We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Clairton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clairton
�G|Ϗϩ��^��
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better Than Rated”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Was unsure about booking this property based on the one star rating I saw online. Was pleasantly surprised. Staff was friendly and accommodating, the room clean and comfortable, and a continental breakfast with waffles was available. While the location may be a bit off the beaten path, its very convenient for cycling the rail trails around Pittsburgh on a budget (1.5 miles from the Montour Trail). There's a good rib restaurant next door as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
15
10
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for one night while traveling.
WiFi works well and the room was reasonably clean.
Obviously this is a budget place, so don't expect much.
For the price it was a great value.
Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merkurxr4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the EconoLodge. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,


Manny Patel
General Manager
EconoLodge – Jefferson Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

A friendly smile and a nice conversation as I checked in. Room is clean and spacious, floors are clean but older carpet, bathroom is very clean and big, soap, clean towels and very well lit. Heater/air-conditioning unit works well, pumps out the heat on a cold october night! No flat screen, its an older model tv but it works well. You hear a lil traffic (not much) from the road but not much if the tv is on. NO pets allowed. Breakfast is not a lot to choose from, coffee and cereal are available in the office in the morning. There is a pizza place and Elliotts Backstreet BBQ (highly recommended) near by in walking distance. Close to major highways, last but not least its quiet as well as affordable on a small budget. If i pass through Jefferson Hill PA again i will stay again. TUD

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesD881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the EconoLodge. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,


Manny Patel
General Manager
EconoLodge – Jefferson Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I traveled to Clairton for her high school reunion recently. This was the closest hotel to town - only a very short drive to the reunion location. As with most hotels, it had its pros and cons. Our room was large, very nice, and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean. The staff is pleasant and friendly. The room was equipped with a king size bed, a mini-refrigerator and a microwave. The room lighting could be brighter - as is the case with many hotels these days, the room was equipped with those silly "energy saving" bulbs that produce very little light (I am seriously considering carrying my own standard light bulbs when I travel). My wife found the pillows to be too hard and the bed to be uncomfortable, although everything seemed OK to me. The included breakfast could use some upgrading from coffee, juice, and danish. The location of the hotel is right on a main highway (you couldn't get any closer to the highway) and there was a fair amount of traffic noise. Overall, though, it was a good and pleasant stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone passing through Clairton and needing a room for the night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the hotel that is farthest from the highway. That should reduce the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the EconoLodge. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

We have Changed the ligheting in the rooms to provide more light. Also we have started offering Hot Waffles in the morning with our Great Breakfast.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,


Manny Patel
General Manager
EconoLodge – Jefferson Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

In general I'm not a big fan of Econo Lodge but this place surprised me with how clean and comfortable it was. It's amazing what a fresh coat of paint can do for a place and that's what it had: freshly painted bright cheery clean rooms.

I stayed here for 4 nights. I had a room with a queen bed and it was quite comfortable. There was a nice big LCD TV with lots of channels. The wifi was spotty however. Signal dropped intermittently and was sluggish when it worked at all.

The location isn't bad. If you drive north a couple miles on Hwy 51 you'll find a Quaker Steak and Lube which is a great place for wings. There's a BBQ place called Elliot's Backstreet BBQ within walking distance of the hotel and I highly recommend the St. Louis ribs.

The drawbacks? There was no iron in the room. I travel for my job and don't like going to work looking like a rumpled mess. The door to the room opens directly to the parking lot so it was a bit noisy at times. You can hear people shutting car doors, diesel trucks etc. Perhaps a second floor room would be quieter. Also the hotel is situated right on Hwy 5 and access is a little weird. If you're coming from the north you can turn left into the parking lot but only the lot on the south side of the building... So if your room is on the north side you have to pull out of the south lot onto the highway to get to the north lot. And oddly it seemed that both lots are good 4 inches or so above the highway so it feels like you're driving over a curb every time you pull in.

And the price? Well my company pays for my stays but if I had been paying 76.50 for this place out of my own pocket I'd feel ripped off by about 25 bucks. But for whatever reason all hotels in a 15 mile radius seemed ridiculously priced. Perhaps because there are so few choices they feel they can command their price. Anyway, I've stayed at much nicer places for 76 a night. But overall I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freakwentphlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the EconoLodge. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,


Manny Patel
General Manager
EconoLodge – Jefferson Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and every time we are pleased with the personnel at the front desk and also how clean we find the room. The beds are comfortable and the showers always have hot water. The lighting in the bathroom could be brighter. The breakfast needs a better menu and coffee. I like the location because numerous resturants and stores are easily accessible.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the EconoLodge. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,


Manny Patel
General Manager
EconoLodge – Jefferson Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clairton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in West Mifflin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Clairton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Clairton

Property: Econo Lodge Clairton
Address: 1303 Route 51, Clairton, PA 15025-3672 (Formerly Starlite Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clairton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clairton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Clairton 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Clairton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing