We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special; a bit below par for this chain” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clarks Summit
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nothing special; a bit below par for this chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I found the hotel to be alright; just below average for the hotel and for the price paid. Though to be fair, most other hotels in the area charge more. The hotel could use renovation. There was free wireless (mandatory in my book) and breakfast in the morning, which was fine. Just, average.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
43
39
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

It was snowing and we needed to get off the road. I used the choice privileges website to book this hotel. It was pricier than we had hoped. For the price we paid, we thought there'd be more in the way of ammenities, i.e. an indoor pool but there wasn't. The room was small, but clean (I always check under the mattress.) Breakfast was fine, but it was crowded and the line for the waffle maker was too long so it was bagels and cream cheese for me. We've stayed in other Comfort Inns and this on just didn't measure up to what we've come to expect..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADKphotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Pulled off the highway in a snowstorm. Pulled into the first hotel on the left. Big mistake, should have gone to the Ramada across the road or the Hampton Inn further up on the right. Should have listened to my gut while I was standing in the lobby, but didn't want to get back in the car and drive again.

The lobby and hallways were shabby. The room felt old and tired. I requested a ground floor room. Granted the clerk did recommend a second floor room, he said the ground room's floors were on the cool side. That would have been ok, but the rugs were actually wet with dampness. When we went to put our bag down on the table we discovered it was covered with a large sticky spill of what looked like jam. For $70/night, I do not think I should have to clean the room myself.

I inspected the mattress and bedding before we brought our bags in. We did not have a problem with bed bugs as the previous poster had, but I would never risk this hotel again having read that. With the state that the property was kept, I would not expect that they would properly deal with such a problem, should it arise.

As a result of this stay, I will never stay in a Comfort Inn again if this is how their properties are kept up. This property was not worth the price. It should be more in the 35-50 dollar range.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoTravelDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

DISGUSTING!! BEDBUG INFESTATION! BEWARE. The room was dirty, we woke in the middle of the night to bedbugs all over the bed, quickly showered and left, having to sleep in our car in 20 degree weather. The woman at the front desk seemed to think this is a common problem and would "leave the manager a note". After many email attempts and four attempts to call Customer Relations, Choice Privileges wanted to know ...:"what do you want US to do?". WE WILL NEVER USE THIS CHAIN OF HOTELS AGAIN. BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam1107186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

This hotel didn't have too many flaws except for the lousy TV.Half of the stations were all snowy.I was looking forward to watching the baseball playoffs and college football games but I could hardly see the TV.I told the clerk at the front desk about it but he didn't seem too concern.You would think that a room that cost $80-$100 per night would want to satisfy their customers

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We have stayed in Comfort Inns and Comfort Suirtes for years. Love the brand up until our stay this week at Comfort Inn in Clarks Summit PA.

Terrible property....run down, dirty, even cheap room doors that were so shaky and ill fitting to the frame that it made our kids frightened to stay there. Elevator was very small and slow. I would have expected to pay $39 for a room here versus the $85 we paid.

Terrible breakfast...breakfast buffet room had no AC running, quality was horrible. Watery OJ, bad coffee.

On a 1-10 scale this hotel was a 2.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

The room we booked was to be non-smoking and supposedly it was. However, there was a stale , old smoke odor in the room. Not sure if it was in the linens or in the room itself but not a clean or fresh smell. There were also areas that were dirty...the edges of the carpet around the doorways were particularly messy as though the carpet was vacuumed but not where more effort would have been required. Then there was the deodorant top that was on the floor under the sink....obviously that area had not been cleaned or this top would have/should have been picked up as it was there from a previous guest. Not the most expensive room, but still for the price, .should have been better

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarks Summit
0.1 mi away
Ramada Clarks Summit Near Scranton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Clarks Summit
Econo Lodge Clarks Summit
#5 of 6 in Clarks Summit
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 811 Northern Blvd., Clarks Summit, PA 18411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clarks Summit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clarks Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated. All rooms have microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Clarks Summit
Comfort Inn Clarks Summit
Clarks Summit Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing