We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Beautifully decorated rooms that were spotless. We were able to view other rooms which were not occupied, all equally gorgeous. Plush robes were of spa quality, and a bottle of wine for 2 and Wilbur chocolates awaited us. Internet connection available and easily accessible. The innkeeper was unobtrusively attentive and we were afforded much privacy. If you "vant to be alone", and many of us do, you will be accommodated well here. Complimentary soft drinks and water, crackers, chocolates, were readily available. Breakfast was absolutely delicious...a yogurt and granola parfait with berries that tasted fresh-picked, beautifully presented with a slice of pumpkin bread tucked on the side, juice in flutes, followed by sausage and a nearly inch-thick wedge of apple pancake. Again, service was pleasant and attentive. Outside, construction is in process and surely will be lovely, with ponds around the completely enclosed hot tub (functioning and clean). Our only issue was the porch behind the home which was cluttered with belongings. This looked completely out of place with this beautiful home. I suspect and hope this is temporary while construction and moving within the house is ongoing. In sum, we will absolutely be back as that porch isn't nearly enough to overshadow the wonderful experiences otherwise. :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiiseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2007

We had been visiting the area in order to attend a wedding in York, PA. The B&B has a beautiful exterior and interior. The living room, dining room, and the Bucher Room were all magnificiently decorated. The innkeeper Karen was polite and courteous, but not overly personable. The inn itself is lovely, but the immediately surrounding neighborhood holds a little to be considered. Just seemed a bit dingy and congested. Amish country however was beautiful and there seems to be quite a bit of shopping in the surrounding cities.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjmus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
flemington, nj
1
Reviewed 9 April 2006

this is the first time we stayed ata bed and breakfast. i wasnt sure what to expect but i was very pleased when we arrived. the inn keepers are lovely warm people who make you feel at home the minute you step through the door. i felt like i was home . it was a great experiance, and i recamend it highly. also very close to all the main attractions in lancaster. madelyn t, flemington, nj

Stayed: March 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Columbian because we had received a gift certificate for the b&b as a wedding gift. My first thought was that the Inn was absolutely beautiful - huge front wrap-a-round porch, beautiful staircase, dining room, etc. But, we weren't even greeted by the Innkeeper and, I'm not really sure they ever came home that first night of our stay. The breakfast was fantastic both days we were there but, since I believe the Innkeeper must have a full time job besides running the inn, she was very rarely in evidence (neither was the staff to make up the room during our stay). As we came on a package deal which included theater tickets, spa treatments, etc., I feel there are some very good points to staying here but I don't feel comfortable staying in a b&b with the responsibility of looking after the place because no one is around.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sthomas0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mount Joy Pa
1
Reviewed 12 August 2005

Wonderfully restored Victorian in this quaint town. Breakfast in the garden was outstanding. Not my first visit to a B&B, but none better

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lorton, Virginia
1
Reviewed 5 June 2003

Our stay here was wonderful. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.
This has been our best B&B experience.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Doubleyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
4.2 mi away
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#21 of 40 in Lancaster
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hermansader's Victorian Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbian, A Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 360 Chestnut St, Columbia, PA 17512-1156
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Columbian, A Bed And Breakfast Inn Columbia, Lancaster County, PA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing