We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and relaxing”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We had a relaxing stay at the beautiful Columbian. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a balcony overlooking a charming backyard koi pond and fountain. There were many thoughtful touches -- like complimentary water and soda -- and breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiastical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The best B & B I've stayed in. Beautiful old house and very nicely decorated. Quiet, comfortable rooms with lots of extras (wine, chocolates). Breakfast was EXCELLENT!
Owner is a sweetheart.

Room Tip: Discount to those attending horology class -NWACC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGreener2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

we decided to do an antiquing weekend in Columbia and stay at the Columbian Inn. the inn keeper was very nice and accomodating and showed us around the house while checking in. we had the Butcher Suite, which was gorgeous. there were several small details that made it a great place - a small bottle of wine and chocolates provided in the room. an area with complimentary soda/water/crackers for the late night munchies. the price is very reasonable considering how nice the rooms are. the house itself is gorgeous as well. only detraction cannot be helped - there is some noisy traffic from people at the gas station next door. there is a privacy fence up so they have done what they can. overall, a wonderful experience. i'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Beautiful accomodations. The Inn is a historic building with all the victorian charm, but all the modern amenities. The food was wonderful and the innkeeper lovely. This was our second stay and will definitely stay there again. The town of Columbia is beautiful - beautiful to walk around and the Inn is just a short walk to the Susquehanna River.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkhowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southeastern PA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We're B&B people, have been for years - the hospitality, food, and the incredible value have always been the draw for us. We're glad to say that the Columbian is no exception to this. We were in the area for the National Watch and Clock Museum's James Bond Enthusiast weekend, and this B&B embodied all of the elegance that one might see in a James Bond movie. The Victorian decor was perfect. The photos on the inn's website don't do the Yost Room justice. The innkeeper is a great cook, too, so you also start out your day with a hearty breakfast and a full tummy! If you need a place to stay near Columbia, this is it, don't hesitate, just reserve the room!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberhez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This 1898 home is charming and quiet. Decorated with a tasteful blend of antiques and some modern pieces. Food was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This was my first time at a B&B so I did not know exactly what to expect. The Coumbian Inn exceeded all of my expectations. The rooms were larger and nicer than the pictures made them out to be and the breakfast was out of this world! Our hostess was very friendly and ensured we were very happy and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
11.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#21 of 39 in Lancaster
249 reviews
4.2 mi away
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
10.2 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 360 Chestnut St, Columbia, PA 17512-1156
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Columbian, A Bed And Breakfast Inn Columbia, Lancaster County, PA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing