We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Ranked #3 of 10 Confluence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is a bit out of the way for GAP trail cyclists, but it was worth it. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. We enjoyed strolling the lovely grounds. The co-owner was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meemo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hosts give you fair warning that the house is near the tracks (very near). But, it can be a whole new experience, something to talk about, and I find it kinda fun. So, yes, expect to hear a freight train rumble through and test how sound a sleeper you can be ( I won over my wife).

The location is remote and you must follow (and savor) the directions on how to get there from Confluence and/or Ohiopyle.

The house is spacious, charming and fully updated. The food delicious and very well prepared. Your host elfin and fun.

Whether you want the house, a room, the cabin or camping, try to stay a few nights, not just one. FLW's houses, Ft. Necessity and Ohiopyle State Park, etc. will give you plenty to do.
(Your hosts can provide lots of information).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent two nights at the house, and felt right away very comfortable. The house is wonderful, from an artistic and architectural point of view (although it wasn't designed by F.L. Wright :-) The setting, with the river and a lot of greenery, is so relaxing.
In a B&B we like the human contact with our host and other visitors. We really enjoyed our talks with Dan, who's a very helpful, interesting, and friendly, in a sincere, genuine way. We also shared some time at night by the fire with another couple, and with other guests during breakfast (very good and nicely presented).
Mid-April is still low season, but luckily Sweetie, in Confluence, was open, and we enjoyed their soups and other goodies. At this time of the year, we took a walking trail, took many photos, and visited Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. All kinds of tips and directions were provided, so we really felt so well taken care of. Our room was artistically decorated, clean and cozy. I'm so glad we found Paddler's Lane B&B! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The house is at the rive rbank completely isolated and yet 5 min away from the main street of a neat village at the crossing of hiking fishing hunting kayaking white water rafting. The rooms are clean spacious with tv. Can use kitchen and living room. Renting kayaks is 50 yards away. Well to beat the noise from the nearby train the earplug are provided. A number of places to it. The house is very warm clean and comfortable. The hosts let use their pottery made by them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were graciously welcomed by Dan after a long day of travel and directed to a great meal at the "Lucky Dog" in town. Our stay was brief but the host's hospitality and the beauty of the place were timeless and left us feeling we had visited a special place as we pulled out of the driveway the next morning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Paddlers Lane Campground is very nice. While on the GAP trail, I advised another trail rider about the paddlers lane campgrounds, and when I checked in, there the guy was, set up for the night. Dan, one of the hosts come in to the only gas station in Confluence and picked me up, as it was dark by the time I arrived. The trains were constant all day and night, but I slept like a baby and wasn't the least bothered. There are no hookups, but there is electric on the porch of the bath house and inside. The only issue I had was the water in the showers, it felt like you still had soap on you, no matter how much you rinsed, but that was it. If I were to open a B&B or Campgrounds, I would follow Dan & Robin as the example. In fact, I think they should start classes for how to be a host. They could make it hands on learning type of class where the clients come there for two weeks and stay, and charge a fee for the class. I was there in October of 2013 and plan to go back this year, and bring my 10 year old son this time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

very nice place. clean, nicely decorated. right beside the river. Dan couldnt have been more helpful. dog friendly a big plus. not too close to the bed and breakfast so there is some privacy. Wanted to get away from everything and everyone so dan did leave us be yet made sure we knew where to get him if we needed anything.
trains do run a lot beside the house, but i didnt mind that at all. better than listening to highway traffice!
only thing i had a problem with was the firewood. not sure if it was too fresh or not, but the fire had a hard time staying lit. i am use to wood stove however. dont know if that makes a difference or not once the fire gets going.
loved the walking trail that goes thru town.
they do need more restaurants to open in the winter however, but i dont mind driving to ohio pyle or somerset.
thanks for a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karyn2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Confluence
19 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
593 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
14.8 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
459 reviews
17.4 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddler's Lane Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddler's Lane Retreat

Address: 255 Paddlers Ln, Confluence, PA 15424-2637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Confluence
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Confluence
Price Range: £94 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddler's Lane Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddler's Lane has House Rentals, B&B stays, and secluded camping available on a half mile stretch of the wild and scenic Youghiogheny River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Paddler's Lane Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing