We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nichols Village Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Clarks Summit
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were getting tired traveling and made a sudden stop in this hotel. The lady helped us get a room that night for a cheaper price. Great location next to restraints. Excellent service. The hotel smelled very good in the hallways and staircase. Room was nice could have been a little cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village1101, Director of Sales at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you of stopping and staying with us. We value your business and feedback and will continue to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience. We hope that you will come and visit us again when you're back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    100
    73
    73
    37
See reviews for
136
101
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place could and should rate 4 to 5 stars, but needs to be redone (Yes, I know it was just redone - but thats a fail)

In some ways it seems like a "Motel 6" wanting to be a resort...
- They can do better - and a lot better!

Hallways long and "Cold" in appearance.
Accommodations themselves comfortable, room quiet from outside noise.
Breakfast Buffet small and lacking, but sufficient.
Friendly staff.
Bathroom ample but smallish and outdated.

Most rooms seem to be standard rooms.
I saw spa and couples packages on website and thought that's what I was getting.
(Its either a resort or it isn't) But for $70/night I can't really complain.
Didn't know that "King Suites", SPA Packages were actually available. Don't know where they are hidden - I came in every entrance and except for some windows open to the back parking (Didn't look all that appealing/different from what I saw looking in the windows) lot all the rooms seemed to be identical.

Seemed to be a lot of "Low Brow" workers staying there.

Location is Very good with quick access to Scranton,Clarks Summit, and surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village1101, Director of Sales at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and choosing to stay with us. We are consistently upgrading our product to ensure that each of our guests have a wonderful experience. We pride ourselves in not being a "cookie cutter" full service hotel, lending itself to it's ambience and charm while maintaining the classic charm and quaintness of the property. We do value your business and hope that we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ok on the plus side: very friendly staff and potentially a bargain price (try a "mystery bid" on one of the Internet services). On the not so good side: a fading conference center, rooms that could have used a bit more prepping (did I mention that they had the wrong fitted sheet on the bed and someone else's wash cloth hanging in the shower?) and a relatively uninteresting breakfast buffet. The shame is if they gave this place just a little more TLC, at the price, it could be a great value and alternative to chain motels. I might try them again sometime......maybe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village1101, Director of Sales at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your valued feedback. We apologize for the challenges you encountered with the sheet and washcloth and have reviewed this with our team to ensure that this does not happen again. We consistently work to provide quality service and a great product and experience to our guests. We do hope that you allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again when you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Room had a couple of water stains on ceiling, bed was comfortable. Good choices to eat within walking distance, but use caution as there are no sidewalks. Poolside bar open late with very reasonable drink prices. Rite aid and a food store across the street. Rooms are nice and clean. Service was very good. Only stayed one night and didnt spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: Chestnut rooms have an odd layout of the bathroom sink being in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirCharge1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village1101, Director of Sales at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. We are pleased to know that you found our convenient location and hotel amenities a benefit to your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in one of the Presidential Suites for 2 nights for a wedding on the property. The room was very spacious with a king bed, and two sink areas. There was a lot of wasted space in the room, which could have benefited from a loveseat or small table/chairs to fill up some of the dead space and provide additional seating.

The room could have definitely been cleaner. There were stains on both the comforter and sheets of our bed. Additionally, the sheets appeared to have been too small for the bed and would come off the mattress every time someone moved, leaving us face to face with a bare mattress. It was gross.

Every staff member that we encountered was friendly, and the hotel has ample parking. There is a free breakfast, but the options are very limited. In my opinion, we did not receive a value for the price we paid for our room. With plenty of other hotel options in the area, I see no reason to return to Nichols Village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village1101, Director of Sales at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us while ate ding a wedding in the area. We are very sorry that you had this experience with the sheets and had it been brought to our attention, we would have addressed it immediately and remediated the situation with you to ensure that everything was taken care of to your satisfaction. We have shared this information with our Housekeeping team to ensure that they are more cognizant of such things to ensure that nothing is missed as we know how very important this is to us and our guests. We hope that if you visit the area, you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I got a great deal on this hotel on Hotwire! We stopped here to stay the night on our way to Boston. It was very clean and comfortable! Nice tv, mini fridge, lots of stores and food within walking distance! The only thing is that the bathrooms are pretty dated but the room itself was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veandrasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert12084, General Manager at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review .I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .Perhaps if you have the chance to stay with us in the future you will have time to enjoy our full service spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nichols Village was a quite impressive hotel for the most part. We had booked a block of rooms for our wedding guests over the weekend and most of them seemed to really enjoy it. Unfortunately, management changed and gave us the complete run around about our original contract that we signed with them so BE AWARE OF YOUR CONTRACT. Just like every other situation, if you sign it and they sign it, then they MUST abide by it. Other than that, the rooms were nice, spacious, and decently clean. The breakfast, (free) was mediocre. Very processed and bland but you can't beat free right? The staff, especially the front desk staff, was outstanding towards us and our guests. Would I stay again? Absolutely. Great location, decent prices, and nice people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryLabs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert12084, General Manager at Nichols Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I would to thank you and your group for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay .I am not aware of any contract issues .I would be more than happy to discuss any issues you had with your contract. I am not aware that there were any
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarks Summit
0.2 mi away
Ramada Clarks Summit Near Scranton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
5.6 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nichols Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Village Hotel & Spa

Property: Nichols Village Hotel & Spa
Address: 1101 Northern Blvd, Clarks Summit, PA 18411-2221
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clarks Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Clarks Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nichols Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully renovated boutique-style hotel, nestled in the foothills between the Endless and Pocono Mountains just outside the city of Scranton, is off Exit 194 on Interstate 81 and Exit 131 of the PA Turnpike. An exquisite blend of modern luxury and established service delivery, our award-winning staff adds a personal touch to our hospitality. Our stylishly appointed guestrooms feature a fresh modern look amidst the charm of our campus footprint. Our unique design offers something for everyone, with a variety of room types and features to suit your style and preference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nichols Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Village Hotel And Spa, Scranton Pa
Hotel At Nichols Village
Motel At Nichols Village
Inn Nichols Village
Nichols Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing