We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Friendly Lodging”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Confluence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC
Ranked #4 of 10 Confluence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Bike facilities were excellent with bike storage in a closed garage. Common areas are very generous and inviting with very comfortable sofas and chairs. The living room(s) are ideal for sharing a bottle of wine among friends or for conversation with other guests. The dining room is also beautifully decorated and fosters a warm social setting for conversation with other guests. The multi-course breakfast was well prepared, beautifully presented and filling, so we were well fuelled for the next leg of our bicycle trip from Pittsburgh to Washington. Lemonade on arrival was welcome.
The space in the guest room upstairs were not as generous as in the common areas, although clean and adequate. Our en-suite bathroom was serviceable and I have no specific complaint apart that the space and design of the upstairs rooms are in contrast to the spaciousness and warmth of the common areas. It would be been more in keeping with the style of the downstairs to have fewer guest rooms so that the area of each room could be larger, and more attention provided to stylish and evocative decoration. Of course, this would have required a modified business plan and may have never been a feasible option for this B and B.
The owner kindly arranged dinner reservations for us at the local restaurant. I would recommend greater attention be paid to sending confirmation e-mails, which we requested on several occasions. Although we had verbal confirmation of our reservation which was made by phone, it is reassuring to have written confirmations in hand as well. The wifi only functions in the back room of the house. Cellphone reception is poor in this area so having reliable wifi available throughout the house would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RickyRickardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Sandy is terrific...she doesn't live in the house, so you can get some time alone. Bed is very comfortable. No central a/c but the window a/c works very well. Great location for bikers, no hills to climb from the trail to get to this house...it's all flat (yeah!). Owner provides a secure, clean garage to store our bikes. Beds and house are very comfortable. Claw-foot tub-shower in the shared bath is o.k. if you like that sort of thing. Breakfast was served on-time and very elegant with great china and delicious local, seasonal food catered to our tastes and diet.

Room Tip: we travelled with another couple and had the two rooms with a shared bath which was quite adequate.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were very pleased with our three night stay. The House was beautiful. We loved all the old wood work. The location was very convenient to the trail, we used the two bike/ped bridges, so we didnt have to ride in much of any traffic. It was close to eateries, also, all of which were in walking distance. Sandy is a lovely host and a wonderful cook. Our breakfasts were awesome each morning. The secured outside storage of our bikes was a plus. Sandy was so gracious as to allow us to use the outside hose to wash away the mud and grime we accumulated on the trail from the rain! We would definitely recommend Confluence House B&B to anyone staying along the GAP!

Room Tip: There are two room with en suite bathrooms, if you so desire!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I came from Maryland and met some friends from Michigan here. The 3rd floor suite was exactly what we needed for our getting together. Sandy, innkeeper, was very accommodating since one of us needed gluten free. She exchanged information about various food products and recipes. The room met our needs and it had a private bath - no shower but I made do. It did not have all the special touches but the price was right. I would recommend it to others. We all very much enjoy the Confluence area and love to stay in B&B.s You can't go wrong staying here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a great stop when bicycling the GAP trail. Our bikes were locked in the garage, access from the trail was easy. Unlike many of the other reviews, we didn't see our host until breakfast, and probably didn't experience any of those special touches mentioned in some reviews, but no complaints so I'll still give it a 5.
We really liked the spacious 3rd floor suite. Some people mentioned traffic noise, but unless you are used to total quiet where you live, I don't think it was significant. We slept well. Breakfast was eggs scrambled with cherry tomatoes, fruit salad, muffins, sausage, and juice- all very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Confluence House B&B the 2nd night of our GAP trail ride. The owner is very accommodating to bikers (including those covered in mud from riding in the rain for 2 days). She offered outdoor hose to clean off our bikes, also had a garage available for their storage. We had a lovely room with private bath. Breakfast was delicious - perfect start for another day of biking. Owner shared lots of interesting information on the local history and history of the trail. We will definitely recommend this B&B! Lori D.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were two couples traveling on the GAP trail from Pittsburgh to Shepherdstown. Confluence was the second night of the trip. We booked too late to get a room with a private bath, but our two rooms were the only ones using the shared bath. We were in the Monogahela Room, which was a good size and very comfortable. Our friends were in the Casselman room, which they found too small for themselves and their stuff. The rooms and bathroom were clean, beds were comfortable. We really appreciated having a locked garage for our bikes, tables and chairs outside where we could sit and relax, and the ability to make coffee or tea when we wanted it. The highlight of the stay was Sandy's excellent and plentiful breakfast. She kept cooking as long as we kept eating, a great way to start the longest ride of our trip. It was easy to get from the GAP to the B&B and back again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bath if you can. The house is on a main road, so there is some traffic no...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Confluence
19.2 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
566 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
270 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Paddler's Lane Retreat
#3 of 10 in Confluence
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confluence House Bed & Breakfast and Catering Services, LLC

Address: 522 Oden Street, Confluence, PA 15424
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range: £63 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Confluence, once block from the town square. We are a Victorian era three story home offering four guest rooms and a third floor suite, private baths, ceiling fans, air conditioning. Guests have access to the first floor common areas, screened porch and picnic area. We provide locked garage storage for bicycles and gear. Wine and gift shop on premises featuring local wine, maple syrup, honey, jams and gift items. Just a few blocks off the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail. Hiking, biking, rafting, fishing, golfing and other seasonal activities. Centrally located to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, Ohiopyle, Hidden Valley Resort, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, Seven Spring Resort, the Youghegheny lake and more. Open year round to accommodate seasonal activities. Guests are served breakfast as part of their stay, may order packed lunches to go or add our dinner package. We can host and cater your special event at the B&B or off-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing