We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Week-end!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fern Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Week-end!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Don't miss this jewel in the Pennsylvania countryside!!! Great food, beautiful lake, many activities and welcoming/accomodating staff. Couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more!!! Great place to take the kids for swimming, fishing and nature walks.

Room Tip: All rooms are attractive and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank we2atlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    14
    1
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I shared a fun-filled 4th of July at the boathouse of Fern Hall Inn on Crystal Lake with friends and other guests. Swimming, kayaking, fishing, food, drink and fireworks made for the perfect Independence Day experience. Other activities include a beautiful nine hole golf course and lovely restaurant with outside dining and great food at good prices. The staff is friendly, helpful and attentive. I understand that winter offers skiing a short distance away at Elk Mountain. Got to try that.

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLG183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This Inn and restaurant and golf course are superb! The food was excellent, the room DEVINE, the service friendly and efficient and the hosts were warm and welcoming and had everything working smooth as silk. Authentically historic, with all the things you need in a modern inn, it is hard to ask for more. Even the golf course was impressive, and I'm not a golfer! I was welcomed by the staff and owners and introduced to the other guests so I felt like a part of the family. Yet, there were patios and niches for private time to gaze out on the beautiful scenery or read. This place is a treasure.

Room Tip: All are historic and beautiful. I don't think you can make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a relaxing weekend getaway. We arrived on a stormy, cold night to a roaring fires, a lively bar & restaurant and warm staff. Our room was beautiful. The grounds are really breathtaking. We borrowed a golf cart and explored the gorgeous land. We're not golfers but the green was well maintained.

The restaurant is top notch. We ate there 2 nights and everything we tried was excellent. The food was fresh, creative, beautifully presented and the best of all - tasted great. There's a lovely bar to relax with a cocktail before or after dinner. The breakfast was also excellent. Every morning there was your continental breakfast basics like cereal & yogurt but in addition were homemade pastries & muffins. Eggs made to order with bacon & homefries one morning & buffet style frittata with sausage & french toast the next.

Fern Hall is perfect for a relaxing getaway but it's also kid friendly. We're looking forward to returning with our son in August. thanks to inn-keepers Sam & Ed for a fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Inn is beaatiful, original owners were the Johnson and Johnson family, the grounds are amazing, we were able to play 9 holes of golf all alone, the staff was warm and welcoming and hands down they have the best food in crystal lake.

Room Tip: Room number 2 has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagontown, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Fern Inn is a beautiful home who's owners have kept the integrity of the time period in which it was built. I take my hat off to that. My expectation, when a place is called a Bed and Breakfast, is that I will be greeted warmly, someone will give me the ins and outs of how breakfast is served and any other rules that may apply. We wandered around each morning trying to figure out how it worked because there was never a member of the staff around. We were so frustrated by the second morning, that we left. Needless to say, there wasn't a staff member to be found. Our room was very cold due to the fact that the thermostat was downstairs. When we were shown to our room, the person even commented on cold it was and that the thermostat would be raised. It never happened. I am okay with drafty houses, but not intentionally relying on space heaters to save money. We relied on the little space heater the entire time we were there. That meant no heat in the bathroom. The restaurant is fabulous. The service and food were top notch. It appears that the focus is on the restaurant and it's patrons and not on the B & B part of the business. They were very concerned about the dining area being really warm (this was the only time the radiators went on in our room). As soon as the dining hours were over, the thermostat went down and our heat in our room went off. It was in the teens at night during our stay. We drive to Elk often to ski and stay overnight. We will never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMT106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernhallinn, Innkeeper at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, I am glad you've enjoyed our restaurant and its service and food, however it looks like we were not able to deliver the level of total service that we are know for and I sincerely apologise for that.
As Innkeeper, I cannot understand how your greeting and breakfast was an utter failure. Upon arrival, I like to familiarize our guests with the Inn. The common areas should have been pointed out to you, the breakfast room is shown to guests and set ups and times of service are explained. We do indeed strive to keep the Inn as original as possible and in that respect, our main focus and efforts are to keep all of the guests rooms comfortable as possible. We have installed supplemental heaters to all rooms. As for the other issues, I have addressed them with our team to be sure all is corrected as I too find this to be unacceptable for our standards.
Thank you for staying with us and hope you will give us a chance to show you what our Inn can offer and whatt all the great reviews are about!
Sincerely,
Mary Hoehing, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainside, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

we were overwhelmed by the building itself, the room accomodations, the great food and especially how great the staff was.

Helpful?
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifford
5.4 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
17.8 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
14.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Hall Inn

Property: Fern Hall Inn
Address: 2819 State Route 247, At Crystal Lake, Clifford, PA 18413
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clifford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1916 Stone Estate once the residence of the Johnson & Johnson Family of Pharmaceutical fame. Currently Fern Hall is home to our Inn and award winning Golf Course! All at your disposal when staying with us. Summer provides use of the boat house on glorious Crystal Lake, and winter offers an 8 mile drive to Elk Mountain, the highest vertical ski mountain in Pennsylvania! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fern Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hall Inn Bed And Hotel Clifford
Fern Hall Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing