn't ours. Toilet paper was next to empty, no extra was provided. No tissues, either. Mattress was extremely comfortable, and for the location, it was quiet. Mini fridge was gross, and ancient (wasn't part of remodel). Not even a plastic bag in ice bucket.Cigarette burns on some of older furniture.No clock of any kind. Breakfast was a joke....2 apples, a danish, and some sort of donut on counter, and there were signs for "New grand opening!!" Location was difficult to get in and out of, had to figure it out, on the ripped up parking area.Management just there to take money, didn't even ask "How was your stay?"

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review, 26 June 2015
Dear Guest,
I am please to let you know that we have made some MAJOR renovations to our rooms and updated our breakfast selection. We would hope that on your next trip to the Pittsburgh area, you would consider us for your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Amy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clairton hotels

PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Looking for a good value in the Pittsburgh area, and reserved here. Was not disappointed. The EconoLodge is the budget Choice hotel brand, and this one was one of the best I've stayed in. Very friendly desk staff, large room, huge bathroom, new paint, doors, tile, etc. On a busy highway, Rt. 51, but the rooms face off-street and mine was quiet. Very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tshell223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clairton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in West Mifflin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Clairton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Clairton

Property: Econo Lodge Clairton
Address: 1303 Route 51, Clairton, PA 15025-3672 (Formerly Starlite Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clairton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clairton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Clairton 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Clairton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing