We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic, relaxing getaway”
Review of Fern Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Clifford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at Fern Hall to celebrate our anniversary. The owners opened the doors with a smile and called us by our names. They were so sweet. We had one of the best rooms in the place- a big beautiful bed, really neat bathroom and a balcony. Everything is original and genuine to the timeframe. We took a walk down to the lakehouse and just rocked on chairs and took it all in all afternoon. When we came back in for the night, we had a bowl of marshmallows and skewers and an outside fire waiting just for us. We truly were treated like the only guests there! We'd go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugpug521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had a really nice ski weekend at this historic inn. Ed, Sam, and the staff really made us fell welcome, and made sure we enjoyed our stay.

The restaurant was great, and the cozy little bar was a treat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA55873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We wanted fresh air, peace and quiet and somewhere we could get away from it all and Fern Hall Inn answered our prayers. We stayed over Valentine's Day weekend and appreciated the lack of hearts and corny pink and red decorations and had a great weekend. We enjoyed great wine by the warm and cozy fireplace, a delicious meal in the dining room (Ostrich steaks in fact!) and despite ourselves ended the 14th of February sitting around the (regularly held) bonfire clutching mugs of hot chocolate and looking at the stars! The rooms are large and comfortable and I loved the original bathrooms - the period features are charming and make for a very pretty and homely space. The hotel is obviously a labor of love for Sam & Ed - the most charming B&B hosts ever - and I loved hearing about the history of the house and grounds. We left saying we must go back in warmer months to play some golf and explore more of the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

This is quite a find. A beautiful building, pristine rooms, delightful location and incredible hosts. Sam and Ed could not have made us or our two children more welcome. The evenings by the fire, drinking red wine, eating delicious food, surrounded by candlelight and very friendly other guests, made for a perfect stay. We cannot fault it and will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukfamilyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Just returned from a long weekend at Fern Hall Inn. We'd stayed @ Fern Hall Inn last winter to Ski Elk Mt. and I just wanted to say we had yet another great time and Summer is as beautiful as Winter.

We ate on the patio looking out at the gorgeous scenery, swam and kyacked in the lake, had massages in our room and generally had a wonderful time. I even tried my hand @ Golf on their scenic and serene 9 hole golf course, Scottish Glen.

Food and service is good, not over the top simply, casually, country elegant. And once again we felt very much welcomed and at home... as if we were visiting a good friend's country estate.

NY FOODY

Stayed: August 2008
Thank nyfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

I stayed at the inn while attending a wedding. While the location itself was very scenic, the Inn does not live up to the claims on their website or is it worth the price. We found the building and interior is badly in need of improvements. The tiny showers are moldy and dark - the basin fills with water which will not adequately drain so you end up standing in a pool of murky water. We looked at other rooms but all were similar. There is no air conditioning and bugs are a bit of a problem. The beds and linnens are in need of update. We also could not find an electical socket in our room to charge our phone. You should also be warned that none of the doors on the rooms lock - we didn't have any issues with our things but I would not bring valuables. Also bring your own food as there aren't many restaurants in the area and there is no service at the inn (although they claim a restaurant). All in all the house was probably amazing when it was first built but definately in need of major renovations before we'd ever consider returing.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcatVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifford
5.4 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
140 reviews
15.2 mi away
Schrute Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Camelot Restaurant & Inn
Camelot Restaurant & Inn
#1 of 2 in Clarks Summit
66 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fern Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Hall Inn

Address: 2819 State Route 247, At Crystal Lake, Clifford, PA 18413
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clifford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifford
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1916 Stone Estate once the residence of the Johnson & Johnson Family of Pharmaceutical fame. Currently Fern Hall is home to our Inn and award winning Golf Course! All at your disposal when staying with us. Summer provides use of the boat house on glorious Crystal Lake, and winter offers an 8 mile drive to Elk Mountain, the highest vertical ski mountain in Pennsylvania! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Fern Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hall Inn b&b
Fern Hall Inn Bed And Hotel Clifford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing