We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccomended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara - A Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Clark B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredonia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly reccomended”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife recently celebrated her birthday and she wanted to stay at Tara. This was our fourth visit to the inn and this time we stayed in Master Gerald's room. Upon your arrival, Mr. Nixon (dressed in a tuxedo) will greet you with a glass of champagne and escort you to your room. Waiting for you in your room is a bottle of champagne, cheese /crackers, fruit and a large homemade cookie with your name on it, The Jacuzzi was large enough for two adults and the bed was very comfortable. While walking around the inn, ALL staff members are willing to do everything possible to exceed your expectations. Our dining experience couldn't have been better. We decided to make a reservation at Ashley's inside the inn. It's sport coat and tie required, but fine dining at its best. Their seven course meal was exceptional. Debbie, Bill and Joanne are gracious hosts and we look forward to our fifth visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are shown on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    26
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
103
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grace1908
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first stay, and it was awesome. It is 1st class all the way, incsluding the resturant. All the rooms looked wonderful. We stayed in Rhett's room. This room is a little dark, and the shower is small,but it is still outstanding. I liked Melanie's room better than Rhett's. It is much brighter and has a large shower. Rhett's room and Melanie's rooms are the only two rooms in the orginal home that face the back (overlooking the gardens) of the house. They are both located on the second floor. Rooms overlooking the garden do not have the road noise from Route 18. Please note there are no elevators. Please also note, that if you want to dine in Ashely's, a coat and tie are required. Brunch on Sunday is outstanding. You can choose breakfast or bunch on Sunday.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Tara. Our first visit but it won't be the last. We stayed in Sweet Magnolia Blossom and loved everything about it. Super comfy bed..the best Jacuzzi ever! What impressed us the most was the attention to the smallest details: welcome tray with champagne, cheese, crackers, fruit and a personalized giant sugar cookie. An ice bucket filled with us and waiting. Fresh flowers in the room. Kleenex in every area of the room and Q-tips/cotton balls in the bath. Turn down service with chocolates and a fresh bucket of ice. Morning paper on the door knob. The list is endless. Staff? All super yet professional. Food? Outstanding. Drinks? Reasonable. Grounds? Gorgeous. Common areas? Plentiful and all furnished in period antiques. We had fun getting lost in the maze of halls and rooms. I would highly recommend Tara to anyone. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Most rooms have fireplaces and Jacuzzi's. Traffic noise noticeable with windows open on highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJPlateisfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we stayed in the Katie O'Hara room last Saturday for a wedding. This was our second stay at the Tara. Everything was great! We loved the room and the Jacuzzi. We even got breakfast served to our room. The staff was amazing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeRy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler,PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to Tara several times and try to stay in different rooms just to see which one we like best. But we love them all! Staff is great food at Stonewall's is the best.. It is a "gone with the wind theme" so updating rooms like some suggest take away how things were back then. I would advise anyone with doubts to eat there first and take a tour. It's off the beaten path, but we feel it's worth it. Remember some ppl who do reviews are never satisfied! It's has 2 restaurants a bar pool for summer and close to highways for travel what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went to lovely Tara for Easter Sunday brunch this year and it was fabulous! You feel just like you are on the movie set for Gone with the Wind. They had a terrific variety of food including lamb, ham, and prime rib along with the regular brunch items including pasta, turkey, potatoes, and breakfast foods. We were seated in the smaller room, the Shiloh, which was very sweet and more intimate than the large banquet room. The atmosphere was lovely and the free champagne cocktail was a nice touch. The tables were covered with white tablecloths and fresh flowers adorned each table. The friendly waitresses were dressed in clothes that reflected the history of the old antebellum south. The dessert tables were complete with pies, cakes and cookies. Each item rich and delicious! The grounds of Tara are beautiful and it is fun to explore the Inn and the outside area with its many bronze sculptures and the gazebo. I have been to other brunches in the area and none can compare to Tara. I have been here many times for dinner at the Stonewall Tavern and this is my second Sunday brunch. For me, it is always a Five Star experience!! This is one of my very favorite places in Mercer County. One suggestion is to be sure to make a reservation well in advance as they were booked the day we were there! You can also spend the night in their Inn. It is not just a meal, it is an experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBroadway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My review will focus on the overnight accommodations. The downstairs was very nice and the restaurants and food were excellent.

Stayed in the Garden Suite at the end of March with my two sisters as a surprise for one sister’s 50th birthday. “Luxurious overnight accommodations” as touted on Tara’s web site, is not what we received. The room had a beautiful Persian carpet, an ornate chandelier and some attractive statuary. Other than that, dated doesn’t begin to describe its remaining contents. The sleeper sofa was ancient and very uncomfortable with dingy sheets. As was the mattress on the main bed. The bathroom needed to be completely gutted and redone. It had an odor, cracked tiles, comically small shower, tarnished faucets, and it wasn’t very clean. Also, the towels smelled funny and weren’t very nice. This was undoubtedly due to the strange smelling water they must have been washed in.
Peppered throughout the upstairs accommodations are these little wooden carved people holding trays. They place your newspaper, towels, etc. on them. They are painted to portray African Americans and are done in an almost cartoonish style. I found them offensive. I took a picture, but have rethought posting it. We needn't bring back all things about the Old South.

The staff was pleasant and most were helpful. They wear period costume. And when I say “costume” this is exactly what it ends up looking like. Coupling a pretend antebellum dress with modern day hair, tennis shoes, jewelry, nail polish and 21st century people is not a good idea. I felt bad for them. It came off as silly and cheapened the experience. It took me back to an eighth grade field trip not antebellum Georgia.

The food and all of my dining experiences at Tara were very nice. This unfortunately did little to make up for the very disappointing suite. This is not a bargain hotel, nor is it priced as one. For the price paid the room should have been much nicer. Upon check out neither of the two desk personnel asked how our stay was. This has never happened to me before at any hotel….ever.

Really got the feeling that this place used to be “luxurious” and used to be very nice and up to date, but that the owners are now resting on the laurels of its heyday. They need to learn from Scarlett and realize that as time passes Tara just isn’t what it used to be. Next time I will remember, if I want luxury, I should go back to Bedford Springs Resort.

Room Tip: Eat here, but do not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cmantheiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sharon
Hampton Inn & Suites Sharon
#1 of 4 in West Middlesex
422 reviews
6.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sharon, PA
Park Inn by Radisson Sharon, PA
#4 of 4 in West Middlesex
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Royal Motel - Hermitage
Royal Motel - Hermitage
#1 of 4 in Hermitage
86 reviews
15.4 mi away
Avalon Inn and Resort
Avalon Inn and Resort
#2 of 7 in Warren
88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn Hermitage
Quality Inn Hermitage
#3 of 4 in Hermitage
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara - A Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara - A Country Inn

Property: Tara - A Country Inn
Address: 2844 Lake Road, Clark, PA 16113
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clark
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clark
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the greatest movie of our time, Gone With the Wind, Tara recreated is in a real sense an embodiment of the Old South. Tara offers you a lasting impression of Southern Hospitality and a chance to enjoy the luxuries of days gone by. Whether a sumptuous gourmet meal, luxurious overnight accommodations or a guided tour, Tara is the ultimate in World Class Country Inns... devoted to guests who expect the exceptional and appreciate the best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara - a Country Hotel Clark
Clark Country Inn
Country Inn Clark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing