We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stopover for trips to Redang and Kapas...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Merang, Terengganu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KevinMela...
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Perfect stopover for trips to Redang and Kapas island!”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

At first we planned to stay at the Alaya Malai guesthouse as a stopover for one night as it is very close to the Merang jetty (shuttle service is for free) to get to Redang island the next day. In the end we expanded our stay because we liked staying here so much..

The accomondation is located outside of the small village Merang right next to the beach. Although the beach is not that nice to go swimming it offers a great possibility to go for a really really long walk without seeing anybody.

The Guesthouse itself is completely new and very nicely and modern arranged (the photos on the Internet can discribe it most suitable). But the best thing are the owners. These guys are truly amazing! They are extremely friendly, caring and helpful. The food they offered for breakfast and dinner was awesome (concerning both taste and quantity) and we got a lot of tips for the further planning of our trip around malaysia. They informed us really good about other accomondations as well as busses, trains etc.

All in all we felt like home far away from home and we would definitely recommend staying here sometime if you are planning to go to Pulau Kapas (2h by bus) and or Pulau Redang (45 min by boat).

Thank you guys for the great time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missykual...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cleanest stay in Merang!”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Very impressed with this quaint bed & breakfast.
Charming Malaysian styled bungalow in nice big grounds in Merang.
Super clean & tastefully renovated. Warm & hospitable personalised service. Beach facing property with a pool gives it a very relaxed atmosphere.
Hosts are extreemly friendly & go out of the way to help make this a very pleasant stay.
Will definately recommend this place & I’ll definately choose this place to stay every time I travel to Redang Island.
Well done!
Wish there were more places like this in Malaysia!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Visser
Shenzhen, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little gem on the East coast”
Reviewed 29 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

4 relaxing days at Alaya Malai, was exactly what we needed after the Chinese new year celebrations. The building is beautifully build, well kept, clean and with great views of the sea. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms clean and the beds are big and soft. Yunus is an excellent host, who knows the area very well, He recommended us several excellent local restaurants nearby. Its a shame that the beach nearby is a mess, but the pool at the guesthouse makes up for that.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAisweird
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome .... relaxed and friendly”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a great find!

Beach Villa with clean comfortable rooms, great breakfasts and friendly staff. Close to the jetty for transfers to Redang Island and they even provided free shuttle to the boat. Views from the rooms were awesome.

Unfortunately there were no bikes for hire at the time we were here, as the beach roads looked interesting and worth exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepinggr...
keepinggrace
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect beach house for unwinding”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If I dream of a perfect beach house, it would look like this. Comfy room, quiet beach , gorgeous, breezy, colorful setting - perfect for a lazy, chilled downtime. I especially love the courtyard in the middle of the house! There is a cute pool with jacuzzi fronting the beach, or you can enjoy stretches of deserted beach (which sadly should be cleaner but that's another story). The place is new so the host is super eager to please. He helped us get Terengganu breakfast and a trunk full of lekor to bring back. They also do a mean cheese pizza and several types of pasta. I wish my stay was longer. Will be back for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mei A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaways!”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a spot to escape KL for a few days and lose yourself in pampered relaxation - perfect retreat with loved ones and family, then this is your place.
Alaya Malai is a small property located in Pantai Merang. The location is amazing, the beach is on the doorstep, so beach is easily accessible.
The room was clean, new and spacious. The pool come with jacuzzi and the staff were friendly/ helpful.
Foods are soooo good, especially the nasi dagang, pizza and pasta!
I would strongly recommend this to everybody! Go and have a relaxing holiday!
Would definitely return again to this lovely and charming place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you Mei!

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends here. As a small establishment, we are happy to cater to a small group and make our guests feel like home here at Alaya Malai.

We look forward to your next visit and try our new menu :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing