We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary find in the Jungle...Simply Amazing”
Review of Mombacho Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mombacho Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our stay at Mombacho Lodge was outstanding. We stayed 3 nights during the second week in February. We were in contact with Cynthia well before our arrival and she ensured that everything was perfect. She even arranged to have a driver named Felipe transport us from Managua to the lodge. There are four cabins to choose from and we stayed in Zoe. The Mombacho Lodge property is amazing and covered by triple canopy jungle which is home to a plethora of flora and fauna. We regularly saw troops of Howler Monkeys, tons of birds, and many other unique species endemic only to Volcan Mombacho Cloud Forest's 5 ecosystems. The meals at Mombacho Lodge were decadently delicious. During our stay, we enjoyed the likes of grilled chicken, filet mignon, pasta, civiche, various soups, eggs, bacon, and desserts. Mombacho Lodge also has a nice bar and a good selection of adult libations for those inclined to further unwind during their stay in this jungle paradise. The secluded lodge is only a short walk up to Los Flores Coffee Plantation or down to the Volcan Mombacho National Park Station. We enjoyed both the coffee tour and ziplining at Los Flores Coffee Plantation and highly recommend them. The hikes at the top of Volcan Mombacho are also highly recommended. You will enjoy panoramic views of Granada, the mountain, and Las Isletas. Lastly, ensure that you partake in the night hike at Mombacho Lodge. This activity gives you a true appreciation of the diverse ecosystem that is Mombacho. We saw so many nocturnal critters during the hike causing us to head back to our cabin smiling in wonderment.

We highly recommend Mombacho Lodge to anyone who wants an authentic jungle experience while minimizing environmental impact. Please, if you are thinking of doing this adventure, stop procrastinating and get booking...

Room Tip: All four of the cabins are excellent. They are just varying distances from the main lodge. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingduo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Tucked into beautiful dry forest on the lower slopes of volcan Mombocho (within park), this quiet site provides and excellent place to relax and serves as an ideal base camp for those interested in hiking, or taking the shuttle trucks up to Finca de Flor or the top of Mombocho and its cloud forest/trails. It is more expensive than doing a homestay lower down with UCA or getting a matrice is the park bunkhouse on the top but is wonderful site for those who want a comfortable and relaxed visit. Mombocho Lodge has a number of good quality short trails right on the property. As a nature lover I would love to see them maintain hummingbird feeders, bird baths and maybe banana feeders but they already do everything else so well, so I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My girlfriend and I spent two incredible nights at Mombacho Lodge. We spent the first day swimming in Apoyo Lagoon, an incredible lake set in the crater of an old volcano. The lagoon is a short drive up the road from Mombacho. Our second day, we went to the city of Masaya and climbed up the active volcano right outside of the city.

After traveling Nicaragua for 10 days, Mombacho Lodge was, by far, the best place we stayed. The food that was served was delicious, the jungle surrounding the lodge is majestic, the lodges themselves are private and very clean, and out of all the places we stayed while traveling, Mombacho Lodge felt the safest.

I would Highly recommend staying at Mombacho for a couple nights, at least. Spend the day touring Grenada, and the evenings sitting on your porch at Mombacho drinking a nice cold Tonya beer or some wine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a must do if you are travelling to Nicaragua! Such a peaceful place, with WONDERFUL food and conversation thanks to Cynthia. We highly recommend doing a zipline tour at Las Flores while you're there as well. An all around amazing experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I borrowed the title from Mombacho Lodge's creator, Cynthia. She likes to call her dog, Alli, "the pearl of Nicaragua"(because she's so beautiful), but I think the "diamond in the rough" she has built in the cloud forest, a few kilometres below Volcano Mombacho, also deserves to be described as such. My husband and I, along with two very dear friends, spent a night at Mombacho Lodge during our stay in Granada. After a quick check-in at the lodge, and settling into our very clean, comfortable cabins, it was time for a 40 minute hike up the mountain where we had a 1.5hr. guided tour of the very impressive Las Flores Coffee Plantation. We wouldn't have learned nearly as much without the english-speaking guide. Then, we were taken by truck up to the volcano, where our tour guide took us on a one hour hike. One could spend many more hours hiking that area if so inclined. On our return to the lodge, we enjoyed getting to know our hostess a little more as we sat around the well stocked bar in the open air restaurant. Both the dinner and full breakfast the following morning were delicious. The boys saw some amazing sights during the "flashlight tour" of the surrounding flora that night, led by one of Cynthia's workers. The howler monkeys really convinced us that we were, indeed, sleeping in the jungle that night. Cynthia generously took us on a great little hike the following day, where we saw amazing trees, birds, coffee plants, and a panoramic view of Granada. Hopefully, we'll be back this way some day for another visit.

Room Tip: All the cabins are the same, and just far enough from each other for individual privacy. They'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent three relaxing and peaceful nights at the Mombacho Lodge for a birthday getaway. Greeted by Cynthia the owner and her two lovable and beautiful dogs Fritz and Alli. Cozy and private cabins with comfortable beds. When dark falls, it is definitely dark (flashlights included), with such a peacefulness and calmness through the night, awakened by the Howler monkeys which were definitely entertaining. The food was excellent prepared by the owner Cynthia, and Alli and Fritz keep you entertained through your meals with hilarious doggie WWF wrestling. Nearby ziplining, Las Flores Coffee farm tour, bone- jarring descents and exhausting steep climbs up Mombacho Volcano. Cynthia is an amazing and admirable hostess, very accommodating. I recommend the lodge highly and look forward to my return. I will make it to the top of the volcano next time either on foot or ride. It was a first for me trying Cerviche and gazpacho prepared by Cynthia, and Nicarguan rum - smooth and Yum! Can't wait to return next birthday.

Room Tip: Every cabin has its own personality location...the fitness center is the entire jungle, all yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a night here while doing some basic exploring of Nicaragua and just enjoyed the solitude and beauty. Wonderful wildlife and cool breeze at 1600 ft. above sea level. Will return to spend more time there. Be sure to walk out to the open field near the lodge for sunset, special view of mountains, Granada to the northwest, quite something. The Lodge is brand new and very well put together and laid out. The food was superb, full bar, very civilzed tree house feel. Cynthia is a strong and remarkable person and I hope everyone who visits takes note of the beauty she has created on the mountainside.

Room Tip: The four cabins are all separated for privacy and really have the feel of tree top hideaways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mombacho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombacho Lodge

Address: | Mombacho Volcano Reserve, 000000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Mombacho Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mombacho Volcano
Price Range: £73 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mombacho Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four modern cabins with private baths and hot showers steps away from an open air restaurant all beneath huge topical forest trees on the Volcano Mombacho. There is good internet reception available with the use of a USB antenna. Airport or transportation to Mombacho Lodge from Managua, Granada or San Juan del Sur can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Mombacho Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing