We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill at Mombacho Lodge

The Grill at Mombacho Lodge
Cuisines: American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Just a 5 minute walk off the road that goes up the volcano, there is a cool oasis with tasty food and cold drinks. All in beautiful surroundings you will not find anyplace else around here. Cold beer, wine and rum and burgers, fries, hummus and more Wednesday to Sunday. 11-2 and the beer doesn't stop at 2.Ask the driver to let you off the van at the sign and walk in or have him bring the whole group. It's just a few minutes drive up from the park office. If you drive up yourself, you can come right up to the lodge
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at the Mombacho Lodge for three nights and ate 5 meals at the Grill at Mombacho Lodge. All 5 meals were amazing! It's hard to select a favorite meal because they were all very good, but I highly recommend the following:

-carrot soup
-ceviche
-steak
-french toast
-fish w/ linguine


Cynthia is a great cook and provides great service and ambience. Thanks, Cynthia!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic place way off the beaten path.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you want a place to escape for lunch, come here. If you want a place to eat after visiting the reserve, come here. The food is very nicely prepared and very fresh. The atmosphere does not get much more natural. Simply gorgeous.
Note that this is only open Thursday through Sunday for anyone not spending the night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katica500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Our group of seven happened upon this place on our way down the mountain. Very friendly staff, delicious homemade sangria, pretty good food. Great place for lunch and the rooms looked nice too.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and amazing landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The place is located in the mountains, it has an amazing climate and a very hospitable environment.
The owner treated us very nice and cooked an amazing meal.
We fell in love with her dog and ended up staying there for several hours!
The cabins look cozy, a perfect place to relax and escape from the hot weather!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esteban B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Grill at Mombacho Lodge is so much more than a restaurant. We were met by Cynthia and her two beautiful dogs on the trail leading to the restaurant. By the time we reached the restaurant we felt like family. I started with a glass of her sangria. I could have stayed the entire afternoon, just sipping glasses of sangria. Her signature dish of salmon hash was excellent. Cynthia took the beauty of the area and built a lodge with 4 cabins and an open air restaurant in the middle of this cool and breezy forest. She is very knowledgeable about the vegetation that makes up the forest and is only too happy to share her knowledge. My only regret was not having time to walk the trails around the lodge. Would I go back? In a heartbeat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chica5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Grill at Mombacho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing