We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European Classic in Western PA”
Review of Melody Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melody Motor Lodge
Reviewed 31 August 2010

There are no motels in Connellsville except this one, but this is one of the cleanest motels
I've stayed in. It's run by a little Polish lady and her husband who do their best to provide a
decent place for the traveler. Those wanting (demanding) a "big name" experience should
drive on to Uniontown, but my wife and I have stayed here twice and we'll be back. There is something to be said about supporting a business that is unaffected, basic to one's needs and
at a very reasonable price. I'm very happy to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rococo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

Wireless internet only works in lobby. It does not work in the rooms. This motel is very, very old. Place has central air conditioning but it does not get very cool in the rooms. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the Melody Motor Lodge for a wedding in Mt. Pleasant. It was an extremely hot day and the room was very warm. The Air is controlled by the office and is not adjustable in the rooms. The woman in the office stated it was on full blast but we had difficulty sleeping in the heat. The blankets on the bed are in need of replacement. They have cigarette holes in them and are very dirty looking. The bathroom was very clean but the towels were stained. The water pressure was a little light but was enough to shower with. As for Ed's dinner.... 3 of us had breakfast for $13.00. I could not have been happier with the service. There was a cute girl who waited on us that said Welcome to Ed's and gave us all high fives!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TippyPghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

maybe even old school motels need some upgrading every decade or so? there is an undeniable charm to the large plain sign beckoning tired truck drivers; the room's wood paneling and metal conical lights; the bathroom's bright yellow toilet and sink. the tv had no remote, but some ancient apparatus fixed to the counter i've never seen before (i'm hardly a kid too). the office lobby is pretty amazing too. the nice couple who runs it (ukrainian possibly? they had a number of pysanky on display) pretty much take care of everything. when they were out weeding, they immediately came over when they saw us enter the office lobby to use their free wifi. as for the wifi, we couldn't get a signal in our room, which was about 4 doors down. but they had a couch to hang out on and check email. for $50 a night, the free wifi was a nice extra.

these are the cons; not unbearable at all, more like a word of warning to anyone who is more uptight about this kind of stuff :p

the room was really cold at night, overactive central air going on. we closed the room's vent, but closing the bathroom vent as well triggered a weird noise, so we had to keep that one open. by day, when it was warmer, it was not as bad. the historic channel changer only went to 37, so you couldn't even get all the channels that were actually available; i had to watch awful cnn instead of msnbc. the towels are really thin. it's country out there, so bugs will slip in if they can when you go in and out at night - i have the mozzie bites to show for that. there really is nothing around (which was nice too) except for ed's diner behind the motel and a megasupermonster walmart, so for dinner go to uniontown (40 e or w), which is about 15 minutes away.

so a basic, cheap, clean place to stay en route to kentuck knob and fallingwater.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miffyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

best value imaginable if you just want a clean, quiet, comfortable and roomy place to sleep. None of the amenities of larger chains (no pool or internet, no in-house restaurant; but there's a great cheap little diner right next door for a good breakfast).

Very pleasant family-owned place to spend a night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickSpringfieldVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We stayed at the melody motor lodge in connellsville, pa. We arrived after biking from Pittsburgh and the lodge is a long way uphill from the trail. It is far from town and the only places nearby for dinner were takeout. (We ordered chinese which had above average hunan beef, but below average everything else.) However, the saving grace of the lodge is the diner next door. Excellent breakfast and then a long downhill back to the trail.

The rooms are small, but clean.

3  Thank pghprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connellsville
1.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
14.9 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fox Castle Bed and Breakfast
Fox Castle Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Connellsville
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Melody Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Motor Lodge

Address: 1607 Memorial Avenue, Connellsville, PA 15425
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Connellsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Connellsville
Price Range: £40 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melody Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melody Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing