We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place Is A Dump”
Review of Melody Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melody Motor Lodge
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Place Is A Dump”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Wireless internet only works in lobby. It does not work in the rooms. This motel is very, very old. Place has central air conditioning but it does not get very cool in the rooms. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsbutgh PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the Melody Motor Lodge for a wedding in Mt. Pleasant. It was an extremely hot day and the room was very warm. The Air is controlled by the office and is not adjustable in the rooms. The woman in the office stated it was on full blast but we had difficulty sleeping in the heat. The blankets on the bed are in need of replacement. They have cigarette holes in them and are very dirty looking. The bathroom was very clean but the towels were stained. The water pressure was a little light but was enough to shower with. As for Ed's dinner.... 3 of us had breakfast for $13.00. I could not have been happier with the service. There was a cute girl who waited on us that said Welcome to Ed's and gave us all high fives!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TippyPghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Connellsville hotels

Brooklyn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

maybe even old school motels need some upgrading every decade or so? there is an undeniable charm to the large plain sign beckoning tired truck drivers; the room's wood paneling and metal conical lights; the bathroom's bright yellow toilet and sink. the tv had no remote, but some ancient apparatus fixed to the counter i've never seen before (i'm hardly a kid too). the office lobby is pretty amazing too. the nice couple who runs it (ukrainian possibly? they had a number of pysanky on display) pretty much take care of everything. when they were out weeding, they immediately came over when they saw us enter the office lobby to use their free wifi. as for the wifi, we couldn't get a signal in our room, which was about 4 doors down. but they had a couch to hang out on and check email. for $50 a night, the free wifi was a nice extra.

these are the cons; not unbearable at all, more like a word of warning to anyone who is more uptight about this kind of stuff :p

the room was really cold at night, overactive central air going on. we closed the room's vent, but closing the bathroom vent as well triggered a weird noise, so we had to keep that one open. by day, when it was warmer, it was not as bad. the historic channel changer only went to 37, so you couldn't even get all the channels that were actually available; i had to watch awful cnn instead of msnbc. the towels are really thin. it's country out there, so bugs will slip in if they can when you go in and out at night - i have the mozzie bites to show for that. there really is nothing around (which was nice too) except for ed's diner behind the motel and a megasupermonster walmart, so for dinner go to uniontown (40 e or w), which is about 15 minutes away.

so a basic, cheap, clean place to stay en route to kentuck knob and fallingwater.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

best value imaginable if you just want a clean, quiet, comfortable and roomy place to sleep. None of the amenities of larger chains (no pool or internet, no in-house restaurant; but there's a great cheap little diner right next door for a good breakfast).

Very pleasant family-owned place to spend a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickSpringfieldVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We stayed at the melody motor lodge in connellsville, pa. We arrived after biking from Pittsburgh and the lodge is a long way uphill from the trail. It is far from town and the only places nearby for dinner were takeout. (We ordered chinese which had above average hunan beef, but below average everything else.) However, the saving grace of the lodge is the diner next door. Excellent breakfast and then a long downhill back to the trail.

The rooms are small, but clean.

Helpful?
3 Thank pghprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connellsville
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
1.7 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
11.6 mi away
Days Inn Donegal
Days Inn Donegal
#2 of 2 in Donegal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.6 mi away
Super 8 Uniontown PA
Super 8 Uniontown PA
#7 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Motor Lodge

Property: Melody Motor Lodge
Address: 1607 Memorial Avenue, Connellsville, PA 15425
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Connellsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Connellsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melody Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing