We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first visit on fourth of july weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our first visit on fourth of july weekend”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

my husband and I by luck came up with some unexpected time off.Where to go that's away from the craziness but near some great places to visit? Airy view fit the bill perfectly! Mary and Fran were wonderful hosts and what a great breakfast was served both mornings! The location is quiet when you just want to chill,but is totally close to golfing,hiking,wineries,antiqueing and so much more that we definitely plan on returning. The area was new to us and Mary was so helpful in guiding our plans with the information we needed.At the end of our day when we came back to just sit and enjoy the sounds of the waterfall and watch "Joey" the swan swim carelessly around the pond,Fran and Mary always had the tiki lights and candles glowing-and it made us thankful that we found this gem. The garden room was beautiful as was the whole house.Mary has quite the gift for details and presentation.(love those little birdies in the window,Mary) Fran,looking forward to spending a fall evening next to the fire pit. Let us know when it might be completed! We don't get to have a lot of time off,but this last minute dash to put together a few nights of nirvana really came together at Airy View. Thank you so much.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We were equally delighted to meet you both and so glad that you found us for your July 4th weekend getaway! Thanks for your kind words and great review! We love it when our guests can feel at home, relaxed and enjoying the time spent with us. And, yes, there is a lot to do in the Columbia region. We would welcome your return visit in the fall for a fire side evening. It is in the planning stage still but we are hoping to complete a fire pit by then. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
73
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howard, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband did not want a big party for his 40th birthday. He had found Airy View when he was looking for a B&B for our 15th wedding anniversary, 3 months ago. We fell in love with it and returned there for his 40th birthday celebration. It was perfect, just as it was the first time. He was so relieved not to have to "entertain" but just relax for his birthday weekend. It was great to see Fran and Mary again, and enjoy the delicious food and wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: We really like the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We were delighted to see you again and glad you chose Airy View to celebrate your hubby's 40th birthday! Glad we could be a part of the celebration! Thanks for the awesome review. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in telephone contact as we set up reservation and arranged accommodations.

We ate a recommended restaurant that night and mentioned Airy which resulted in a small discount.

They accommodated our food requests and we had a very fine time.

They have three alpacas which add a nice touch

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhdrjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We were so glad to meet you and have you stay with us! THanks for the great review! We are always happy to accommodate our guests in whatever way we can to make your stay enjoyable! Also, glad you liked Freddie, Wilson and Bryce, our alpacas! They are fun and interesting animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We wanted to spend our anniversary in a quiet getaway to just sit and relax and we got just that at Airy View. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon sitting by the pond, listening to the waterfall and taking in the scenery. This B & B is beautiful inside and out and the owners, Fran and Mary, are certainly gifted in hospitality. Our room was romantic with all the little lights and rose theme and our breakfast was delicious. We are already thinking of when we can get away again and go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TimandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for your kind words!! We are so glad you chose Airy View B&B for your Anniversary getaway! It was great to meet you and get to know you. We are so thankful for warmer weather to actually be able to sit outside and enjoy the patio! Have been anticipating that for a while this spring. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyrood, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were on vacation to see a Steelers game last fall, we landed in Philadelphia and spent a day there then set off for Pittsburgh. We had two days to get there and just headed in that direction with no reservations made. When it became later in the day we looked up B & B's in the area we were. Found Airy View online, we were close by and decided to stop and see the place. We knocked on the door and were met by Mary. She was so sweet and said she did indeed have a room available. She ran up to check the room while we chatted with Fran. Our room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. They recommended a restaurant that evening that was wonderful. For breakfast the next morning I had a baked oatmeal that was delicious, Mary even gave me the recipe. If we are ever back in that area we will certainly look them up again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Signalhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for your kind words and great review! We were so glad that you found us and took a chance by stopping in to inquire about a room! Happy we had a room and had the opportunity to meet you both and get to visit with you! Baked Oatmeal is one of our favorite breakfast foods. Always willing to share a great recipie! If your travels bring you to our area again, please do come back to see us. Would love that! Maybe we will get to Holyrood to see you one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived in a downpour! Mary rushed out with a huge umbrella to keep our unpacking dry. Throughout our visit she and Fran were so helpful, providing dining suggestions, making the reservation and printing out a map. We enjoyed the charmingly appointed rooms, especially the common room where we chatted with our hosts and learned the fascinating history of their house. In the morning we ate a yummy breakfast there, watching the swan cruise in the pond and the three adorable alpacas come out for the day. We would certainly recommend the Airy View B and B to weary travellers like us and to anyone who wanted to enjoy a delightful stay in charming surroundings,

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you found us, and stopped for the night on your way home! It was such a rainy evening. We were happy to meet you and give you a comfy room for the night. The swan and alpacas do provide a bit of entertainment and enjoyment just watching them! If you ever are traveling through again, we would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I headed up to Lancaster county for the weekend and decided to stay at a B&B vs a hotel.
Upon entering the B&B property you see the house is fairly large, and the grounds are well kept. Entering the house itself it's clear the owners residence is in a completely separate part of the house. This is great because you end up feeling like you are in a home (which you are), but not necessarily someone elses home.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful making sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good: berries, yogurt and granola, as well as an egg type dish (almost like a fritata/keisch), and a sweet dish made out of pancake mix (I don't recall the name, but it tasted great). Coffee and orange juice was also served. There was a fridge with water bottles, soda, and some chocolates available to us.

The place is very clean, and the rooms are comfortable with a private bathroom. There is plenty of place to relax inside the house (for winter months) and then relax outside the house (as one of the other guests did).

If you do stay here, and I recommend it, check out the Irish restaurant/bar nearby. The food and drink are great.

Room Tip: There are currently two rooms (they are thinking of expanding to three). We stayed in the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Furby076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P, Owner at Airy View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! It was great to meet you and get to know you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accomodations to be warm and relaxing! The breakfast dish you referred to is a German Apple Pancake. It seems to be a favorite dish whenever I serve it! Hope to see you again. You are welcome anytime when you visit Lancaster County!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
11.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
10.5 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
11.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airy View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airy View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Airy View Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4596 Airy View Dr, Columbia, PA 17512-8446
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fully renovated 1870's farmhouse sits on a 4 1/2 acre haven. We are nestled close to corn fields, a rippling brook and pond, pines and leafy shade trees in the rolling hills of Lancaster County. We offer four bedrooms. Each room is uniquely decorated, and has a private bathroom with a shower, one with a whirlpool tub. Our love for antiques, "old stuff" and country living is evident throughout our home. A delicious breakfast is served each morning in our sun room, overlooking the pond.We are conveniently located to Lancaster, York, Hershey, and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Airy View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airy View Bed And Breakfast Columbia, Lancaster County, PA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing